We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's nice being near the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Middletown

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Middletown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Middletown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Aquidneck Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Stanwich, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's nice being near the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We go to Newport every June and usually stay at one of the historic B&Bs, but this time I wanted to try something different. So we booked at the Comfort Inn for $130 a night, much less expensive than the B&Bs. It is only 2 miles from all the touristas on Thames Street, so you can walk into town if you want, but it is right across from a beautiful beach. There are several restaurants within walking distance including the notorious Flo's Clam Shack.

We were (un)fortunate enough to get room 128 which opens directly into the lobby and the indoor pool. It was not noisy at all, except for some truck traffic on the street. The beds were incredibly comfortable and lots of pillows, a funny plastic blanket, but who cares.

There is free WiFi, but like most places we have stayed at recently, it is not good enough to watch Netflix on your iPad or remote access you office computer, so it's a good idea to bring your own hotspot, which we always do now.

Room Tip: Room 128 is "in the lobby" :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    51
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
40
57
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The accomondations were very comfortable and a great location to tour the mansions and the city of New Port RI we were there three nights and had a wonderful time on our visit. It has a pool and laundry facilaties available.
I

Room Tip: ask for a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week for a wedding at the beach . Staff was friendly and accommodating . Breakfast was what would be expected for continental breakfast with room. Right across the street from beach and wedding venue. Short walk to the cliff walk and not too far from the town of Newport . We had a nice stay .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

this hotel is very nice and the location is good . there are plenty of eating places around it also .the staff was very pleasant and helpful .nice pool area and the front of the hotel has ocean views .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here June 4th for a wedding which was held at Easton beach. Our room had a comfy king bed, the bathroom was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was a normal continental. Front desk Natalie was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed here on a very quiet night before the beginning of the season, so all was well as far as noise was concerned but the lake view was only a glimpse! Very competitive price but the tariff rises steeply for a weekend night. Front Desk staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about sights to see and things to so. The indoor pool was coolish but the warm environment more than made up for that. Complimentary tea and coffee in the lobby and a newspaper in the morning were nice touches. The beds were comfy and pillows soft - the room itself was clean and nicely decorated. The location was superb - right opposite the Atlantic Beach Club and a few more steps to the beach.

One minus: the curtain didn't quite cover all of the window - who knows why not! The other minus is that the only entrance is from the car park up in the lift to the lobby, past the laundry - this could do with some creative ideas to make it more welcoming as it is a bit off putting. Lovely continental breakfast included in the price was a welcome bonus. We were very glad that we booked this hotel and will highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean not lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We've stayed here in previous years and always book it ahead because it is a popular choice for wedding parties and people in general. The location is perfect for us because it is right across the street from the beach and the beach is right next to the cliff walk. My husband is a runner so he loves it. The breakfast is nice, the staff is friendly. One thing we learned this year is that all rooms are not created equal. We had booked 5 nights several weeks ahead. When we arrived we were told that they had a large wedding party in the hotel and that the hotel was completely full. They said that the room they were giving us was the only room they had for the night, but they would be happy to change us the following day. The room we got that night was a handicap equipped room on the 3rd floor. This means a larger bathroom, but smaller bedroom area. The room had no fridge or microwave, the heater was noisy, the toilet seat was round while the toilet was oblong so it didn't fit and there was no lid. The wireless internet was non existent, and at 6:30am there was a lot of traffic noise from the street. They were very apologetic and gave us a front corner room for the remainder of our stay. There was a nice view of the beach, but you need to be aware that the view rooms are near the road so there was still traffic noise between 6:30 and 7:30 in the morning. We hate to be complainers and since they obviously thought they were giving us a really nice room we stayed in it. I wore ear plugs, my husband just put up with it. This room was on the 2nd floor so was supposed to have better wireless internet connection, but it didn't. Most of the time the internet we got belonged to "Tickets" the restaurant across the street, which they also own. It was incredibly slow and undependable. There was good reception in the lobby and if you had a wire connection the service (so we were told) was good. That said we would definitely stay here again, it's a nice place with a good location. Ask for a room near the back if you want it quieter or take ear plugs along, and if you want a fridge/microwave be sure to request it when you reserve your room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Middletown

Address: 28 Aquidneck Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Middletown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Middletown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.