We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, great staff, great amenities, great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Newport / Middletown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Newport / Middletown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Newport / Middletown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great rooms, great staff, great amenities, great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My stay here was the best extended stay experience I have ever experienced at a hotel. I was here during Hurricane Sandy and despite the power going out, the staff was concerned about making their guests comfortable. They still provided a warm meal, complimentary drink tickets, and great attitudes. They provided glow sticks, but had staff guide guests to their rooms with flashlights. One maintenance worker even let me borrow his own spare flashlight for the evening. The food each morning was fresh and delicious. There was so much variety and I tried everything during my stay. The cook for the evening socials was skilled and provided tasty meals. She informed us she is a vegetarian who cooks meat by smell, but she made pulled pork comparable to restaurant quality.

My excellent experience with the Newport Middletown Residence Inn influenced me to book my current business trip with a Residence Inn near Richmond, VA. Unfortunately, their standards are not the same as the Newport hotel. Newport Middletown Residence Inn sets the bar.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    84
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
94
82
7
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Mt
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights while attending a conference on Goat Island. Although the hotel shuttle only operated scheduled service to the harbor in the evenings, the city bus was conveniently located about one block away. The immediate area around the hotel seemed very safe, including for walking. Hotel staff were very friendly and in addition to a decent breakfast (except for only one working waffle maker), the evening meals were very good. The room and hotel were very clean. The business center contained two free computers, but connection speeds were very slow. I rate this hotel a 4 instead of a 5 due to the limited schedule / destination of the shuttle and the fact that the hotel's location is a couple miles from downtown Newport area.I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms would be quiet since off from any roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My daughter and I recently returned from a three night stay. In general, I am an avid Marriott fan, but this Residence Inn was particularly impressive! The hotel is relatively new and is beautifully decorated and spotless.

Check in was quick and efficient. The staff members were warm, welcoming and very helpful. A variety of delicious cookies were available at the desk upon arrival.

The evening receptions were especially nice. On Monday, a complete dinner with manicotti, salad, soup, etc. was served. On Tuesday, I was told that only appetizers were to be offered. These "appetizers" consisted of gourmet cheeses, caesar salad, clam chowder, fresh fruit, various desserts.... I was really impressed by the selection. A full bar is also available.

Housekeeping was especially attentive and honored my request for service later in the afternoon. They even checked to see if the service was acceptable. Housekeeping even paid attention to small details such as leaving extra popcorn in the room each day. My daughter was pleased!

The pool, although somewhat small was warm and very enjoyable and the hot tub was the perfect temperature for relaxing.

After only three days, I am completely relaxed and rejuvenated. Thank you Middletown Residence Inn staff!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergenfield, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our 20th anniversary 10/18-10/20, and other than getting a 2nd floor room that was on level with a first floor roof, so that we had a view of back roof and air conditioning units, it's a great place to stay.
We had a 1 bedroom suite, nicely decorated, comfortable furniture, and staff is very nice and friendly.
Breakfast was good and plentiful. The whole hotel seems fresh and clean and welcoming.
Oh, one other thing, they have nice flat screen TVs, but no HD channels, so that could be upgraded.
I recommend this Residence Inn,stay here- you won't be disappointed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
npt_traveler, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport / Middletown, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Vicki L.,
I hope you enjoyed a nice getaway for your 20th anniversary. I am sorry we didn't select a room with a better view for you, especially for such a special occasion. Thanks for the nice comments about the hot breakfast buffet and the hotel cleanliness. As you noticed we have flat screens in every room and I hope HD is not too far away. Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

A good alternative to the more expensive Newport hotels, plus the suites are very roomy. This is a well maintained location. Housekeeping was very accommodating to our schedule. The location is pretty close to the Newport tourist attractions too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
npt_traveler, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport / Middletown, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for the recommendation. Extra space for less money makes a big difference compared to Newport locations. Our houskeepers appreciate the recognition that you gave them. Thank You. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We only stayed here one night, but it was nice. The rooms were spacious and clean. The only bad thing I can say about it is the location. It was tucked away behind other hotels and a shopping center-it was hard to see from the street. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
npt_traveler, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport / Middletown, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are pleased that you had a nice stay. As you mentioned our location is set back from the street overlooking the Valley & an easy walk to the Christmas Tree Shop. A little harder to find but worth the search! Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in September. Arrived mid-morning and was delighted that room was already available. Breakfast includes cold cereal, hot oatmeal, waffles and different 4 hot items each day such as scrambled eggs, hash, potatoes, bacon, breakfast burritos. We were never there for the evening manager's reception. Everyone was very pleasant - front desk, breakfast staff, housekeeping. When we inquired about cookie earlier than the manager's reception, one manager offered to see if any were ready (we declined), another time the desk person retrieved a plate of cookies. A reported bathroom problem was fixed during the day it was reported. Location only 10 minutes from Newport. Very convenient. I can see where parking might be a challenge during peak season and staying right in Newport would be more convenient.

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor with no noise complaints. There are 2 elevators: one in front lobby that'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
npt_traveler, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport / Middletown, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, including the breakfast and daily fresh baked cookies! Our shuttle provides an easy & affordable option for getting downtown if you decide to return in the peak season. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn Newport / Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Newport / Middletown

Address: 325 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Middletown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#4 Family Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Newport / Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport County's newest hotel featuring 97 spacious suites, each with full kitchen and separate areas for sleeping, eating, working and relaxing. Enjoy the indoor pool, whirlpool, sport court, business center, guest laundry and all the comforts of home including free HS internet, complimentary hot breakfast buffet and social hour Monday, Tuesday & Thursday evenings. Beer & wine bar. Just 2 miles from the scenic attractions of Newport, yet nearby to the Navy Base and Corporate Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Newport / Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Newport / Middletown Hotel Middletown
Residence Inn Middletown
Middletown Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Newport / Middletown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.