We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Miantonomi Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
United States
Level Contributor
161 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Will return.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We loved this place, it used to be a nursing home, but you would never know. It is so clean, and not far from any of the great places to visit in Newport. Very safe, clean, quiet, and as stated by another, almost like a bed and breakfast. Breakfast was just fine.
No pool, so take the noisy kids elsewhere. Nice to stay somewhere without kids running up and down the halls. Staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    42
    26
    12
    6
See reviews for
27
60
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
428 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I had a very great experience at this lovely warm and welcoming hotel... It looks like a bed and breakfast manor...

The staff was wonderful, very helpful and welcoming...

Very safe and quiet area... Not many parking spaces but feel very secure...

Very nice small room, very comfy bed, fridge, microwave, flat screen tv and good wifi Internet...

Only one down side : no desk or working space in the room (had to use small lamp table) and breakfast area is very limited...

A great place to stay overall...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a hotel, not a B & B, and it is right on the border of Newport. it is located within 5 minutes of everything (Mansions, Thames, etc). The breakfast is so so nothing special: bagels, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, coffee, tea, and juices. the rooms are roomy and clean. I would definetly stay here again. Friendly staff. The only down side was the beds were a little hard but they compensated by providing a lot of pillows.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Was moved here from a beachside hotel just before the superstorm which hit the East Coast. I guess if you like chintz and English style decor then this is your place. The staff we very helpful indeed an battled to keep the everything going through the storm and subsequent power failures.

The rooms are basic and functional and have a charm that is entirely missing in chain hotels. Nice to stay at an independent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here one night while stopping in Newport. Everything was very easy, check in, check out and especially getting help and sightseeing tips. The room was a little cold but the bed was cozy so that was not that big of a deal. The complimentary breakfast was good. It does not offer a huge variety but had everything I needed for starting the day. The location is great; it takes only a couple of minutes to get to downton Newport and after November 1st all the parking is free.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I am no stranger to this cozy property. Over the years while my daughter attended a local boarding school for her high school years, I became wonderfully acquainted with this bit of nostalgia nestled amidst tranquil corners but near enough to so much. My daughter brought home a college friend during her brief Thanksgiving recess and I decided to get a small road trip in. I thought it would be different as her school mate hails from California and loves to travel. Along with my mom, the four of us checked in on Thanksgiving day into two rooms. There was a minor glitch in the room which my mom and I stayed and staff was more than accommodating to gladly switch us into another room. This switch actually put us in the same corridor as my daughter's room; all on the first floor.

Shortly after midnight (I was still very much awake), I heard someone in the hall just outside yelling 'cut it out'...cut it out' He sounded like a mad man- LITERALLY!!!! Just before the raving lunatic sounded, it was quiet. Then my daughter comes to my door right across from her and says that staff came to her room yelling at them. I assured her that staff would not conduct themselves in that manner. I sat in their room awhile talking as a trip to the stores was happening real soon. My mom and daughter left the hotel at 1:30am (Black Friday shopping) and I chose to stay behind as did my daughter's friend. Almost 20-30 minutes later, the lunatic is banging on a nearby door and a woman opens the door and ensues a brief yelling match... as quietly as possible... NOT! I can hear the woman saying "lower your voice, I have children in here sleeping. I hear the noise and it's not from here. It is next door." The lunatic begins banging again and starts yelling at someone. I then heard him go into his room and start yelling profanity at the top of his lungs!!! I really thought he was either off his meds or had taken too much of something! Then I get a phone call from my daughter's friend who says a man came to the door yelling; she was frazzled because she was in the bed asleep. That infuriated me because I have never had a negative experience such as this at this property. By no way am I blaming the staff; of course they cannot control guest behavior.

I went to the front desk staff and shared my disgust with this patron's behavior- by now it was easily 2am. Even had any of it been true, and I didn't 'hear' the noise and I was on the same corridor next to them, there is certainly a proper way, a BETTER way, to address an issue!!!! After my mom and daughter returned, I sat in the room with my daughter and her girlfriend as a precautionary measure should the raving lunatic return. So they were sleeping and I was on guard duty- WOW!!! I was waiting for him to return so he could talk that way to me- NOT! I also
addressed my displeasure to the morning staff as well; I lost sleep and kept thinking of that nasty guest! The response was as though the staff was well aware of the guest in room 'so and so'.

Thank God night #2 was uneventful. Needless to say, you cannot make this stuff up. Did the raving lunatic affect my stay- ABSOLUTELY!!!! And how very unfortunate! Luckily, my daughter and her friend had the opportunity to meet up with one of my daughter's grammar school friends, go to Providence Mall and have some fun!

Well, I am presently in my guest room writing this review. It could not wait! Again, the staff is lovely as my previous visits here...until this one!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay.
Staff did their best to make us comfortable,
this winter they will be doing some renovation in one wing.
Built in the 1800's a treat to stay there.
Full breakfast choice, unless some travelers ate 5
egg croissants, but plenty of choice.
Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
1.2 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Middletown / Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 17 in Middletown
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 93 Miantonomi Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carriage House Inn, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Middletown
Clarion Middletown
Middletown Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.