We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantic Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Wave Ave, Middletown, RI 02842 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel itself was ok, but definitely needs a good renovation. The "complimentary" breakfast is nothing more than cold pancakes and some cereal. My main problem is I left my charger in the room, a small iPhone charger, and they want me to pay almost $10 to ship it to my home in NY. With the rates they charge, they should be able to ship the charger at little or no cost. They clearly aren't practicing good customer service. I absolutely love Newport, but I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    33
    16
    9
    11
See reviews for
27
26
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My family and I always go to Newport during the summer, but booked a hotel last minute this year and ended up here. We were welcomed my the smell of mothballs, armpit, and sour milk and we had to wait at the service desk for half an hour because there was knowone working at the front desk at the time. We were upgraded a room because of the wait. We stayed at a "suite" which when u walked in was at least 90 degrees and smelled really musty. The beds were clean, but the bathrooms still had bleach everywhere. The breakfast the next morning was disgusting! Flys we're all over the food, and after drinking a cup of orange juice there, 5 minutes later got really sick. We went out for the day, and we came to find that knowone had cleaned our room or made our beds, I was fine with that but we had no clean towels left. The next day we skipped the afull breakfast and went out for the while day again. We came back at 10:00 pm and we found the maid's kids in our room delivering new towels, and the maid sitting on our unmade beds. At that point we didn't spend the extra night and just went home. I am think about calling the board of Heath if this is not fixed. I also forgot to mention, the pool… DISGUSTING! It was coated with a layer of dust and the water was brown. I couldn't believe it. I'm never going back to this place ever again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

great location to the beach, clean, friendly staff. Stayed in a private beach cottage with a complete kitchen. Delightful sunset dinners on our deck overlooking the water/pond. They own the property across the street w/access to the pool and breakfast

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We got to Newport and had a problem at our other hotel, we had to quickly scramble and find an opening for the following night and this is how we happened upon the hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean but need updating. The hotel does not have a pool on site but offered access at a sister hotel across the street. The exercise room was very small and the door opened up onto the hall. We walked out of our room and our teens were started giggling due to a loud noises coming from the hall and were happy to discover it was a exercise machine in use. The hotel provides 10% off at the Atlantic Beach Club restaurant and access to a private beach. We went for dinner an while it was pricey, it was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was the closest hotel to the attractions in Newport that didn't cost a fortune. The rooms are huge with a nice view of the water. Very clean and the front desk is nice. The set up is a little confusing, check in on the second floor and ice machine on third, etc. But not at all a problem. Nice little breakfast in the morning. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Last minute plans for a quick overnight in Newport, where do you stay ?
Nothing "downtown" Newport for less than $350 ish,, plus parking.
Found this online w/ mixed reviews. $150 a night for a suite w/ 2 King size beds, free parking (and free beach parking) walk to Beach and cliff walk. Had miner issues but nothing we could not work w/. Plus can use Pool next door at Comfort Inn. Well worth it !!!... I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked a group of rooms for a wedding 1 year in advance. We specifically booked the honeymoon suite for the bride to get ready for the wedding and for the bride and groom to stay in on their wedding night. The morning that the bride went to check in she was told that a guest had extended their stay and as a result the honeymoon suite was not available. Having reserved the suite 1 year in advance they told her she could not have it the day before the wedding.

When other wedding guests arrived to check in they were informed that the hotel was over booked (even though they made reservations a year ago). Guest who did stay at this hotel had charges for using the safe added to their charges even though they didn't use it. Finally the housekeeping service consisted of replacing the used towels but not making up the bed.

If you plan to go to Newport do not count on this hotel for anything including your reservation. If you are planning a wedding do not use this property.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Beach Hotel

Address: 34 Wave Ave, Middletown, RI 02842 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantic Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Atlantic Beach Hotel
Quality Inn Middletown
Middletown Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.