We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Winnapaug Inn

Save Saved
You added Winnapaug Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Winnapaug Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   169 Shore Road, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Misquamicut
Bedminster
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Weekend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The rooms were very dated and extremely overpriced. I came to town for a family wedding arriving on a Thursday and leaving on a Saturday. I was quoted a price when making the reservation. Upon check in the price was 100 more then what was told to me.. I was stuck and had no choice ... This happened to MANY of the members of my family staying here also. Single king sized rooms that were booked were assigned a suite instead at $200.00 more then the priced they booked at .. since the place was full we were told there was nothing we could do. It felt very much like a bait and switch. The 2 redeeming parts was the restaurant next door was excellent ... food and service was top notch.. in addition the pool area was nice and well maintained... But man can not live by food and pool alone when staying somewhere !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDWRI, Public Relations Manager at Winnapaug Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
The original room reservations were cancelled and other room types were re-booked by a third party. Room rates are based on two guests. Charges apply for additional guests. We do not upgrade rooms at a higher rate without consent of the guest. A family of six would require a suite or additional rooms. Thank you for the positive feedback on our pool and restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    12
    11
    9
See reviews for
24
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The room was very clean smelled fresh. The bed was firm and comfortable. We had a jacuzzi large enough for two In our bathroom which had plenty of hot water and was wonderful. The pool was clean and very refreshing. Overall that part of our experience was great.
Cons. Even thought the bathroom looked spotless there urine left in toilet, disgusting. They should not advertise wireless. Our connection was so slow it took literally 5 to infinity minutes to load a page. if Internet use what part of your work forget it. We talked with the office about both issues but nothing was done.
Over all I would be glad stay here again,hoping the Internet would be functioning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The rooms themselves were fairly basic but were clean and come with refrigerators, which is a plus. Our Deck was next to the 13th green of Winnapaug CC, so my husband and kids enjoyed watching the golfers. The pool area is good sized with a hot tub as well. It's not on the ocean, but you are given passes to park at a private area of Misquamicut beach. Very nice place and a good value for the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here and it was just as nice as the first time. We stayed two nights and when we got there it was only 1 pm but they let us check in early. The pool is wonderful. The staff was very friendly. We have nothing bad to say about this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I was staying in a room for the fourth of July weekend with a girlfriend of mine. When we first arrived we could not get INTO the room. The receptionist could NOT either. They had to call someone else! Pretty embarrassing on their part. The sink was clogged, the refrigerator would not work! My girlfriends shirt got snagged on the non existence ironing board cover! Needless to say I will never stay there again and the front desk women there has got to be one of the rudest people I have come across. Just DON'T!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDWRI, Public Relations Manager at Winnapaug Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We apologize for the inconvenience with the room door and were please to help you open it. Maintenance issues are addressed promptly this would have made your stay more comfortable with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Was a little nervous on seeing some of the negative reviews, but we stayed for two days and everything was fine. Private balcony, comfortable beds, everything clean, and quiet. Nice pool and uncrowded. Roses still in bloom. Includes free parking at private beach, a huge plus. Breakfast included was basic, but OK. I never saw any sour-face guy or anyone that bothered us about rules. You can drive to unload at first or second floor. That was a plus. Would have liked more modern TV and more TV choices, but I didn't vacation to watch TV.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Winnapaug Inn is the best choice for a hotel in the Westerly,Misquamicut area. The rooms are large and clean. The staff is friendly and very accomodating. We visited other hotels and inns in the area, none were as reasonably priced and offered as much as the Winnepaug Inn.
The Venice Restaurant is next door and owned by the same family was incredible, the staff treated us like we were thier best patrons and the place was packed. We are already planning a trip back just for the food and service! Thank you Lou and Nunzio.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Winnapaug Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnapaug Inn

Address: 169 Shore Road, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Misquamicut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Winnapaug Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether relaxing, having fun, or conducting business, Winnapaug Inn is ideally located in one of New England's most scenic areas. Nestled on Winnapaug Pond, beside Winnapaug Golf Course and minutes to Misquamicut beach everyone will enjoy the sun, surf and tranquillity of New England's pristine coastline. For comfort, convenience, ambiance and a perfect vacation package there is something for everyone. Adjacent to Venice Restaurant and Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Winnapaug Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winnapaug Hotel Misquamicut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winnapaug Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;