We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXECELLENT value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel

Save Saved
You added The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Miantonomi Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in Middletown
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“EXECELLENT value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay.
Staff did their best to make us comfortable,
this winter they will be doing some renovation in one wing.
Built in the 1800's a treat to stay there.
Full breakfast choice, unless some travelers ate 5
egg croissants, but plenty of choice.
Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
21
43
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have mixed feelings over this property...

My wife and I stayed here this first weekend of October 2012; we were in room 8 on the first floor.


Property Pros:

It is very close to downtown Newport; allowing quick access to the Ocean Drive and The Cliff Walk.

There is ample parking for guests.

The area it is located in is very quiet and calm; not a lot of huge trucks and loud vehicles coming by because it is not on a main road.

Free WiFi internet.

The bathroom was very spacious as well as the main living quarters.

There were two huge windows that you could open if you so desired; we didn't because it was cold outside.

There were a lot of pillows available on each bed; 4 per queen bed, we had a double queen room. There were a few down filled pillows (for those that like softer pillows) and a few cotton filled pillows (for those, like me, that like stiffer pillows).


Property Cons:

The internet was incredibly sluggish at times, the speed and signal was all over the place.

The windows that I mentioned where not locked when we first arrived. I had to wrestle with one of them for a few minutes to get it to lock because it wouldn't slide all the way up into its channel. The windows seemed unreliable at best...I kept my laptop in the trunk of my car as we traveled around town feeling that was safer than leaving it in the room.

While there were a lot of pillows available for sleeping, the beds where both very firm...so firm that our backs where aching terribly...perhaps we should have slept on the pillows...

There were spots of mold in a few of the corners of the room and bathroom...not good for people with allergies; I was sneezing almost non-stop.

The floor (carpet) could probably use a good shampooing or nine...along with an upgrade to the vacuum because the carpet felt oily (for the lack of a better word) and dirty. My wife and I were joking about us bringing in our Dyson and sending a bill to the hotel for our services.

Because it is an older building you do hear the footsteps of people above you, though you cannot hear their voices which makes it not all that bad.

The breakfast was down and dirty (zero preperation effort):

There were prepackaged breakfast sandwiches (Jimmy Dean: Sausage, Egg, and Cheese) which you put in the microwave...yuck.

There were an assortment of plain breakfast breads and toppings; along with two different cereals (cheerios and raisin bran).

The only thing that was gluten free (for my wife) was the hard boiled eggs and the fruit (apples, oranges and bananas).

There was a large variety of beverages though...three different coffees, four different teas, OJ and AJ, milk (2% I think), hot cocoa...

Also, they charge you $1.50/day for the safe that is in the room...if you don't use it, you can tell them that at the end of your stay and they will remove the charges.


All in all it was a decent hotel for the cost and duration of stay.

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a room on the second floor so you don't have to worry about the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

At first sight this looked a good choice, attractive exterior lots of parking and just a couple of miles from newport itself. On entering the Hotel the lobby looked nice and quite elegant. Thats about the end of the good news. The male receptionist was not very friendly and was wearing a dirty shirt- not a good impression. when we tried to pay using our credit card it was declined which caused us a lot of stress and phone calls back to the UK trying to sort out yet when we used it again elsewhere it was fine so it couldnt have been swiped correctly

The room itself whilst large was not clean and smelt musty. there were cobwebs in the corner behind the armchair. A tap dripping in the bathroom turned into a steady stream and couldnt be turned off.

Breakfast was dreadful, really poor. flasks of coffee not refilled. Breakfast room grim. no set tables. no atmosphere no staff to be seen. prepacked breakfast items not fresh at all. could hear male receptionist on a personal call throughout our breakfast. Went outside but looked very uncared for. the hotel reminded me of an old folks home. an unloved one at that . would not recommend unless serious make - over , new happier and willing staff employed and money spent on updating fixtures and fittings. poor, very poor.

generally felt very uncared for

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Newport Rhode Island's key attractions include their fabulous mansions, landmarks of a bygone era. Two nights' hotel stay proved sufficient to take in the city's sights this summer, including dining seaside and watching sailboats cruise on what seemed an endless harbor. Selecting a hotel that doesn't charge Rockefeller rates takes some detective work but here's a recommendation...

The Carriage House Inn is actually located in Middletown, a few hundred yards from the Newport border, close to all attractions. Located in a residential area, this two story Victorian boutique hotel has seen many uses over its hundred and some years existence including use as a nursing home. Don't let that deter you however, because you reap a big benefit from each room's square footage...one room once served as a complete home for its occupant. Rooms are nicely decorated with period furniture with all amenities including wifi, continental breakfast, fridge and microwave. The property is non-smoking. A private rear deck allows for reading and reflection.
The Innkeeper freely offers the hotel's history, a story in itself.

As part of the Choice Hotel group's Ascend Collection, this Inn is one of about fifty national properties located mostly in smaller cities with proximity to larger metro areas. Access to Newport proper proved convenient, missing downtown congestion. A plus for us was finding one of Rhode Island's two licensed casinos within a ten minute pleasant walk from the hotel. Seaside restaurants are a ten minute drive with $$ discounted by the hotel.

All in all, this is a great value for money pick n an otherwise pricey tourist destination.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tega Cay, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Beautiful old building with nice and comfortable rooms and large sitting area with a nice continental breakfast. Located close enough to Newport,RI to be convenient without the high Newport prices. Stayed four nights which were peaceful and quiet. The only negative was one of the men at the front desk who was not at all friendly.

Room Tip: I prefer first floor rooms but friends were in a third floor room which was very nice if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have stayed here a few times and we really love this place. We were here last December celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. The staff was very helpful and put us in a very nice room, room 4 on the main floor. While they are located in Middletown it's no big deal to drive into Newport. I like that while they are a "chain" hotel it doesn't feel like it. The hotel almost feels like a bed and breakfast. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for room 4, every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

A lodging is usually easy to classify: it's either part of a chain, with efficient cookie-cutter value, or it's an independent, with (hopefully) a degree of unique charm. [I know there's also dumpy places, but we all try to avoid those]. It's either in the city, giving easy access to urban sites but with a higher price, or it's outside the city, lowering the cost but making access more difficult.

The Carriage House is difficult to classify with either scheme. It's definitely part of a chain, and is a good value. However, it's not a cookie cutter motel, having more of the "feel" of an inn. And, although it's not IN Newport, it's a ten minute drive into the heart of that city. Depending on your needs and budget, it might be just the place to stay while visiting this town.

Stayed here two nights for some romantic times in a lovely town. Our room featured a large comfortable bed, full bath, phone (charge for local calls), AC, small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron & board, CD music player, and TV with 70 channels. The room was clean, surprisingly quiet, and well-maintained. Staff was professional and polite. Free amenities include parking, deluxe continental breakfast buffet, wi-fi, all-hours coffee, PC in lobby, and bath robes in the room. Pets and smoking are prohibited everywhere indoors. Although it only has two floors, the inn has an elevator.

The inn has the typical scam of charging a small amount for the safe in the room, although they note you can have this charge removed at check-out if you did not use the safe.

The breakfast room is a nice place to relax during the day, and opens to an outdoor veranda. Breakfast itself, although plentiful, has two problems: (1) there is not enough table space for everyone to set their food comfortably (note photos) and (2) the food tables are so wide that it can be difficult to reach the food placed near the wall.

This place bridges the gap between value and charming ambiance, and is recommended for couples who are looking for a little of both.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 93 Miantonomi Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carriage House Inn, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Middletown
Clarion Middletown
Middletown Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.