We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Newport / Middletown

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Newport / Middletown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in Middletown
Princeton, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We went to this area for my son's graduation at the Newport Navy Station in January. Never had been to the New England area before and didn't know what to expect, especially in January! The Residence Inn was absolutely wonderful! Home away from home! Lots of conveniences. We stayed in a double suite which was just perfect. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen, living room...warm and homey! Loved it!! It snowed one night and our windows on our car had been cleaned off! Wow! How wonderful was that! Cannot say enough about this place...if we ever return to the beautiful area, we will definitely stay there!

Room Tip: I can't imaine any of the rooms being not as good as the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    67
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
65
6
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I arrived today to celebrate our anniversary-having celebrated for the past four years in Middletown/Newport RI. When we arrived we were greeted very nicely and as we were walking away we heard a "Happy Anniversary" from one of the lobby receptionists. How thoughtful. As we arrived in our room we noticed a card and a vase of flowers. The card was a Happy Anniversary card hand signed by many of the staff including the kitchen! You can get a clean room, reasonably priced with many amenities but to add personal thoughtful touches takes this hotel and its staff to a much higher level. I traditionally wait to write a review but felt this review should not wait. Our room was as always clean and ready. Pool area and gym great. Cookies to greet us as we arrived from dinner-nice! The person who greeted us was friendly and the night desk person was friendly and funny! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. It is close to Newport without the high price, close to nice restaurants and tomorrow we will have a great complimentary breakfast. Beautiful scenery! If you are looking for a great place to stay when visiting Newport-stay at the Residence Inn!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed in a one bedroom with spouse and daughter and we had plenty of room. Kitchen was nice and well-equipped. We never had to drive far to get to any parts of town from this hotel, whether the beach or downtown or otherwise around town. We enjoyed the food they served (really enough for a meal) during certain evenings and didn't expect that, especially for free. Breakfast was good although hard boiled eggs would have put it over the top. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Jeff_Miller, Manager at Residence Inn Newport / Middletown, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear DS: Thank you for staying with us. We hear your comments and added hard boiled eggs to our breakfast on a trial basis about a month ago. The feedback has been very positive so we will continue to offer them. We look forward to your return. Sincerely, Jeff Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Enjoyed a two bedroom suite for one night over the winter school break. My three daughters and their friend had plenty of space to spread out. Typical Residence Inn with excellent breakfast. Close driving distance to downtown Newport and the Mansions. If visiting in the summer they have an outside patio with BBQ and basketball court.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Checked into this hotel late...treated well by the front desk manager...large room with poor heating and the room was actually still cold in the morning...huge parking lot...excellent breakfast...had to call about six times to their techincal support because neither the wired or wireless internet worked...really what you want in a hotel is a clean warm room, good bed, and hot shower in the morning...so why did we not have any heat and when did it become my problem to fix their internet...THIS IS MY LAST RESIDENCE INN EXPERIENCE!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Jeff_Miller, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport / Middletown, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to speak with me on the phone about your stay. I am sorry that the internet was not working and that your room was cold. As discussed it took over 90 minutes to get the wifi restored and you mentioned that the room never warmed up for you. I apologize that your stay was not satisfactory and after discussing it with you have processed a refund. I hope you will stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Rhode Island. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great experience. Sincerely, Jeff Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Plenty of room in the king one bedroom room. There was a kitchenette in the room that was a nice addition. The hotel contains a good sized pool as well as a hot tub. It takes a short amount of time to reach Newport from the hotel, approximately 5 minutes, and the same if you are heading to 2nd beach in Middletown. The hotel is basically located in a strip mall, which is not great, but there was a food store which was convenient. Very good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel provides very clean spacious rooms with quality furniture, comfortable beds and a kitchenette. Pool, fitness center and business center are pretty nice. Most residence inn hotels are build cheap with really thin walls and ceilings, therefore it is best to ask for a top floor room. The hotel was pretty full during my stay because of a kids hockey tournament and hoards of kids were everywhere without any supervision. Not what I expected in a business oriented long term stay hotel, but my stay was okay anyway. I have kids myself, but they do not vandalize by blocking elevator doors with objects etc...I will come back, but probably ask first if there is anything special going on.

Room Tip: Top floor corner rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Newport, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport / Middletown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for writing in regards to your most recent stay at the Residence Inn. I am sorry that your stay coincided with that of a local hockey tournament, resulting in lots of kids at the hotel. I can certainly understand that your stay was impacted as a result. We look forward to your return and are happy to provide you with information about unusual activities that may affect a future stay. As you mentioned, we are a business oriented extended stay hotel but during the holidays we typically see fewer corporate guests and more guests traveling with families. Thanks for the awesome cleanliness rating!! Sincerely, Jeff Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Newport / Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Newport / Middletown

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Newport / Middletown Hotel Middletown
Residence Inn Newport / Middletown Hotel
Residence Inn Middletown
Residence Inn Newport
Middletown Residence Inn
Address: 325 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Middletown
#4 Family Hotel in Middletown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Newport / Middletown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport County's newest hotel featuring 97 spacious suites, each with full kitchen and separate areas for sleeping, eating, working and relaxing. Enjoy the indoor pool, whirlpool, sport court, business center, guest laundry and all the comforts of home including free HS internet, complimentary hot breakfast buffet and social hour Monday, Tuesday & Thursday evenings. Beer & wine bar. Just 2 miles from the scenic attractions of Newport, yet nearby to the Navy Base and Corporate Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Newport / Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Newport / Middletown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Newport / Middletown to your Saves list