We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but a little noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shell Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Misquamicut
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shell Motel
Save
You added Sea Shell Motel to your Saves list
19 Winnapaug Road, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Misquamicut
CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place but a little noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I love staying here...the rooms are simple and clean, you can bring your pets, and there is a really nice backyard with a grill, hot tub and boats you can use...The only negative thing is that you can hear EVERYTHING your next door and upstairs neighbors are doing.....very little insulation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    17
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is a 10-room, family-run, well maintained motel with a nice view of the water. Our room was scrupulously clean, there was an extra blanket and plenty of towels, and despite some road construction nearby, the place was quiet during the night. It was just perfect for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were here for 2 nights with our dog. I picked this hotel because I could bring my pet. I've been to Misquamicut many many times ( I only live 1.5 hrs away) but never have stayed overnight.

The motel is small (10 rooms). It is very close to the beach, within walking distance. No need to drive. It is also walking distance to restaurants and a general store. The motel provides a mini fridge in the room, but ours kept leaking. Still, we managed to keep our drinks cold. The room is basic, just what you need. The bathroom is very small, but clean, it looks like it was redone recently. The grounds in back are very pretty, they overlook a salt water pond., there is a canoe and paddleboats as well as a hot tub and grill with picnic tables for guests. The staff was very friendly. Overall it was a good stay with just a few little things that I would do differently if I owned the property:

Housekeeping-pay more attention to detail
2nd floor hallway needs to be spruced up
Painting-freshen up doors and walls, there were alot of marks (to their credit a painter was painting the outside both days we were there, may be a work in progress)


I would stay here again.
Thanks SeaShell

Room Tip: either floor will work, however, if you want to sit outside your room for any length of time choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaShellMgr, Owner at Sea Shell Motel, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Hi and thank you for your kind words and for staying with us. We apreciate your business and the observations that you made, which I can say little bit about.

We have plans to extend the upstairs deck by about three feet so our guests have more room to move around, sit outside, and get past eachother when walking. We hope to have this done for next year. What we did not expect is the number of hoops through which we heing forced to jump; because the corner of the deck is within ten feet of the property line we need to go before the zoning board to ask for a variance. Because we are on the water we then have to ask the state coastal agency for permission to make this change on the street side of the building. The wheels are slow to turn.

I'm unhappy to hear that you noticed a lack of attention to detail from our housekeeping staff. We recently started to notice the same thing, which takes the fault from the staff and puts it on us. Yesterday we made some changes to our staffing, which we believe will bring the level of attention back to where it should be.

Thanks again for choosing the Sea Shell Motel, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We returned to the Sea Shell after a great experience last year. The absolute best part of this motel is the manager Chris; I hope the owners truly understand how lucky they are to have him; we probably would not return if not for him. He is dedicated, friendly, will do anything for you..he makes the motel feel like home. Other good points: walking distance to the beach, nice backyard with tables, beautiful pond, and often visitors of the canine variety. People tend to be very friendly. Rooms are clean, nice fridge/microwave, air conditioning works well.Wireless works well.Updates over the past year make a difference-tile flooring, clean counter tops. Bad points: water pressure in shower is poor, the shower is a stand-up stall- a guest could never weigh more than 275, the rooms are overall small. No hairdryer, coffee machine, or tissues in room. Tiny area with small sink outside of bathroom.The beds really need new mattresses. You can't sit on the second story balcony and see over the rail. The rooms are expensive for a little motel, but everything in season is expensive at the beach. The tile corners/floorboard needs to be sealed better in the bathroom to keep out bugs.Overall, though, a nice place! Would definately return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

This place was really amazing. My wife thought it was "cute" and i thought the location and amenities were really nice. the rooms were small but clean and did the job (had cable, microwave, ac, fridge). we used all of those items in the room since the weather was ridiculously bad. they have an awesome setup in the backyard: jacuzzi, picnic tables, grill, and amazing view of the salt pond. they had boats to take out on the pond, a little dock, and even free coffee (keurig, or whatever) in the little lobby. the walk to the beach is about 100 yards and 60 seconds. stores, bars, and restaurants about the same-that was such a great feature. also, the staff were magnificent. chris was there 24/7 and was incredibly helpful. like i said, the staff worked hard, provided anything, and were super friendly. all in all, awesome place! if you're used to the ritz, it may be simple. but, like i said, super clean and convenient. thanks for an awesome weekend!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed here for a week-unfortunately the week was the worst of the summer weatherwise.Most outstanding
feature of this motel is the staff.Chris was very helpful -we were able to check in a day early due to cancellation.We gounable to walk through them to get into the water.Close enough to spend a day at Mystic Seaport which was fabulous.quamicut before and were very disppointed in the baech-very rocky-t great advice about where to eat-best place for breakfast or lunch-the Cooked Goose.
Rooms are very basic,small -clean -wish the proch area faced the bay instaed of the road.It was very pet friendly -we brought our dog as did others who stayed the same week. The yard,jacuzzi and canoe availibilty added to the amenities.
e had never been to Mis

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town of Newburgh, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Great beach motel that is pet friendly! Very friendly staff! Love the hot tub and the salt water pond. Very relaxing.. nothing fancy.... but highly recommended if you are traveling with a pet...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Shell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shell Motel

Address: 19 Winnapaug Road, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Misquamicut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 10 room motel located very close to one of the best beaches in Rhode Island. Restaurants are within walking or very short driving distance and we are convenient to casinos and downtown Westerly. All rooms have tile floors, two double beds, an LCD television, A/C, a microwave, a refrigerator and a private bathroom. In our lobby we have endless coffee and tea, near our jewelry display case! With a back yard on salt water we have boats that guests can use at no additional cost, gas grills, picnic tables and a very popular hot tub. If you want a safe, clean, comfortable motel near a beautiful beach, come see us. You can bring your pet too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Hotel Misquamicut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Shell Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.