We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beach motel-immaculate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breezeway Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Misquamicut
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breezeway Resort
Save Saved
You added Breezeway Resort to your Saves list
70 Winnapaug Rd, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Misquamicut
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect beach motel-immaculate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Lovely beach motel. Our double double room was perfect for my husband, son, and me it was renovated and immaculately clean. Parking at their beach was ideal and saves you$25/ day. Gina at reservations was a true professional. Beach towels and beach bag were a luxurious touch. This place has all you truly need for a trip to Westerly.

Room Tip: Ask if it's a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks so much for your great comments. I will pass the word onto our staff and to Gina. Hope to see you next time you are in Westerly or Misquamicut Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    41
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
67
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

PERFECT getaway spot for our 3 day trip to RI. Immaculately clean rooms, all newly renovated and up to date. Simple furnishing with calming, beachy color schemes. Immaculate grounds and pool area. Quiet setting with a homey feel. 2 blocks from the beach, private beach access included. Simple continental breakfast was just right. Great place if you have kids. Family run for years with great pride, and it shows. Have been going to RI since I was a child. My first stay here, and I will stay here on future visits. Well worth the money. Great value.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be situated well: check out their web site....they have several accomodation opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
What else can we say but THANK YOU for your review and for being our guests. Our family and staff appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We took a vacation with two families (three toddlers between them) and grandparents.

The Breezeway's charms grow on you over the course of a stay. At first blush, it seemed like a glorified motel, with no in-house restaurant, the beach farther than expected (it may be three blocks, but they are very loooooooong blocks), with small kids it's a drive rather than a walk, and less than accommodating early check-in policy.

But the staff is warm and welcoming, the pool is warm and huge fun for kids. The beach is very nice, and Maria's restaurant (affiliated with the hotel but not on the property) offers a great sunset meal overlooking the water. And the grounds are quite nice with a small playground and lots of open lawn space for kids to play.

The villas are terrific rooms (highly recommend them for families), must have been recently renovated, with a deck that's great for family dinners. So we were very happy with the rooms themselves.

The upshot is that the whole is much greater than the sum of its parts, we had a terrific vacation and would go back. I would recommend it for families, particularly if you get the villas.

Room Tip: For families, splurge and get the villas (particularly for two families staying together, two villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your very detailed review of our property and we're so glad you had the opportunity to try us out. The Breezeway did start out as a motel a few decades ago. Each off season we've either added on, upgraded and made improvements to the point where we are at today. I think you are correct that we are greater than the sum of our parts and are glad you noticed. If you decide to return and arrive prior to check in time, you and all of our guests are welcome to arrive in the morning and use our pool or head to oru private beach. The same is true for after check out of your room on the day of your departure. We take cleanliness extremely seriously and do not want to rush our housekeepers in order to expedite check in if at all possible.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you soon

We took a vacation with two families (three toddlers between them) and grandparents.

The Breezeway's charms grow on you over the course of a stay. At first blush, it seemed like a glorified motel, with no in-house restaurant, the beach farther than expected (it may be three blocks, but they are very loooooooong blocks), with small kids it's a drive rather than a walk, and less than accommodating early check-in policy.

But the staff is warm and welcoming, the pool is warm and huge fun for kids. The beach is very nice, and Maria's restaurant (affiliated with the hotel but not on the property) offers a great sunset meal overlooking the water. And the grounds are quite nice with a small playground and lots of open lawn space for kids to play.

The villas are terrific rooms (highly recommend them for families), must have been recently renovated, with a deck that's great for family dinners. So we were very happy with the rooms themselves.

The upshot is that the whole is much greater than the sum of its parts, we had a terrific vacation and would go back. I would recommend it for families, particularly if you get the villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have stayed at the Breezeway every year on my birthday for as long as I can remember...this year it was extra special because our favorite room, the Penthouse at Maria's has been freshly renovated. It is beautiful. So comfortable, clean, relaxing....they have the most beautiful properties in that area by far. Maria even gave me an awesome beach towel for my birthday! I absolutely love it there...the weather wasn't great, but it didn't matter...thank you Maria...see you next year!

Room Tip: Penthouse at Maria's
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you so much for having taken the time to post your positive comments about the Breezeway to TripAdvisor. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us once again this year and we look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Well let's start out with the fact that when we arrived at 3 our room wasn't ready it was just being cleaned. The room smelled very musty and the kitchenette had a very dirty sponge at the sink. The bathroom was very outdated and extremely small. There ur no peep hole in the door to look out to see who's at the door and there is no security bar or chain on the door. The first night we came back from the casino and there were no parking spots we spent fifteen minutes trying to figure out were to park, at 8pm there is no one in the office and it's locked. Half way through our trip we had to change too s cause there was a leak in the bathroom. Dirty brown water was dripping from two spots in the ceiling one spot was right in the middle of the light. When we brought it to there attention the they already new it was leaking. The man they sent to fix it was arguing with us that there was no leak. They moved us to a new room that was clear updated and very beautiful. The only problem was the fact that the people above us were so loud through out the night I couldn't sleep and stay asleep. I have to bang on the ceiling atleast twice. You could here every cream in there step and their tv. And there was nobody to call or complain to because the office was closed and nobody comes back till 7am. Nobody but two people spoke and understood clear English, and the pool was extremely cold.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Breezeway. The owners and staff sincerely strive to provide high quality accommodations and service to all our guests. The front office is open daily from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. without exception and a night guard is available to address guests' needs from 11 p.m. to 7 a.m. Should you consider a return visit to the Breezeway, please introduce yourself and we will make every attempt to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had a nice time and a newly renovated room was a bonus. The down side of this place is
as follows; One mirror only in the bathroom-really? Nit picking about beach towels. Lastly,
do breakfast right or don't do it at all. You could add some fruit, yogurt, waffles and a variety
of cereals. Little things like that mean alot.

Nice staff and Catania, you were the nicest!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of the Breezeway Resort. We appreciate your suggestions for providing our guests with a more enjoyable vacation and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was disgusting for 300 a night! I have photos about 50 flies, it was like a blue light hotel! The service was terrible ! The breakfast was old cereal, the pool was freezing ! John the owner was disrespectful and condescending ! I'd rather sleep on a tent!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for your review. Allow me to explain our side. We do not allow pets on our property. This guest brought their pit bull with them and snuck it into our guest room. When this guest was asked to leave they first denied they had a pet and then didn't vacate the room as requested. The police were called to expedite the departure and their money was refunded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breezeway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezeway Resort

Address: 70 Winnapaug Rd, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Misquamicut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Breezeway Hotel Westerly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breezeway Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.