We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location and some cautionary notes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scarborough Beach Motel

Scarborough Beach Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Scarborough Beach Motel to your Saves list
Scarborough Beach Motel
901 Ocean Road, Narragansett, RI 02882   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Narragansett B&B and Inns
Sammamish, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Location, location and some cautionary notes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Location: Fantastic, literally cross the street from Scarborough Beach, nice running & biking routes all around, and the Narragansett town beach (a favorite with surfers) is less than 10 minutes' scenic drive north. This whole area is a zoo in the summer but go just after Labor Day and you'll practically have the mile-long Scarborough beach to yourself with fine weather, free parking and the warmest ocean temps of the year. The beach facilities are closed and there are no lifeguards on duty. Waves can be too large for small children. Often strong undertow and rip tides, so all should be aware. There are several good seafood restaurants, nightclubs, shopping areas, etc. are within a few minutes' drive. Try Iggy's (3 mins. south on Ocean Ave.) for excellent clam cakes and full bellies. The Coast Guard House next to the Towers / town beach is a fixture for the younger crowd after the sun goes down.

Motel: The bed was very comfortable. The fan unit/AC works very well and is quiet. Perfect anti-noise machine. When I arrived there was a terrible musty/moldy smell in the room, but by the second day it had mostly dissipated. They may have just shampooed the rug or something. The room was very clean except for some dead bugs in the window well in front of the screen. Every room has a microwave and small fridge (no ice trays). There is no coffee maker in the room and no mugs either, just small plastic cups. If you bring a French press the tap water is hot enough to make a good pot, though, and you can get coffee/tea in the motel office. BYO coffee mugs or thermos. There is no closet or clothes rack, so bring your own hangers too if you need them. There are two hooks in the bathroom. The bedroom curtain is lined and there are no sheers, so if your curtains are open and you want a natural breeze in the room, others can see inside. There is no hair dryer so bring your own, and very little space around the sink, so bring a bag or shower caddy or something for your toiletries, hair dryer and curling iron, etc. One solution is to get an cheap shoe tree at a dollar store – the kind you can hang over a door. You can use this to stash all kinds of items in different compartments. It costs just a couple of dollars and weighs nothing. The motel also has chairs outside every room and some picnic tables with a small BBQ area. Parking is limited to one space per room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    12
    6
    13
See reviews for
25
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

we come down once a year and always stay here. the rooms are functional and clean. the shower is a small stall, but this is a low cost beach motel. the owners ared very nice and accomidating. with the location directly across the street from a very nice beach we don't spend much time in the room. this year we did notice that the rooms had been spruced up but the outside could use some attention. we will return next year

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Due to unforseen circumstances we had to cancel our two week trip to the coast of Maine and we were feeling disappointed. At the last minute we decided to treat ourselves to a short trip to Rhode Island, but rentals are not easy to come by during the height of the season. We were able to get a room at the Scarborough Beach Motel for four nights, for $114 a night. The room itself was small and hadn't been updated in awhile. The bathroom was tiny and it had only a shower. I have definitely stayed in cleaner places; the woodwork needed wiping down and there was hair in the bathroom (a real turn off for me). However, the staff was friendly and the location was ideal. The beach is right across the street and by walking in there is no fee to pay. Chairs are provided outside of each room so one can sit and enjoy a lovely ocean view. If fancy is what you are looking for, than this is not the place for you. Our room did have a good-sized small refrigerator and microwave. Some of the other units are small efficiencies and the upper rooms have sliding doors opening onto a deck. We would definitely try to get one of those if we return.

Room Tip: Upstairs room have a better view and part of the motel looks newer. Ask for those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here as a last minute find with our three kids. The owner was extremely nice and the room was clean and functional for the one night stay. The shower was a bit small and the shower head could use replacing, however, it worked for what we needed it for. The location was great.

We would stay here again for another night or two.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We are 2 senior couples touring New England and we booked the three bedded suite in order to hopefully have some extra space. Our stay was a disaster and this was the worst accommodation we encountered throughout our trip.
There is just one single positive for the SB Motel and that is it's location which is perfect accross the road from the lovely beach.
The Motel is tired and in need of serious investment to bring it anywhere near to the standard expected by the 2012 traveller. When we checked in we found the top drawer of the main dresser in which we would put clothing was dirty containing a used plastic knife, hair and liquid stain. Your heart sinks!
The miniscule bathroom is no more than a large wardrobe. There is no bath just a shower in a cubicle so small that even the smallest adult will stick to the shower curtain if attempting to turn round.
No tea or coffee making facility in the suite just a microwave. Coffee is available from reception between 8am and 11am only.
There is NO HAIRDRYER.
The toilet ceased flushing at 10pm and was still out of action when we cancelled our 2nd night stay and checked out at 9.30am the next day. No working toilet between 4 adults for almost 12 hours is not acceptable.
The sad part is that the owner and management think they are doing a good job and do not realise that this extremely poor standard is not what is expected in 2012. They also charge Top Dollar for the suite.
We had arrived at the Scarborough Beach Motel from the previous night's accommodation at the Best Western at Plymouth Mass and the comparison for similar cost is like comparing a Rolls Royce to a Ford.
I would go as far as to suggest that owner & management from Scarborough Beach Motel treat themselves to a night stay at the Best Western Plymouth and observe the standard expected.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We've been coming to the area from upstate NY for 30 years and stayed at this hotel many times. On a recent stay we were very impressed by the new look of the hotel. This is a great place to stay. Very friendly, accommodating staff, spotless rooms, nice tv, good A/C, Wi-fi with no problems and of course... It's a 2 minute walk to the beach. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed here for Easter weekend. The weather was nice, the beach was beautiful as always (Scarborough Beach a walkway along most of the beach so great walking!). Our room was spotless, our hosts were very accommodating and I wish I could come here every weekend. A new addition is wi-fi which makes me very happy. This is a great place! If you want some good beach food go to Iggys. Yum!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scarborough Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Beach Motel

Address: 901 Ocean Road, Narragansett, RI 02882
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Scarborough Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Beach Ri
Scarborough Beach Hotel Ri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scarborough Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.