We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad to have dropped in on the Blue Whale!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Whale Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Misquamicut
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Whale Inn
54 Winnapaug Rd., Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BOTTLE OF WINE
Ranked #1 of 1 Misquamicut B&B and Inns
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So glad to have dropped in on the Blue Whale!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We found the Blue Whale quite by accident, dropping in after our former favorite Misquamicut motel was sold out. With record heat wave coming, vacancies were filling up fast. When we saw the beautiful terrace, heard about the comp wine, breakfast and other extras thrown in, we knew we had our spot for our annual "girl's getaway." Christine and her staff go out of the way -- whether it is making sure you are comfortable, answering questions about local restaurants and attractions or accomodating special requests. The covered gazebo with twinkle lights with the comp bottle of wine is a perfect way to relax after a day of sightseeing or beach. Not beachfront, but a short walk to the beach and nightlife -- gives you the choice of participating in the noise and nightlife if you wish or just "chillaxin" among beautiful flowers and fireflies. The Blue Whale will now be our first coice destination for our beach getaways. Thanks from the Seawitches!

Room Tip: Christine showed us available rooms to help our choice. Not sure if she would always be able to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, as we strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality and quality. We appreciate your positive response and thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    18
    6
    9
    18
See reviews for
31
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My 88 year old mother and I stayed at the Blue Whale Inn just before Memorial Day. Although it wasn't the "official" season yet, Christine went out of her way to make sure our stay was as pleasant as it could be. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless; not a dust bunny to be found!
It was quiet, comfortable and just what we needed. I would recommend this Inn to anyone; especially families. It's a perfect distance from the beaches and there's a lovely area to relax after a long day as well as a yard for games and a cook-out. I think it's a great deal for the price and look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in adjoining rooms on the first floor. We were able to walk right out onto the seating are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, as we strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality and quality. We appreciate your positive response and thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We just stayed at the Blue Whale Inn this past week and had such an amazing time. My husband and I couldn't have asked for anything more relaxing. We've spent the last two weeks traveling the East Coast and this stay was one of our favorites. The breakfast & wine and cheese hour was awesome, and you can't beat a complimentary bottle of wine at check-in. Perfect peaceful beach vacation and we def recommend trying this place out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for your positive response. We strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality. and are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We (3 adults, 3 kids) stayed in August and could not have hoped for a more welcoming hostess. The rooms were all very clean and just what we needed for our beach trip. Christine encourages guests to get together for cheese and wine - which was a lovely touch. We ended up having a barbecue all together everyone mucking in to help fillet fish and order in other stuff. This was followed by some of the more energetic going into town with the folk they'd just met. It was a truly lovely night- many thanks

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for your positive response. We enjoyed your company and thanks for catching that big fish and grilling it up for everyone. We strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality, and we are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed this past August at the Blue Whale Inn and it was fantastic. It was so relaxing, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful and fresh and we also enjoyed the wine and cheese hour in the afternoon. Just a skip to the beach, yet far enough away from all the noisy bars. Had a great time and look forward to going back in summer '12.

Room Tip: Complimentary Bottle of Wine with Every Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thank you for your positive response. We strive to exceed your expectaions with our hospitality. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich Port, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a girls weekend. While it is a quick walk to the beach, I would not stay here ever again! The floors in our room were sandy and dirty and the bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned. Outside the trash was piled up in the driveway. The breakfast food was left out in the garden and when we went to look, it had flies all around it. Gross! Not worth my hard earned money!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed our location in Misquamicut Beach, as we are just a short walk from the beach. We have many return guests who come for "Girl's Getaways", and they usually love the ambience and atmoshphere here at the Blue Whale Inn. We strive for meticulously clean rooms, and I can assure you that your room was fully cleaned and inspected before you checked in. We hope you come back to stay with us so we can show all we have to offer. Thank you for the review as we are always looking to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Christine and her son Steven are really great hosts and go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. I visited the Inn with my 86 yr old Dad and 8 yr old son which required their suite which had a large refrigerator and was very clean. The free breakfast was very nice too. Hurricane Irene was headed straight to R. I. and when I was hesitant to commit to booking, Steven was so polite and indicated that he would refund our deposit up to 1 day prior to arrival and could cancel at any time for a full refund. He was so amiable and easy going, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Unlike other hotels on the "strip" the price was reasonable and the beds were free of critters ---- the owners - just the best kind of people!. Don't hesitate, book there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thank you for your positive response. We strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Whale Inn

Address: 54 Winnapaug Rd., Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Misquamicut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the prestigious TripAdvisor "CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2014". Conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Misquamicut Beach, Rhode Island, the BLUE WHALE INN offers coastal charm with exceptional hospitality. Just a short walk from the sand and surf of Rhode Island's largest and most popular beach, the BLUE WHALE INN boasts well appointed deluxe rooms for couples, and deluxe suites for larger groups. Misquamicut Beach stretches for seven lovely miles of soft white sand and pristine waters with great surf. Packed with fun things to do, Misquamicut has everything you'll need to enjoy a vacation along the shore, including; seafood restaurants, jet ski rentals, water slides, mini golf, and more. Moments away from coastal villages of Watch Hill and Weekapaug, the BLUE WHALE INN is perfectly situated to explore all scenic areas of the Westerly Shoreline. Our mission is to create a coastal New England experience that will keep you dreaming of your beach stay until you return. COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES -Country Continental Breakfast -Complimentary Wine & Cheese -Lighted & Covered Outdoor Courtyard -Complimentary Use of Propane Grills -Beach Day Parking on Arrival/Departure Dates; including before check-in and after check-out time, with access to fully enclosed hot/cold outdoor shower for changing, with soap and shampoo provided. -Complimentary beach chairs and umbrella throughout stay -Full Concierge Services *Now offering convenient text alerts on arrival dates, which inform guests when their room/suite becomes available, even before check-in time.* ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Whale Hotel Westerly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Whale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Whale Inn to your Saves list