We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, for the price paid I definitely did not think my...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Newport Area / Middletown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn - Newport Area / Middletown to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn - Newport Area / Middletown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   351 West Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6309   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    384
    75
    17
    10
See reviews for
381
279
35
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Highlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The room was standard, nothing fancy at all but it was clean. What was above average was the service at the hotel. The staff was very friendly, helpful and informative.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Newport Area / Middletown, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Cynthia,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, as we couldn't be happier to learn that our team was able to make your experience here so memorable. We are always excited to learn when we can exceed our guests' expectations and your positive and glowing remarks are truly appreciated. We hope we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Howard Johnson Inn in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed at a 5 star hotel in St Louis, MO the night before, and this was a better experience. Everyone was polite, the rooms were wonderful. The pool was the only off putting thing. Was setup nice, plenty of seating, and towels, however it was a little dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Newport Area / Middletown, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Jackie,

We are delighted that you found your way to the Howard Johnson Inn. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, as our entire staff is thrilled to have earned your five-star rating! I am sorry to read our pool disappointed you. I have shared your review with our chief engineer, so that he can ensure our pool is at its best for all of our guests. We hope if you return to our area you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I never expected a Howard Johnson to be so nice!!! The room was immaculate; it even smelled clean!! (I hate that musty smell that frequently hits you in the face when you walk into a hotel room.) The staff was friendly, helpful and attentive. My only complaint was that there was no vent or window in the bathroom, so hot showers were foggy experiences!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Newport Area / Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Newport Area / Middletown

Address: 351 West Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#4 Family Hotel in Middletown
#4 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Newport Area / Middletown 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness rm, business center, free HS Internet, Applebee's Restaurant attached, located 2 miles from downtown Newport, 1 mile from Newport Navy Base and corporate parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Newport Area / Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Newport Area / Middletown Hotel Middletown
Howard Johnson Middletown
Howard Johnson Newport Middletown
Middletown Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn - Newport Area / Middletown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.