We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely few days at the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pleasant View Inn

Save Saved
You added Pleasant View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pleasant View Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Atlantic Ave., Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Misquamicut
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A lovely few days at the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We just returned from a short stay here and loved it. Basically, if you are looking for a four star hotel with HD TV, WiFi in every room and a concierge service, this is not the place for you—you should probably head for Newport.

However, if you want a clean, pleasant beach-side hotel with the basic amenities, balconies from which you can watch seals swim by and a beautiful beach to walk on, you will like this place. We found most of the staff to be very helpful and pleasant, the room was spotless and the bed very comfortable with extra pillows provided. What more do you need for a few days at the beach?

Room Tip: Go for a second floor ocean facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    45
    26
    19
    8
See reviews for
58
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrub Oak, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Once you enter the lobby of the PV Inn, you return to 1912 not 2012. The Inn appears to have been built around 1903 and it shows signs of still being in that era. There is no central air conditioning nor heating system which explains why the main entrance doors, although automatic, remained open from morning til night which explains the numerous flies in the dining room. Not only that, coming in after 10 pm, no one is at the desk so anyone could walk in. Total lack of security. While the intent of the Inn is to provide a quaint and relaxing atmosphere, there was an inherent must odor throughout. No modern conveniences of any kind. Two laptops near the check-in desk but only 1 worked and that one was missing the "P" key with many others either late to respond or necessary to click hard to respond. While sitting at the laptop, several guests visited the desk & were asked for their room # within my listening space. No confidentiality here. The PV Inn does not appear to be handicap ready. No elevator & there are 3 levels. Very difficult to navigate luggage up & down stairs & there is no "bell boy." The ladies' room off of the lobby had no sign to indicate that it was the ladies' room. There were 4 light globes over the sink but only 1 bulb was lit leaving the room very dim. The room we stayed in smelled musty - almost like years of barefoot visitors. Decor was quite old and in poor condition. No pen or paper in the room. Old 20" TV in a cabinet. Overall, the room was clean & neat but the smell never left. We turned on the in-wall AC unit thinking we could just run the fan. The room was immediately filled with such an odor, we had to open up the slider & leave the room until it cleared up. Thankfully we had an ocean view which cleared the smell. All of the wall units were visibly rusted on the outside, no doubt due to the ocean front location. Menu was a bit pricey so we ate dinner out. At breakfast, we were asked if we wanted our room bill charged so we were asked for our room # within earshot of others dining. Easy to get around the area but there are also other places more accommodating. If being on the ocean is your thing, then this is the place. Our room was $118 per nite off season but would have been $254 in season. Will never happen! If your looking for ambience & conveniences, forget it. There was a small game room, maybe 6 machines & claustrophobic. There was mention of a fitness room in the basement but there were no signs advertising it so we never got to see it. If it was anything like the game room or accommodations, I can't imagine what eqpt. could be in there. Yes, the PV Inn has its location on its side, but beyond that there is much to be desired. Given that the Inn has about 112 rooms, it seems the owners should bite the bullet & invest in central AC/heating. Like another reviewer, we're hoping that the Terranova's (owners) read this review & come up to the times!

Room Tip: Definitely take an ocean view but no higher than the second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Valley, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A place that is is the definition of Location, Location, Location. The motel is dated, however, clean. We had a balcony suite overlooking the pool. The ocean was mor inviting and long walks on the beach were a must do. The restaurant served breakfast, lunch and dinner. It was good and little pricey. Would I return? Yes I think the first line describes it all.

Room Tip: best if price is no problem - Oceanside but on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just got back from a mini vacation to Rhode Island with my three daughters and their three daughters. Everyone who works here was so friendly and helpful. With three little babies we needed a little extra attention with cribs in the room and highchairs. We at one point needed an iron, extra towels everything was given to us quickly and happily. Front staff great, the restuarant staff was so friendly and accomidating. Although we picked up our mess on the floor where we ate (three small babies drop alot of food) they kept telling us to stop they would pick it up they didn't mind. The food was great. Lobster bisque one of the best I've had. Ceasar salad, great. All fish was so fresh. Everything we ordered came as we ordered it and was so flavorful. We stayed in poolside mini suites, the rooms were big, clean. This is not the Hilton, it is a very old, maintained Inn, directly on the beach. Free Wi Fi, we will be back. Hopefully this will become our new family tradition with my grandchildren.

Room Tip: I chose the first floor mini suites pool side thinking with three little babies we could still be at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The room is your standard motel room (no phone or elevator) but it was clean and on the beach - the beach is literally steps away. The pool was heated and since we were there off-season there were plenty of chairs to use. Places to eat are nearby or you can eat at the dining room onsite. The wifi worked OK for me in my room - maybe my room was just close enough and fewer guests using it (off-season) means better signal strength. I'd certainly go again.

Room Tip: Ocean view on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have been to the Pleasant View Inn about 4 times now. We love it here. We specifically looked for a vacation destination that is on the ocean and has a swimming pool as our young adult daughter who has special needs loves the ocean and swimming.
In the mornings, we would set up our chairs, blanket and umbrella's before going to the hotels restaurant for breakfast. When we have had enough of the ocean for awhile we would leave everythingi right on the beach, and go to the hotels bar to get lunch.You can eat in the bar or on the outside patio. The wait staff here are extremely friendly and the service is excellent. Infact, our waiter this past July remembered us from the previous year. He was so warm and gracious.
After our lunches, we would head over to the pool and spend a couple of hours there, before heading back to the beach again for a little quiet time before going back to our room to get ready for dinner.
This hotel not only offers the convenience of not having to get up in the morning and travel to a beach (and pay parking) but it has a top rate restaurant which accepts reservations. We enjoyed our breakfast, lunch and a dinner here. The food and service is top rate. You can sit by an ocean window and enjoy your meals. We enjoyed our last nights dinner here so much, we wished we had made reservations for other nights. The staff at this hotel is exceptionally friendly and warm from the hostess to the owner of the establishment and to the other guests who stay here.

You literally do not have to leave the establishment to enjoy a fun filled and relaxing vacation.
Also, when you do want a change of scenery and want to go to a different restaurant in the evenings, there are many to choose from right down the road. We had a few pleasant walks in the evening going to and from dinner and for icecream at the local shops. When you return to the hotel, you can have an after dinner drink on the outside patio or take your drink to one of the lounge chairs on the wall overlooking the ocean. This hotel makes everything easy and relaxing and is so accommodating to guests.
Our daughter loves it here so much, that we booked rooms for this coming June with our other children and their spouses.
We look forward to many more family vacations at the Pleasant View.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms with balconys. We would prefer to have a 2nd floor room for our next visit. We st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is obviously hit and miss. We got the miss. Cigarette smelling hotel room next to stairs despite sign of no smoking in the lobby. Room hasn't been updated for years. Paid upfront but was given the last room available. Disappointed and drove the 2 1/2 hours home after a nice day at the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pleasant View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant View Inn

Address: 65 Atlantic Ave., Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Misquamicut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pleasant View Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Pleasant View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant View Hotel Misquamicut
Pleasant View Misquamicut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pleasant View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.