We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Middletown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Middletown to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Middletown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Aquidneck Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
374 helpful votes 374 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Very nice - large room and bathroom, good lighting, quiet heat, good location, free wi-fi, no road noise, very helpful staff. This motel is very close to the water and is set up differently than the "norm". Ground level is the parking area. You have to take an elevator to check in on the "1st" floor. This not only saves space, but also protects the motel in case of high surf. The breakfast is served on the "2nd" floor. It wasn't the best free breakfast we've had, but it wasn't the worst either. They had waffles, hard cooked eggs, muffins, sweet rolls, and instant oatmeal. There was no yogurt, and the cold cereal selection was Cheerios and Fruit Loops. Our only problem there was the luggage carts. They were huge...so large that you really had to work to get them to fit into the elevator.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    54
    34
    9
    3
See reviews for
42
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Windsor, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I did a lot of research on this hotel prior to booking, and I was pleasantly surprised. I think people under-rated this hotel! It was fantastic. The location was great. We were right on the water and could see the ocean from our hotel room. Our first night, after a long day of driving, we were able to walk across the street for a drink and an appetizer, and later to another nearby restaurant for dinner. Staff was very friendly.
I would imagine that during the summer months, the halls are filled with the pitter patter of childrens' footsteps. Our last two nights, it got a little growded in the hotel, and there were some children running up and down the halls. That being said, it seemed like they tried to keep all the children on one floor for the most part, and the couples on their own. However, I'm sure at some point that becomes difficult, and that's what we ran into.
Great location, just a few minute drive to mansions, restaurants, and shopping in downtown Newport. Highly recommended for a great experience without a huge pricetag. If we make it back to Newport, we'd love to stay in the same hotel- and maybe even the same room!!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Newport for a weekend get away with 2 other couples. Our 4th floor room was bright, clean, and offered great water views. Most important, the service at the front desk - thanks to Randa - was impeccable. She was cheerful and extremely helpful, ensuring our stay went smoothly. We also enjoyed the pool, but would have liked the water to be a tad bit warmer. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khallgring, General Manager at Comfort Inn Middletown, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
Thank you for choosing Comfort Inn at Atlantic Beach for your Newport RI visit. We appreciate the trust you have placed in us. I agree with your kudos regarding Randa, she is a valuable team member and is also a joy to work with! It will be my pleasure to pass along your compliments. I will be glad to take a look at the pool temp, we usually keep it at 80 degrees, but that can be a bit chilly in the winter. We look forward to welcoming you back again,
Warm regards,
Kathy Hallgring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

I went to college in Newport and go back often, so I know how pricey hotels there can be. The Comfort Inn offered a reasonable price (especially with my teacher discount) and the location is great for summer, right across from First Beach (Easton's Beach). It is an $8 cab fare from downtown. The staff checked us in and out quickly, and the rooms were clean. The beds are full beds, not doubles as advertised. My one complaint would be the door to our room was literally in the lobby and right across from the pool. I feel like when the hotel is busy this would be a big negative, but on reservations you can make requests and this would be one of mine if I stayed there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khallgring, General Manager at Comfort Inn Middletown, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thank you for being our guest PinkOrchid! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Please be sure to request a higher floor on your next visit. We are very successful in honoring our guest's special requests. You are correct, the pool is very popular, especially with our youngest guests, and they just love being right across the hall.
Don't forget to ask for your state employee's discount- (we love teachers and all state and municipal workers)- thanks for your service! Hope to see you again and often,
Warm Regards,
Kathy
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

it was very disappointing to see black mold CAKED on three different places on the shower wall.. this is impossible if you clean everyday. The bedding was not up to par either. have stayed here before and loved it! the location is great and the front desk staff was wonderful. nice to have free breakfast and the beach and restaurants across the street. this was my favorite hotel when outside newport do not know if I will return

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

This hotel is situated at the eastern end of Eastons Beach which is an excellent location for strolling to Newport's Cliff Walk and Mansions. The area is fairly quiet and there are a handful of restaurants and bars which were very quiet, including the famous Flo's Clam Shack right next door. Out of season, Flo's is only open Thursday to Sunday, should you wish to visit then. The hotel breakfast is adequate with cereals, baked goods, hot waffles, fresh fruit and juice but it is only served from 7 am, which we found a bit late. Staff were courteous and helpful although the breakfast lady showed some undue irritation when we tried the locked breakfast door slightly before 7 am. There is a computer in the lobby but we couldn't get an internet connection as this had been lost the previous night during a rain storm.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morin-Heights
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

The hotel has a great location, right accross the road from Easton Beach (1st beach), with free parking. It`s in Middletown, but inches away from the Newport city line, not like most of the Middletown hotels that are much further north, in a more commercial district. I think it's the best value in Newport. Minutes away from Cliff Walk.
The rooms are quite large, although without a refrigerator, which I think, is pretty standard. The bathrooms are large as well and pretty new. There is an indoor pool which is a nice bonus (especially for the rainy days, which we had plenty of!).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Middletown

Address: 28 Aquidneck Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Middletown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.