We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good local fare at fair pricing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coddington Brewing CO

Coddington Brewing CO
210 Coddington Hwy, Middletown, RI 02842-4884
401-847-6690
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 85 restaurants in Middletown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good local fare at fair pricing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

there is a wide variety of menu selection ....we went with a party of 17 persons with a variety of tastes and all were happy....there is a pool table available which keeps the kids occupied...lots of locals dining....away from downtown Newport crowds but only a 10 min drive

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    43
    57
    28
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mediocre food; underwhelming beer selection”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for something different during our vacation at the Newport beaches. I prefer supporting local, small businesses so the Brewery seemed like a good fit. It's easy to get to and there's sufficient parking...that's about it for the good news.

There were six of their beers on the menu including lager, larger with watermelon, and larger with blueberries. Hmm.

The food was reasonably priced, but not a bargain. We had burgers, fra diavalo, and mushroom ravioli (for the vegetarian in the family). Burgers were fair, but the pasta dishes were poor and lacking flavor except salt, which was heavy in both dishes.

For a simple family dinner I recommend skipping the beer in favor of a sundae, and head to Newport Creamery instead.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Food was excellent but service lacked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The food was excellent. A party of 4 and all of our dishes were well prepared genourous and tasty. The only drawback was the waitstaff. We had to ask for everything from bread plates for our bread, to parmesan chees for the pasta, more drinks, napkins, everything. I don't even remember her coming over once after the food was served to ask if everything was okay. We also had planned on dessert but since were never asked if we wanted any we got it somewhere else. I would go for the food again, but not for the service, I don't know if our articular individual was undertrained
Or just didn't care. Either way the service left a lot to be desired.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernersville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good beer / good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Famuily of five had dinner at the restaurant. Beers were tasty. Food service was good and the menu satisfied all of the children. I would recommend this restaurant to friends. The dinner and drinks were very reasonable. $108 for everyone - including some beers. NIce alternative to pricey Newport restaurants. We went on a Thursday night and there was no wait and the service was quick.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not a bad place at all!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had dinner there last night for our last night in the area because we didn't want to get ripped off in those not so great restaurants around the Newport waterfront. An honest local guy working in the Spice and Tea Exchange highly recommended the Coddington Brewing Company for their food, bear and just great atmosphere. Sounded great and close to our motel. We got there around seven o'clock. Grabbed a beer flight with seven 4 oz. samples of each of their beers. Not too bad! For dinner my wife had mushroom ravioli and I had the stuffed scallops. What a treat for both of us! Even though Newport is off of our list (too commercial and expensive these days), on our way to Cape Cod, we will stop back and try their other great things.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coddington Brewing CO also viewed

 

Been to Coddington Brewing CO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coddington Brewing CO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.