We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Miantonomi Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Pawtucket, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

After reading good reviews online my husband and I were thrilled to book a room at The Carriage Inn after attending a wedding at the ABC club.When we finally got to our room (for the first time) to shower we saw numerous hairs all over the walls and floor of the shower.That set our moods back quite a bit knowing our room was not properly cleaned prior to us being given it.We then found two dead mosquitoes that someone had squished and not cleaned on the night stand and ivory curtain.Also, on floor on side of bed a very crusty,extremely old chunk of muffin or pastry. I was extremely grossed out and disappointed. The room smelled very old and musty. The most important part of a guests stay is ensuring cleanliness to make them feel comfortable. The entire short stay I felt as if nothing in that room were clean and I was very uncomfortable. After paying $115 for the night I expected to at least receive a clean room. Unfortunately, I would definitely reconsider ever returning to this hotel in the future for events we attend in Newport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    39
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
24
53
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The reception, lobby and breakfast area are decorated like a colonial "inn"--like a grand house, and the feeling is much more like a B&B or inn than it is a chain hotel. The manager was interesting to talk to, breakfast was adequate, our room was large and the bathroom was huge. I really liked the upscale atmosphere. It's just a quick 5 minute drive around the lake to the Cliffwalk area and the start of Bellevue Ave where the mansions are. But you definitely need a car. It's located in more of a residential area with no shops or anything pedestrian friendly nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I almost cancelled our reservation when i read previous reviews but i'm glad i didn't. This is a lovely Victorian Inn a few miles from Newport; classy, clean and quiet. We had a very spacious room on the 3rd floor away from the elevator, which I had requested. Wayne was at the desk every day,gave us good directions, very helpful. Very ample continental breakfast;can eat inside or on the porch. Drinks and fresh fruit all day. Would definitely stay here again..

Room Tip: Elevator goes up to 2nd floor so must be able to climb 15 steps to large 3rd floor rooms but well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The MOST comfortable bed EVER!! I slept like a dog, the room exceeded expectations in every way: Huge high ceiling, nice decor, quiet, convenient to Newport and all of Aquidneck, easy to find. Way better than a chain hotel.
The breakfast might have been the only weak point, get down there early, some people like to hog a table and sit and visit when they should finish and get a move on. Don't miss the lovely deck out back or you can take your breakfast on a tray back up to your room. Great selection, but I get the feeling people also take advantage of the juice in bottles and pocket more than they need. It's not an open pantry, people...
Very convenient to laundry, restaurants, ice cream (Becky's and Newport Creamery - WOW).

Room Tip: Second floor above the entrance, just perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed just one night after a long day viewing mansions in Newport. It was nice to get out of the busy Newport area. Older building but well kept. Room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Nice complimentary breakfast. Friendly staff.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

it was a friday before lunch time and we had to wander down the hallway to find someone to check us in. we booked on Orbitz and they had all the details but he took great pains to get us to repeat our details and typed it in with 1 finger as slowly as possible. it took us 15 minutes to check in. not a smile , thank you or hello the whole time. there were 2 other couples loitering waiting. this was slow season. god help him when it is the summer.

i don't care if you have 1 star or 2, put a person at the front desk who has clean clothes and does not look tortured. we got the corner suite and it was sad. never seen carpet laid so poorly. the sofa had seen it's days too. it sloped forward big time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We loved this place, it used to be a nursing home, but you would never know. It is so clean, and not far from any of the great places to visit in Newport. Very safe, clean, quiet, and as stated by another, almost like a bed and breakfast. Breakfast was just fine.
No pool, so take the noisy kids elsewhere. Nice to stay somewhere without kids running up and down the halls. Staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 93 Miantonomi Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carriage House Inn, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Middletown
Clarion Middletown
Middletown Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.