We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away from Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Richards

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Richards
Save
You added The Richards to your Saves list
144 Gibson Ave, Narragansett, RI 02882   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Narragansett B&B and Inns
HongKong
1 review
“A Home Away from Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Our family of four stayed at the Richards B&B for the whole week located near the Narragansett Beach. We were there attending our son's high school graduation. Nancy and Steven made us felt right at home the first night we were there since we had just came from Hong Kong after travelling more than 20 hours on flights. Our 11 years old daughter couldn't be happier with the large rooms we stayed and the nice view of the garden. Her grandmother walked the garden each morning before Nancy served the delicous breakfast she prepared personally for the guests. The hospitality was friendly and helpful with local areas of interest and the attention/privacy Nancy and Steven provided for our week's stay. A must repeat for our family! Thanks Nancy and Steven for the "home touch!"

The Chen's

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

The Richards is a perfect New England b&b gem. So very convenient to Newport and great drive from NYC. The owners are so gracious and accommodating, the rooms are charming and tidy, and we absolutely loved breakfast! We had the most relaxing and romantic weekend, and recommended The Richards to all of our friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

This place was extremely clean and comfortable. We stayed here on our wedding night and the night after and were very impressed. The hostess was very friendly and accommodating, and her breakfasts were delicious!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

I first stayed at the Richards on a solo trip to New England; then I
brought my husband back for another trip later on. The first time I checked in, I had expected,of course, the beautiful exterior as
presented in the photos. But in the rooms, however, I had thought to see all the signs that indicated it is, after all, a commercial inn. Instead I was pleased that all the little personal touches were first class and non-commercial. No television; no phone, internet, etc; and books could be had in the suite and in the library downstairs The different rooms we stayed in at
different times were absolutely gorgeous. The huge, stone house is well maintained; Nancy's breakfasts are well-presented, delicious and abundant.
Steve is a cheery, congenial host and always makes us feel very
comfortable. The grounds and English gardens, Nancy's passion, are feast for the senses ; and the koi pond, situated a bit into the woods behind the house, is a tranquilizing place to sit and talk.
Other guests I'd talked during our stay also had the same approving opinions We felt like guests in someone's private home
.The Richards go to great lengths to be friendly, accommodating and respectful of their guests' desire for serenity and privacy.The Richards is a great place to get away from it all!"

  • Liked — Beautiful premises; congenial innkeepers; fairly priced for the quality of the accomodations
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

We have stayed here several times, and each time found it delightful! A huge spacious castle with plenty of privacy and a lovely breakfast. We often opted out of breakfast--no offense taken by the owners, as we have relatives in the area. Lovely walk to the pier and beach also.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2005

Really relaxing place to stay. Charming and interesting. Not your usual b&b - much better. No TV, radio, internet. No AC. But - Clean, Comfy bed. No kids. No noise. Gracious hosts that really made us feel at home. AC was not needed. House is made of solid granite and stays cool inside. Rooms are large. Windows large. Fan was available. Beautiful grounds and an enchanting walk to the beach down a long path. Beach is all rocks - no sand, no swiming. Awesome breeze and view. Secluded.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Richards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richards

Address: 144 Gibson Ave, Narragansett, RI 02882
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English country house furnished with a collection of antiques. The property is on a quiet road with beautiful gardens including a shade garden, a white garden and a koi pond. Quiet and relaxing setting. Full breakfast is served. We now have airconditioning and Wi-Fi! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Richards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.