We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Middletown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Middletown to your Saves list
Ramada Middletown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 East Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Brookfield, CT
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

Recently we were required to travel to Newport, RI as our college aged daughter had been taken to the hospital quite unexpectedly. Not knowing about hotel locations or their proximity to the hospital, we blindly selected several hotels to call asking for immediate reservations. Many hotels were not helpful nor courteous on the telephone. Then, I telephoned the Royal Plaza Hotel in hopes of finding a room. Thankfully, the hotel had a room and we immediately reserved it.

We arrived at the hotel three hours later, emotionally exhausted and unsure what the next few days would bring. The front desk manager greeted us with a calm, reassuring demeanor and without our request and for no additional charges, upgraded our room to a king suite telling us that we might need the additional space and privacy. We were not sure how long we would be in Rhode Island nor did we know what the physical condition are daughter might be in, but this simple act was reassuring and allowed us to focus our attention on our daughter and not worry about our overnight accommodations.

Each day, the front staff manager waved us good by and good luck as we left the hotel for the hospital. And, each night, his smile and reassuring look of understanding greeted us as we returned to the hotel. Four days later, on the day of our daughter’s hospital release, the manager allowed us to stay slightly past the check-out hour so we could gather our daughter and she could shower and change before we left Rhode Island.

These kind actions by the front desk manager will never be forgotten and we are eternally grateful. In a time of great personal anxiety and stress, these simple gestures of kindness can not be underestimated. It was comforting to not have to worry about where we would rest at night or whether we could afford the cost of a hotel room while facing the extraordinary costs of an unexpected hospital stay. All the people we met as part of the Royal Plaza Hotel team – housekeeping as well as other administrative staff – were most gracious and helpful.

We were especially pleased with the convenience of location, cleaniness of the room, the absolute quiet (no TV noise from nearby rooms even though the hotel was filled), the complimentary breakfast each morning - plentiful and extensive, and the willingness to accommodate our every need. We travel extensively with our work and the Royal Plaza Hotel is by far one of the best hotels in which we have stayed. It is a gem of a hotel.

Our family will always be a loyal guest of the Royal Plaza Hotel and we will recommend the facility to our friends. The hotel brochure states that the Royal Plaza is “a luxurious hotel with…a blend of casual grace and homey comfort,” and indeed, that is just what we experienced. This hotel is exceptional, and should be visited by anyone wishing to stay at a popular tourist destination and who desires outstanding accommodations and personable service. The Royal Plaza is simply remarkable!

  • Liked — Helpfulness and kindnessof staff
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    83
    150
    134
    93
See reviews for
174
164
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

After reading all of the awful reviews on this site, I was scared to check in! Upon arrival, we were greeted at the desk by a very attentive staff. Our room was on the second floor (there are only 3 floors total) and the stairs were easy enough to navigate, even with luggage (nice and wide). I do think it should be posted that there is not an elevator on their website, but it wasn't a problem for us. Our room was quite large, newer color tv with remote, two large windows which let in abundant light. The linens seemed fine (but I always travel with my own!), air conditioning worked very well, and the bed was quite comfy! The bathroom, which had been recently painted, had a new shower curtain, and was very clean. True, no hairdryer, but plenty of hot water....both morning and evening! This hotel is definately not a four star hotel, but it more than adequate for the $ and convenience of being three miles from downtown Newport!

  • Liked — location, price
  • Disliked — not as upscale as it could be
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

The Royal Plaza Hotel has received numerous reviews of dislike. Why? This is a beautiful hotel with the perfect location. Many hotels in Newport are overpriced with inconsiderate staff members. This is not true at the Royal Plaza. The staff are courteous and professsional and the cleaning maids are kind and thorough with their work. No, this hotel does not have many useful ammenities such as a pool or elevator, but for the price, I would go back! Cut them some slack...

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — No Elevator
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

The front desk staff is the saving grace for this hotel. They are absolutely wonderful. It is rare to find a front desk staff so pleasant. They will do anything for you. I did not feel that this hotel was clean. The room had an odor and the sink was dirty and hair on the bathroom floor. The vanity was taped and couch was torn. Hard to adjust the air unit and it seemed to blow cold forceful air near the bed. The rugs and deor are very outdated.

  • Liked — Courteous front desk staff
  • Disliked — Outdated and did not appear to be clean
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

Stay away from this hotel! There was no hot water all weekend, no hair dryer, the hotel was dirty, and did I mention there was no elevator? For the price you can get better in Newport!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

Booked motel for 11 rooms upon reviews originally giving motel 3 1/2 stars...within 2 weeks of wedding, ratings had dropped to 1 1/2 stars.

Pros:

1) Good location to wedding site

2) Pleasant, attentive cleaning staff (for the rooms)...desk staff quite pleasant, also.

Cons:

1) Hot water only available first 15 minutes of the morning (around 0600 hours). After that, various degrees of cold...all visitors suffered this issue for two days.

2) Stairwells (have to use...no elevator...three stories) littered...walls beat up...in need of serious painting. Loose wires hanging from some of the more isolated walls...apparently left over from original video surveillance camera planning...no cameras.

3) Continental breakfast very minimal...did have toaster and old microwave for food warming.

4) "Free cuisine" at bar limited to two warmers with a) pasta with scant marinara sauce, and b) Mussels in marinara sauce. Restrooms outside of bar non-functional during entire stay.

5) Minor ammenities...motel steam iron with rusting water /steam (went a purchased an iron to use after ruining one shirt)...table top ironing board...quite well aged and stained from rust...blow dryers "upon request..." we brought our own...(and of course - no pool. - no great loss on that.)

Of interest, some review sites show the motel as having "Wireless Internet," which we frankly needed, in order to download last minute spreadsheets for the wedding reception. We were pretty surprised upon arrival when the lad in reception advised that no internet was available, any ANY form. Necessitated runs to Starbucks a couple of miles away to use internet to garner last minute data files.

As one reviewer noted...the walls are pretty thin, and non-accoustically insulated, so when a fight broke out in the hallway the last evening there, each person in that section of the motel was treated to a non-pay fight event for an hour or so...(our guest were not amused.)

Final touches included an auto parked in the "check-in" parking area, blocking customer's access...we were told that it was the manager's Mercedes, who wanted to keep it "out of the elements."

Finally, remember...no elevator...if you have members of your party with physical disabilities, make certain that you book them on the first floor, and try to garner a room near the front entrance of the building, since there is no other way into the building, and being roomed at the end of one of the hallways will ensure a long walk to and from transportation.

Since it was a holiday weekend, costs throughout the area were fairly extravagant, but $195 a nite for no hot water, great difficulty getting into rooms, and an atmosphere of the motel staff cutting corners on every delivery of their "product" was quite disappointing.

As always,

Caveat Emptor!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Almost every aspect...motel obviously running in the red...too many cheap cutting of corners
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

Ok here is the one pro of this property: Location- Just minutes from all of the beaches, mansions, shopping, all the fun of Newport RI.

Now for the cons
Cold shower that never warmed up no matter how long you ran the water.
Our room was never made up. I called the desk to ask why and was told "We do not make up your room if it looks like you do not want it to be made up"...Puzzling.
Long, and I mean LONG, dark hallways, full of mysterious smells. And no elevators.
Breakfast-great if you love to have jelly on fork. Had all of the things that go with breakfast, such as creamers, containers of jelly and cream cheese, all types of sugar and sugar substitutes-but very little to actually use these things on. Again, puzzling.
Stay only if you must, and even then only if you plan on being in you room only to sleep.

  • Liked — location, nice towel origami in bathroom
  • Disliked — smelly, dark, dated, cold showers, sucky breakfast, no elevator
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Middletown

Address: 425 East Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your next trip to New England, book a room at our Ramada Middletown hotel near Newport beach community and downtown shopping area. Our Middletown, RI, hotel is just minutes from exciting area attractions and sightseeing, making your stay with us fun and carefree. Our 132-room property offers guest laundry services, free parking for vehicles of any size and free Wi-Fi internet access. Handicapped-accessible rooms, non-smoking rooms and whirlpool suites are available at our hotel in Middletown, RI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Middletown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Middletown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.