We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rhea's Inn by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rhea's Inn by the Sea to your Saves list
Rhea's Inn by the Sea
42 Aquidneck Ave., Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Middletown B&B and Inns
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Rhea's is definitely a great find. We were in Newport for a wedding and didn't want to pay $$$$$$$$$ to stay at the Ocean Drive venue. This was a perfect alternative; reasonable price, convenient location to town, accommodating owner, breakfast included (bagels, cereal, yogurt, fruit, coffee, etc.), spacious and, most importantly, very clean rooms.The Inn is located right on a fairly busy street, but traffic noise was not a problem for us and you can just walk around the corner to the beach to get an ocean view. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We recently returned from spending four nights at Rhea's. The location is perfect: away from the crowds, yet close to the beach and the Cliffwalk. Some restaurants are nearby if you are too tired or have cranky children and don't want to go into Newport proper. The rooms were very clean, pleasantly cool and the breakfast was adequate. Most of all, the service and hospitality was excellent. The owners aim to please and you get the sense they take pride in their establishment. Rhea's is simple, but excellent! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have stayed here before and enjoy the great location near beaches and Newport. The rooms are very clean and the continental breakfast had many options to chose from including bread,bagels,muffins, English muffins, and assortment of cold cereals, yogurts, oatmeal, cereal bars, coffee, juice, and fruits- all that was missing was the eggs! Tony was very friendly and accomodating and was always available when and if we needed him. Our room, which was on the first floor, had its own entrance, was very roomy and had a king bed, a comfortable chair, and a huge bathroom. All this for a reasonable price. We will definitely book this place again the next time we are in the Middletown/Newport area!

Room Tip: They are all clean and beautifully kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east moriches
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Rhea's for only one night but I would definately recommend it to my friends and family. The rooms were very clean and comfortable but that's not what made the stay so great. What made the stay great is people like Tony who was there at check in and out and whenever else we needed anything. When we checked in my girlfriend asked if he has a certain type of coffee creamer that we love and without skipping a beat he asked exactly what kind we liked and it was there the following day for our morning coffee. When we wanted to go to the beach and realized we did not have beach towels or chairs Tony offered up his own chairs without reservation. Before we left Tony suggested that we take a tour of the mansions and back to town via Ocean drive and this capped a terrific stay. I've been in the restaurant and customer service business for 25 years and Tony and his family, who own a few businesses in the area definately know what customer service is all about.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were looking for a spot that was near the beach and close to Newport. The room was very clean and the options to choose from for breakfast was more then what we asked for. It is only steps from the beach, local bars, and restaurants. We will definitely book this place again when we return to Newport next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Rhea's was just what we wanted, a clean place to stay in the Newport area for a reasonable price. The property is a an old house made into a modern motel and was very clean and well maintained. Furniture, linens, carpeting all seemed almost new. There were lots of choices for a quick breakfast and nobody minded if some fruit and pastries went into a backpack for a mid-morning snack. When we wanted a big breakfast, there was a full service restaurant within walking distance. Our only complaint was the wi-fi didn't work very well, which might have been the result of our being on the second floor.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. The two rooms on the first floor are accessible by a ramp. Getting to the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is nothing fancy.. just a clean bed and bathroom across the street from the beach. It saves you the cost of parking the car at the beach (which is $20 on weekends). The breakfast was perfectly fine, and out all day for a quick snack.Air conditioning was so great, i was actually cold. The comfort Inn (2 doors down) has a shuttle for $8 per person all day to get to and from downtown without having to move the car. There is food and bars in walking distance.

Room Tip: Room #2 had easy access to and from the side door of the hotel, We basically didn't see or hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rhea's Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhea's Inn by the Sea

Address: 42 Aquidneck Ave., Middletown, RI 02842
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Rhea's Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhea`s Inn By The Sea Hotel Middletown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhea's Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.