We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Middletown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Middletown to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Middletown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Aquidneck Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Perkasie, PA
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights while attending my son's graduation festivities from the Naval Academy Prep School.

It is about a 5-10 min ride over to the Naval Base so it is a good location. It is right on the beach, indoor pool looked very nice and clean although none of us used it.

The breakfast was good, typical Choice Hotels breakfast with waffle maker and numerous danish, bagels, sausage and eggs.

There are several restaurants within walking distance.

If we return to this area, we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    62
    40
    12
    4
See reviews for
49
69
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nanuet, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

While other reviews call this place dated, I didn't mind it a bit. The room was very spacious and clean, and while our room was not called an ocean view room, I could see some of it from the window. As mentioned before, the bathroom is quite large, plenty of room to move about. While no rubber bath mat was provided, the tub bottom is flat enough to not require it. I did have some problem with the tub draining fast enough, mentioned it at the desk on the way out.

Inquiry on in-season rates revealed some lofty prices, and while I might not feel like spending that kind of money for this room, I felt that we got a very good deal (under $80 with tax) for this room. Breakfast was so-so, but with the dining options available in the immediate vicinity, you won't care.

The bed was firm, not one of the pillow-tops that I've become accustomed to. It did provide a good night's sleep. I prefer a cooler room at night, and with the windows open, a fair amount of traffic noise came through on the street side of the property. I figured out how to use the A/C unit to blow in some fresh air, and provide a source of "white noise" that makes it easier to sleep. The room came with a mini-refrigerator that needed to be turned on to function, I guess they don't want to waste electricity on it when it's not likely to be used. Good thing my Narragansett Bock was already cold!

Room Tip: Probably less road noise away from the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a very pleasurable weekend in Newport and the Comfort Inn was surprisingly all we could ask for. The king bed room was spacious and the bathroom was very large, more so than some 4 and 5 star hotels. The bed was comfortable. We had an ocean view which was nice. The staff was very friendly and the free breakfast was an added pleasure. The hotel is in walking distance to several restaurants and the cliff walk. We could not have asked for anything more.!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
27 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The inn is located on Aquidneck Avenue which is a busy street. Rooms at the front will hear road noise (room 120 at the end of the hall). We traveled in the off-season so the noise would probably be multiplied during summer. This is a built up area with multiple establishments in close proximity. There is a liquor/convenience and a couple of restaurants across the street.

The room stated an ocean view which was true only if you got close to the window and looked to the right. Perhaps rooms on the upper floors had a more unobstructed view. There is a bar behind the hotel which has relatively late hours. Noise could be heard at closing time.

Easton's beach is a 1/4 to 1/2 mile walk and the Cliff Walk is approximately a 1 mile walk from the hotel.

The room and bathroom were spotless. Cable television with a wide variety of channels is available. The bed was VERY uncomfortable. It was like sleeping on a board.
At the time of our visit the pool had been drained. We were not informed of this prior to arrival.
A complimentary continental breakfast is available. It consisted of cereals, make your own waffles, eggs, meat, juices, coffee, milk, bread, pastries, etc. Not gourment but filling.

The inn is a short drive to downtown Newport.

The staff was did their job.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is right across from a sandy beach with a view of Newport's Cliff Walk. Our room was not fancy but was comfortable with a view. What more could one ask for?

We were in Newport when the first winter snow storm or the season arrived. After attending a play at the Art Museum we headed back to the hotel and were able to park under it thus saving me from having to clear snow and ice the next morning. We walked across the street to the restaurant and our room key allowed for a 10% discount.

The staff were all friendly and helpful right down to the person in the breakfast room. He kept everything neat and stocked for the more than adequate breakfast offerings which included the usual... plus sausage links and scrambled eggs and make your own waffles.

The one drawback is the downtown/harbor area is not really walkable. But for what we did it was great as there was parking available (free) at all the places we wanted to go.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view but know that a very busy street is between you and the beach. The other side ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is right across the street from the beach, and is within walking distance to several restaurants. Newport and the Cliff Walk are probably about a mile away. We found the rooms to be clean, and we even had a nice view of the ocean from our room's window. The breakfast was good, also.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Rooms 121 and 123 might have been the only rooms affected by late night music from the bar next to the hotel on the Thursday and Friday nights we stayed there, but I doubt it. However, the mixture of karaoke and bands playing loudly up to 1 o'clock in the morning was a minor irritant when compared to the excellent room and facilities offered , certainly the best of the 3 Comfort Inns we visited when touring Rhode Island and Cape Cod. Immaculately clean and ideally situated close to the beach and within easy reach of Newport (the Inn provides an on demand shuttle service for $8 pp) and good adjacent restaurants (Mo's clam shack and Tickets Bar & Grill both excellent) and at reasonable cost. That said, the only issue we had was a lack of clarity over the price for the Friday night which, when taken up with Reception on the morning of departure, was very quickly resolved. All in all a very good experience well worth repeating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Middletown

Address: 28 Aquidneck Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Middletown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.