We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Whale Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Misquamicut
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Whale Inn
Save
You added Blue Whale Inn to your Saves list
54 Winnapaug Rd., Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BOTTLE OF WINE
Ranked #1 of 2 Misquamicut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Branford, Connecticut
1 review
“Very Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This Inn is very relaxing and accommodating. Chris is very hospitable and she goes the extra mile to make your stay as nice as possible. The room was clean and there was plenty of outdoor room to grill and socialize with other guests. Thank you Chris for the wine and the good time. See you soon Jane & George

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you both enjoyed your stay. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality and complimentary bottle of wine are very kind. Your comments regarding our cleanliness are very much appreciated, as we take great pride in the upkeep of our rooms, suites, and grounds. It's also very nice to hear you enjoyed relaxing and socializing in our lighted and covered outdoor courtyard. Hope to see you again soon and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    23
    8
    9
    18
See reviews for
37
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Super friendly and accommodating staff! Great selection for breakfast. Cute and clean beach themed rooms / yard. Lots of outdoor seating. Volleyball net, grills. Very relaxing. We arrived to wine and cake in our room. Not far from the beach but I wouldn't walk if you plan to bring much with you. I plan to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, complimentary breakfast, and in room goodies are very kind. Your comments regarding our cleanliness are very much appreciated, as we take great pride in the upkeep of our rooms, suites, and grounds. It's also nice to hear you were pleased with our proximity to the beach. Hope to see you again soon and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Blue Whale Inn and are pleased to recommend this charming Inn to all! From the first (last minute) phone call to check on availability straight through to our departure we felt as though all our needs were being met. Stephen made sure we were comfortable with the types of rooms we would need for our group - which was mostly teenagers and preteenagers! Christine never stops - her mission is to please - and that she did! She goes out of her way to make sure all are comfortable, have what they need and even takes time to sit and chat when she finds a few minutes! The continental breakfast included a tasty mix from fresh fruit and yogurt to bagels and fresh pastries! The rooms are bright and airy with a home like décor. The outside courtyard area was a bonus as our group was able to utilize the propane grills and tables each evening to cook our dinners. It is also a very relaxing area in the evening when Christine brings out goodies for the wine and cheese hour - which included treats for the kids to enjoy too! The Inn is a short 2 block walk to the main street and beach (just enough to walk off the breakfast buffet!). Christine's hospitality was a pleasant surprise to my parents who came down for the afternoon to check out the area - she graciously welcomed them by allowing them to park in the lot, bringing out cheese, crackers and wine for us to enjoy, and recommending a nice restaurant for them. We truly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay, as well as found our reservation process informative. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, fresh complimentary breakfast, and wine & cheese hour are very kind. We're happy your family enjoyed using the complimentary propane grills for beach barbecuing and relaxing outside in our covered and lighted courtyard. We are also delighted that your parents enjoyed their day trip. Hope to see you again soon and have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had such a good time staying here! The owner is super hospitable, the hotel is clean, she constantly replenishes the food outside. I just can't say enough good things. It felt like we were in our own backyard (but we didn't have to clean up after anyone!) I highly recommend the Blue Whale for anyone that wants a quiet, comfy get-a-way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, fresh complimentary breakfast, and wine & cheese hour are very kind. Your comments regarding our cleanliness are very much appreciated, as we take great pride in the upkeep of our rooms, suites, and grounds. Hope to see you again soon and have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The employees were extremely friendly. The food at the continental breakfast was fresh. The wine during the wine and cheese hour was very good. The only thing I did not like was the fact that the motel floors were not clean. There was a good deal of sand on them, but I guess it's not uncommon when it a beach motel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, fresh complimentary breakfast, and wine & cheese hour are very kind. We are always looking to improve so thank you for your review. Hope to see you again soon and have a splendid summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Every August we go to the Blue Whale because Christine is the best !! She has always made sure that we were taken care of. She has a wonderful breakfast buffet every morning, wine and cheese every evening and goes out of her way to make sure we have the best time every year. This weekend we are going again and we are all very excited to see Christine and all of her renovations she has made on our "home away from home"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing to return to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. The best compliment our guests can pay us is returning, so thank you. We are also looking forward to your visit this weekend for your annual girls beach trip. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, complimentary breakfast, and wine & cheese hour are very kind. It's nice to hear you are looking forward to all the new comfort upgrades we have recently completed. See you soon and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I want to Thank Christine for all the hard work she put into making sure my daughter had an awesome 25th birthday. You went far and beyond what I needed or expected I have never vacated in Rhode Island thinking it was a long drive from New York but it actually wasn’t 2 hours isn’t anything. I’ll definitely be coming back, my daughter and her friends had the best time and loved the fact the main strip with the bars was in walking distance. The rooms are so cute and very, very clean and I was pleased with the way the rooms were situated and how you were able to accommodate my bunch. The wine and cheese was so unexpected and a treat, and waking up to a continental breakfast there’s only one word for it AWESOME. So thanks again and can’t wait to see you all again and hopefully before fall. Thanks so much Michelle 

Room Tip: Come prepared to relax!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased your party enjoyed your recent beach stay for your daughter's 25th birthday. It's great to hear your party liked our proximity to the beach, restaurants, and beach bars . Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, complimentary breakfast, and wine & cheese hour are very kind. Your comments regarding our cleanliness are very much appreciated, as we take great pride in the upkeep of our rooms, suites, and grounds. Hope to see you again soon and have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Whale Inn

Address: 54 Winnapaug Rd., Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Misquamicut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the prestigious TripAdvisor "CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2014". Conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Misquamicut Beach, Rhode Island, the BLUE WHALE INN offers coastal charm with exceptional hospitality. Just a short walk from the sand and surf of Rhode Island's largest and most popular beach, the BLUE WHALE INN boasts well appointed deluxe rooms for couples, and deluxe suites for larger groups. Misquamicut Beach stretches for seven lovely miles of soft white sand and pristine waters with great surf. Packed with fun things to do, Misquamicut has everything you'll need to enjoy a vacation along the shore, including; seafood restaurants, jet ski rentals, water slides, mini golf, and more. Moments away from coastal villages of Watch Hill and Weekapaug, the BLUE WHALE INN is perfectly situated to explore all scenic areas of the Westerly Shoreline. Our mission is to create a coastal New England experience that will keep you dreaming of your beach stay until you return. COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES: , Country Continental Breakfast, Evening Wine & Cheese, Lighted & Covered Outdoor Courtyard , Complimentary Use of Propane Grill, In Room Wireless Internet Access & Bottled Water, Beach Day Parking on Arrival/Departure Dates (including before check-in and after check-out time, with access to fully enclosed hot/cold outdoor shower for changing, with soap and shampoo provided), Beach Chairs and Umbrella, Full Concierge Services *Now offering convenient text alerts on arrival dates, which inform guests when their room/suite becomes available, even before standard check-in time.* ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Whale Hotel Westerly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Whale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.