We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here for a wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Middletown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Middletown to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Middletown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Aquidneck Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Willington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Here for a wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here June 4th for a wedding which was held at Easton beach. Our room had a comfy king bed, the bathroom was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was a normal continental. Front desk Natalie was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    58
    34
    9
    3
See reviews for
43
65
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed here on a very quiet night before the beginning of the season, so all was well as far as noise was concerned but the lake view was only a glimpse! Very competitive price but the tariff rises steeply for a weekend night. Front Desk staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about sights to see and things to so. The indoor pool was coolish but the warm environment more than made up for that. Complimentary tea and coffee in the lobby and a newspaper in the morning were nice touches. The beds were comfy and pillows soft - the room itself was clean and nicely decorated. The location was superb - right opposite the Atlantic Beach Club and a few more steps to the beach.

One minus: the curtain didn't quite cover all of the window - who knows why not! The other minus is that the only entrance is from the car park up in the lift to the lobby, past the laundry - this could do with some creative ideas to make it more welcoming as it is a bit off putting. Lovely continental breakfast included in the price was a welcome bonus. We were very glad that we booked this hotel and will highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean not lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
387 helpful votes 387 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We've stayed here in previous years and always book it ahead because it is a popular choice for wedding parties and people in general. The location is perfect for us because it is right across the street from the beach and the beach is right next to the cliff walk. My husband is a runner so he loves it. The breakfast is nice, the staff is friendly. One thing we learned this year is that all rooms are not created equal. We had booked 5 nights several weeks ahead. When we arrived we were told that they had a large wedding party in the hotel and that the hotel was completely full. They said that the room they were giving us was the only room they had for the night, but they would be happy to change us the following day. The room we got that night was a handicap equipped room on the 3rd floor. This means a larger bathroom, but smaller bedroom area. The room had no fridge or microwave, the heater was noisy, the toilet seat was round while the toilet was oblong so it didn't fit and there was no lid. The wireless internet was non existent, and at 6:30am there was a lot of traffic noise from the street. They were very apologetic and gave us a front corner room for the remainder of our stay. There was a nice view of the beach, but you need to be aware that the view rooms are near the road so there was still traffic noise between 6:30 and 7:30 in the morning. We hate to be complainers and since they obviously thought they were giving us a really nice room we stayed in it. I wore ear plugs, my husband just put up with it. This room was on the 2nd floor so was supposed to have better wireless internet connection, but it didn't. Most of the time the internet we got belonged to "Tickets" the restaurant across the street, which they also own. It was incredibly slow and undependable. There was good reception in the lobby and if you had a wire connection the service (so we were told) was good. That said we would definitely stay here again, it's a nice place with a good location. Ask for a room near the back if you want it quieter or take ear plugs along, and if you want a fridge/microwave be sure to request it when you reserve your room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a great place to stay in the off season as the prices are much better. The location is excellent as it's across the street from the beach and it's a short distance to the Cliff Walk. There are several places to eat within a short walk. The rooms are large and some have water views. Furnishings are typical for a Comfort Inn.

As others have said the breakfast room is way too small, and breakfast was sub-par even for a Comfort Inn. There were no hot options and cereal and bread options were limited. On the day I stayed there was no coffee creamer. How does that happen?

Room Tip: A great indoor pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concord
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at the Comfort Inn and found it very pleasant. The off season price was good, the room large and clean, the bathroom roomy and the shower nice, and location convenient. However, the breakfast room is way too small and uncomfortable to even go in for just coffee and the internet service was constantly not working.
The restaurant across the street on the ocean was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

There isn't a whole lot special about this Comfort Inn. It met every expectation I had of the brand. What was nice is that it is across from Easton's Beach and restaurants and Cliff Walk are within walking distance. Breakfast is included but it is nothing special. Also, the breakfast room is really small and crowded. We stayed over the long Thanksgiving weekend. I'm sure the breakfast room is almost unbearable at the height of tourist season. For the price we paid, I have no complaints (especially when comparing it to the similarly priced Best Western which I believe is run by the same company) and I would definitely stay here again when going to Newport (outside of price gouging season!).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I booked the Comfort Inn in Middletown to extend my weekend in Newport. I had very low expectations since I paid $55 for the room off of a Groupon deal. I was amazed by the cleanliness, size of the bathroom, and the hotel amenities. For the Groupon deal, it was amazing! I had an ocean view room and was in walking distance of the Atlantic Beach Club and the beach. Overall a fantastic stay! I will admit though, I would not pay the full price for the hotel during season when the prices sky rocket into the $200's. It was a nice stay, but not worth that high of a price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Middletown

Address: 28 Aquidneck Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Middletown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.