We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of the Season” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Whale Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Misquamicut
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Whale Inn
Save
You added Blue Whale Inn to your Saves list
54 Winnapaug Rd., Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BOTTLE OF WINE
Ranked #1 of 1 Misquamicut B&B and Inns
Northeast Harbor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“End of the Season”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Whale for one night in mid-October, well after the summer crush. Upper deck, so it was quiet. A basic summer-type room, odd spaces, but serviceable. Other reviews mention junk lying around and there did seem to be a bit of a casual attitude toward exterior neatness. Seemed a bit like it was all tired after a long, hard summer season. The room was fine, the bathroom fine. I'm not sure this would be my first choice for a summer beach trip, and I think one has to take the website and photos with a grain of salt. But as long as one doesn't have high "beach resort" expectations, the Blue whale is just fine.

Room Tip: I would think upper better than first floor (exterior guest noise from common areas).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. In Mid-October we are, as you mentioned, at the very end of our season and have to spend considerable time preparing our building and property for the upcoming winter, to ensure when we do reopen in the spring that our facilities remain consistent to what are returning guests expect. Given that we do not offer all of our amenities at this time of the year, for example the wonderful complimentary continental breakfast and the complimentary wine & cheese hour each evening, we greatly reduce our room prices to over 60% off, which we convey to our guests who make reservations in the offseason. I can also positively assure you that every photo on our website, other then photos of Misquamicut Beach, are direct photos of our property, building, and amenities. We are very pleased you enjoyed your room, as we strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality and quality. We appreciate your positive response and thank you for your review. We would love to have you return in season so you could enjoy all we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    23
    8
    9
    18
See reviews for
37
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I took our three kids to the Blue Whale this past August and we had a greattt time. The hospitality was great and our Deluxe Suite was wonderful. Nothing like checking into a nice clean cool suite with a chilled complimentary bottle of wine after waiting in traffic for two hours. We stayed 6 nights and can't wait to go back. The free breakfast in the morning was perfect with the kids, didn't have to leave for breakfast and sit in traffic to get back to the beach. In the evening they had a delicious wine and cheese hour, that had tons of snacks for our kids too. The place was quiet and relaxing, close to the beach, and most of all real safe. The kids played badminton on the court every night while my husband and I enjoyed the wine and cheese and read a book. We usually take a trip to Misquamicut each year and will definitley be staying at the Blue Whale in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in a wonderful Deluxe Room and it was perfect for our family of five.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, as we strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality and quality. We appreciate your positive response and thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Blue Whale in late July for our anniversary and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect (close to beach) and the complimentary chilled bottle of wine in our room was awesome. The free breakfast and Wine & Cheese Hour were also wonderful. We hope to return next summer. Recommend trying this place out.

Room Tip: Our Room was Lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, as we strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality and quality. We appreciate your positive response and thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

my husband stayed here Saturday and Sunday night of Labor Day weekend. I was so upset it has taken eme thsi long to write anything.The room was ok expect for the very high up TV which was difficut to watch.The bed was horrible; we both developed back aches and did not sleep well. There is junk outside the rooms literally all over the place. The junk includes old foldaway beds/mattresses. It almost looks like the owner is ont he way to hoarding. The breakfast is served late so we did nto bother. WE did see the remains that took forever to be cleaned up. Our second day there, no one came to clean our room. The owner almost dumped a bucket of water from cleaning on top of my husband when he was sittign outside. It was noisy at night and yes seems to attract tons of people who smoke and make the place smelly. Yuk. Never again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We try our best to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests no matter the circumstance, and it's seems in that respect we failed to achieve your standards, and for that we apologize. However, we are very confused as to the so called junk on our grounds you mention, as we have nothing of the sort on our grounds. We view our grounds as a great positive and multiple reviewers/guests have complimented the cleanliness of our grounds, along with posted pictures showing our grounds. Multiple photos of our grounds can also be viewed on our website. Our grounds are very family friendly and include a grass volleyball/badminton court, lighted & covered outdoor courtyard, & propane grills, which are purchased new yearly, for complimentary use,. Our complimentary breakfast is served fresh daily from 9AM - 11AM, and this information is posted on our website, which can be viewed prior to making a reservation, along with posted in all of our rooms. The time breakfast is served may not have been suited to your personal preference, but we have found that serving the complimentary breakfast from 9AM-11AM allows the majority of our guests to take part. All of our Rooms & Suites are strictly 100% Smoke Free, and we apply a $150 Smoke Cleaning Fee to any Room or Suite which has been smoked in. With that being said, we have not had to apply a Smoke Fee to any guest in over 5 years, as no guest has smoked in our rooms in that time period. Also bewildering is the fact you write the owner almost dumped a bucket of water on your husband from cleaning, which implies in fact no water was actually dumped on your husband, which seems like an odd event to complain about. We feel it very important to clean our balcony located outside our three Suites daily, as to keep the consistent standard of cleanliness our guests expect. You didn't mention our complimentary Wine & Cheese Hour we serve every evening, so we assume you enjoyed this amenity. We would love to have to stay with us again so we can show you all we have to offer. Thank you for you review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Walpole, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is NOT an INN but rather a motel. The first room we were checked into was filthy with a condom wrapper on the floor next to the bed. The 2nd room stunk of decaying fish and the bedside table was a mini-fridge (which HAD to be unplugged to stopped the constant hum). At 2:11am another guest’s cell phone was vibrating with text messages and incoming calls from the floor above us- how would we know that? The walls are so so thin I thought it was my phone at first. That was our first night.

For our 2nd night, we were upgraded to a ‘suite’ on the 2nd floor. A larger, somewhat cleaner room. However at 1:30am we heard the intimate details of a downstairs resident and his guest.

There are about 5 extremely unsavory adult males that live at this Inn on the first floor, most of them lurk about smoking and peering out from behind their door. If the carnival was in town they may have had employment.

My husband and I checked out a day early. If you like camping with a roof - this Inn could meet your needs.

Room Tip: best tip -- go to another b&b
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Let me start by saying my husband and I currently live in Florida and we both travel a lot throughout the year for business, usually staying in big chain hotels. We stayed at the Blue Whale Inn over Labor Day and we both couldn't believe the blast we had. It was awesome seeing such down home southern hospitality in the Northeast. The breakfast and wine and cheese hour were both wonderful and delicious. The staff was incredible and the location is great, just a block to the beach. We loved the relaxing atmosphere so much we are already planning to come back to Rhode Island next summer. So many free amenities, please do yourself a favor and try the Blue Whale.

Room Tip: Very Clean & Free Bottle of WIne in Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, as we strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality and quality. We appreciate your positive response and thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I just stayed here over the weekend and had an absolutle blast. The hospitality we recieved was unlike any we have ever seen, and we travel a lot. The breakfast was wonderful and the wine and cheese hour in the courtyard was awesome and huge. We were pleasantly surprised at check-in to walk in to a meticulously clean room all air conditioner for us, as well as a complimentary bottle of wine on ice in our room. If you want to have a wonderful and relaxing stay in Misquamicut Beach I suggest staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe Room and it is wonderful for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, as we strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality and quality. We appreciate your positive response and thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Whale Inn

Address: 54 Winnapaug Rd., Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Misquamicut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the prestigious TripAdvisor "CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2014". Conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Misquamicut Beach, Rhode Island, the BLUE WHALE INN offers coastal charm with exceptional hospitality. Just a short walk from the sand and surf of Rhode Island's largest and most popular beach, the BLUE WHALE INN boasts well appointed deluxe rooms for couples, and deluxe suites for larger groups. Misquamicut Beach stretches for seven lovely miles of soft white sand and pristine waters with great surf. Packed with fun things to do, Misquamicut has everything you'll need to enjoy a vacation along the shore, including; seafood restaurants, jet ski rentals, water slides, mini golf, and more. Moments away from coastal villages of Watch Hill and Weekapaug, the BLUE WHALE INN is perfectly situated to explore all scenic areas of the Westerly Shoreline. Our mission is to create a coastal New England experience that will keep you dreaming of your beach stay until you return. COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES: , Country Continental Breakfast, Evening Wine & Cheese, Lighted & Covered Outdoor Courtyard , Complimentary Use of Propane Grill, In Room Wireless Internet Access & Bottled Water, Beach Day Parking on Arrival/Departure Dates (including before check-in and after check-out time, with access to fully enclosed hot/cold outdoor shower for changing, with soap and shampoo provided), Beach Chairs and Umbrella, Full Concierge Services *Now offering convenient text alerts on arrival dates, which inform guests when their room/suite becomes available, even before standard check-in time.* ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Whale Hotel Westerly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Whale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.