We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of summer beach trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Misquamicut State Beach

Misquamicut State Beach
257 Atlantic Avenue, Westerly, RI, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891
(401) 596-9097
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Rhode Island's largest and most popular beach will be handicap accessible.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“End of summer beach trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The weather was cloudy but a little sunny. The ocean was very cold. Since it wasnt a nice day out. I went shopping in Westerly,RI and tried to find Talyor Swift.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    29
    11
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Latham, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Park at Sam's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a great beach. We park at Sam's. $20 for the day and they have showers, changing rooms, and a snack bar. Get there early though because the lot fills fast. It's only a few steps from the parking lot to the beach so you can go back and forth to your vehicle throughout the day. You don't have to haul everything with you in one trip. Wonderful, sandy beach and gental waves. Great for kids or adults. There is also a small water park across the road if you are looking for something besides just swimming and chilling at the beach. Not sure about the comments about it being rocky. Soft sand and a few shells and pebbles right at the water line.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice area to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a nice visit to the beach. Parked at Paddys to get use of their amenities. was$20 which was the same as the state parking last year. last year the waves were fantastic. This visit, not so great. there were thousands of small jellyfish throughout the beach and water. It got so bad late in the day we could feel it all around our ankles when we tried to go in. kids around had fun catching the larger ones that can sting but just wasn't enjoyable. Hopefully they will clear out soon. last year we went in early August and it was clear then. all in all a nice state beach.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The beach was crowded but clean. Get there early to avoid traffic and parking hassles. If you park at the public beach try to walk down to the Andrea or Paddies for good food and drinks. Check the traffic on Route 78 which can back up for a long time if you come later in the morning. There are many alternative routes that will get you around it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Probably the worst beach I've been to.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

28 dollars for out of state cars! That's all I need to say. It's pretty much criminal. You'd think after this price the showers would be free. No such luck!
the beach is quite rocky and hurts to walk barefoot.
The announcements are interpolatable and they list all the things you cannot do. They should list the things you can do cause that would be a much shorter list.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misquamicut State Beach also viewed

Westerly, South County
Misquamicut, Westerly
 
Watch Hill, Westerly
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Misquamicut State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misquamicut State Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Misquamicut State Beach to your Saves list