We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Narragansett Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Richards

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Richards
144 Gibson Ave, Narragansett, RI 02882   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Narragansett B&B and Inns
Meriden, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Narragansett Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Kudos to Nancy and Steve for ensuring that our stay at The Richards was so thoroughly enjoyable. Nancy went out of her way to see that we were able to get a room in spite of our crazy schedule. We stayed in the Blue Room, which was beautifully appointed. Huge bathroom. Very comfortable bed. Beautifully quiet at night. Breakfast was terrific: strawberries and watermelon, a melt in your mouth peach cobbler coffee cake and delicious blueberry pancakes with crispy bacon served on the side. Nancy and Steve are wonderful company, and we met an interesting couple from England, so conversation was lively. The location is ideal, the rooms are impeccably clean, the grounds/gardens are lovely. We HIGHLY recommend The Richards and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Both the Blue Room and Lavender Room are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Thank you Nancy and Steve for being wonderful hosts. My husband and I were impressed by your lovely home and furnishings, as well as the beautiful grounds. The inn was on a beautiful street, reminded me a bit of Newport. It was close to the beaches and many nice restaurants.The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. We were thankful there was AC since it was a warm night. The breakfast was delicious and homemade, with pumpkin pancakes and blueberry muffins. I only wish we could stay longer! We needed to catch a ferry to Block Island in the a.m. The ferry is conveniently 10 minutes away. We would highly recommend The Richards

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house were all beautiful, especially the "blue" room. We had the ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

A special thank you to Steve and Nancy for being such gracious hosts as we enjoyed our two night stay. Nancy's homemade breakfast was fantastic. You can tell they truly enjoy opening their home for others pleasure. The beautiful grounds added to our delightful stay as we took advantage of the scenic walk from the house to the beach that they shared with us. Thank you again for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed our stay. The hosts are friendly and the breakfast is quite nice. Nancy puts a lot of effort into feeding her guests. I would recommend this B & B for a relaxing stay. A bonus is their lovely wooded garden path to the ocean. I just loved getting up each morning and following the path to the rocky coast. Thanks Nancy and Steven.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

The house was beautiful. The room was very clean and spacious. The breakfast each morning was amazing including the coffee! It was in a great location with direct access to the each and less than two miles from Narragansett beach. It was great meeting the gracious hosts and I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nancy and Steve always go out of their way to guarantee we have a wonderful visit. The historic house is grand and all the guest rooms are beautifully furnished with luxurious antiques, but there is nothing stuffy about the Richards. It's the perfect balance between Victorian elegance and a relaxed beach vacation. Nancy's scrumptious breakfast is always homemade and Steve's stories at the breakfast table are both fascinating and entertaining. The gardens and pond are a magical relief from the all the activity and heat of the beach, even on the hottest of summer days. The location is perfectly centrally located. Just a few minutes walk to the beach and lots of great cycling routes directly from the driveway. The ferry to Block Island is so convenient, it's just a few minutes drive for a spectacular day trip. We always remember Steve and Nancy as our primary destination whenever we visit the Narragansett area.

Room Tip: All rooms have private baths.The Yellow Room is the only rooon that has the bathroom located across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We arrived at the Richards for a 4 day weekend. We stayed in the Lavender Room which actually turned out to be a wonderful 2 bedroom suite (one larger room with queen canopied bed, nice bathroom with claw tub and separate bedroom with twin bed). It was very spacious, clean and quiet. The house is loaded with history and our hosts, Nancy and Steve, were very happy to share the history and folklore surrounding their home. Breakfasts were delicious, something very different and delicious every morning. The home is very unusual and elegant; lots of stonework and beautiful grounds. There is even an arbor path where you can walk through a trail and wind up on the ocean. Nancy and Steve are so much fun to speak with and love to tell/share stories about the house, their past, etc. They are very down to earth and it feels as if you are staying with dear friends. As I've gone away with my daughter to B&Bs for over 20 years, I know what I like and what really falls short. This B&B is up there with the best of them.

Room Tip: If you like additional space, request the Lavender Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Richards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richards

Address: 144 Gibson Ave, Narragansett, RI 02882
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English country house furnished with a collection of antiques. The property is on a quiet road with beautiful gardens including a shade garden, a white garden and a koi pond. Quiet and relaxing setting. Full breakfast is served. We now have airconditioning and Wi-Fi! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Richards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Richards to your Saves list