We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy first timers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Richards

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Richards
Save
You added The Richards to your Saves list
144 Gibson Ave, Narragansett, RI 02882   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Narragansett B&B and Inns
Waterbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Happy first timers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

First time stay at a B&B-very pleased. Beautiful grounds and rooms. Very comfortable bed, breakfast was amazing. A/C only in bedroom which was ok for us but could be hot in dining area with the recent hot weather. Extremely quiet area. A brief 5-10 minute walk to water-not a beach area- but large flat rocks to enjoy sunrise and sunset. Nancy and Steve very helpful, fun and personable. Nice extra is the service elevator for heavy luggage so you don't have to carry it up the stairs!

Room Tip: We had the yellow room- the smallest- but still quite large. This room did have a private bath but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Charming old stone house. Very quiet environment. Spacious room, comfortable bed. Very clean. Tasty, plentiful breakfast. Hosts are very welcoming and happy to share recommendations for places to visit, restaurants etc.

Room Tip: This is a B & B with only a few rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

As a native Rhode Islander, I was surprised to find this jewel hidden in the southern coast. Thanks for having us, and the breakfasts served were beyond expectations. It was enjoyable meeting you both.
Tony & Vicky Cusati

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I travelled to Narragansett for our 25th Anniversary. We stayed for two nights in the Blue Room. Nancy and Steve were wonderful hosts. Breakfast was magnificent, and we enjoyed the interaction with our hosts and with the other visitors at the house. Nancy gave us great advice about local restaurants. We were pleased with each place that we ate at. The gardens around the home are wonderful and worth strolling through. The home is in a great location for travelling to Point Judith, Narragansett, and even to Newport. I would definitely return to The Richards again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I reserved the yellow room for the weekend to celebrate my fiancée's birthday. The room was beautiful. Nancy and Steve are friendly and helpful. Nancy baked muffins with breakfast each morning and every day they were more amazing than the day before. Best breakfast we have had in a bed and breakfast and we travel often.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My parents, sister and I went to Narranansett for a family wedding. We booked the Lavendar Suite and the Blue Room. Both were beautiful, clean, spacious, and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. The grounds were gorgeous. This area of Narragansett was very nice and very quiet. I slept like a log. Our hosts went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I loved the Blue Room but the Lavendar Suite had a seperate sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Kudos to Nancy and Steve for ensuring that our stay at The Richards was so thoroughly enjoyable. Nancy went out of her way to see that we were able to get a room in spite of our crazy schedule. We stayed in the Blue Room, which was beautifully appointed. Huge bathroom. Very comfortable bed. Beautifully quiet at night. Breakfast was terrific: strawberries and watermelon, a melt in your mouth peach cobbler coffee cake and delicious blueberry pancakes with crispy bacon served on the side. Nancy and Steve are wonderful company, and we met an interesting couple from England, so conversation was lively. The location is ideal, the rooms are impeccably clean, the grounds/gardens are lovely. We HIGHLY recommend The Richards and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Both the Blue Room and Lavender Room are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Richards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richards

Address: 144 Gibson Ave, Narragansett, RI 02882
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English country house furnished with a collection of antiques. The property is on a quiet road with beautiful gardens including a shade garden, a white garden and a koi pond. Quiet and relaxing setting. Full breakfast is served. We now have airconditioning and Wi-Fi! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Richards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.