We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Awful Shake!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Creamery Restaurant

Newport Creamery Restaurant
208 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-4939
(401) 847-0390
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 88 Restaurants in Middletown
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Hamburgers
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Awful Awful Shake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Fortunately we visited on a Monday...had to try their 2 for 1 Awful Awful Shake. Awfully good! We had lunch: my friend had a wonderful salad/chicken/cranberries and walnuts. I had the "RI Style Spinach pie", which was a grilled spinach/roasted red pepper/grilled onion/feta on rye sandwich. I chose veggies to accompany which were done perfectly considering this is a diner. The following morning, we had a hearty breakfast that we thoroughly enjoyed. The food looks as good as the pictures on the menu. Our servers were attentive. Oh, yes, we managed to get ice cream for a snack both days we we in town!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    42
    19
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NEWARK, NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yummy awful,awful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Monday is buy one get one free so we hit it just right. The awful is similiar to a milkshake but with added flavors like coffee. Yum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A traditional family stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The ice cream dominates but so do kids & families and seniors looking for an air conditioned break. The interior is clean, the extensive menu what you would expect, and when crowded this place is noisy and the wait staff look like they are ready to drop (remember to tip these hard working kids). Nonetheless, we'll stop again; just go in knowing what to expect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington, ky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awful, Awful GOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We visited the walk up window on a Monday night, which is "Awful, Awful Monday" (buy one get one free). Had no clue what an Awful was but decided to try it because someone in line said it was like a milkshake. It was delicious. Later found out it is made with milk ice instead of ice cream. My daughter got chocolate ice cream and said it was amazing. I am not a big ice cream fan, so I liked the fact that it wasn't overly creamy - more like a yogurt.
Service was fast and everyone was very friendly and helpful to a newbie. Great summer stop!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stick with the ice cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stopped to have a quick lunch on way back from beach. Service somewhat surly. Selection great. Fries were soft. Wrap was soggy. Tuna melt ok but not good. Cole slaw bland and overly loaded with mayo. Will not return except for ice cream.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport Creamery Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Newport Creamery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Creamery Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.