We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquilty comfort quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   348 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Malden, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tranquilty comfort quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I was looking for a nice quiet relaxing place to get away from Boston for a couple of days to recharge myself and my girlfriend, We went down there 2/10/14 and had a great time, The staff was very nice and friendly. the food for dinner and breakfast was great and included in the price.
The suites were excellent and the pool has salt water. Also going there this time of year was quiet and great for sightseeing (no crowds) and very close to all the attractions. I see us doing this and going there again some time
Regards

Tim

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our customer service and I will be sure to share your kind words with our staff. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the greater Newport/Middletown area. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    53
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
95
88
7
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenland, New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was on a business trip for the week and this was my first stay at this property. The Homewood Suites have incorporated all of those little conveniences into this hotel. You can take the Orange Shuttle for just $3 to downtown Newport (no parking issues!) and it cycles every 20 minutes. The hotel has a great breakfast with oatmeal daily. It also offers a dinner menu Monday thru Thursday night. This is my first choice when I return to Newport!

Room Tip: Request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for being a loyal Homewood Suites guest! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the shuttle, breakfast, and dinner service. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Newport/Middletown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very nice for travelling with pet if your stay is more than several days (pet fee too expensive for shorter stays). While there is not much of an outdoor pet area, there is a park a few blocks away. It was a great value for off season in Newport/Middleton area. Nice large room. I did have problems with the breakfast and dinner options. First day had scrambled eggs, which was nice, but other days any prepared food seemed to have potato, cheese or bacon, even the veggies, and fruit seemed like out of a can, more for serving on waffles (none of which I eat). A simple salad at dinner or fresh cut fruit at breakfast would have been wonderful. The cocktail hour (wine or beer) was actually uncomfortable -- stood waiting at buffet for a server, then him telling us only another person could serve wine, long wait for her to come ask what we'd like (it was not busy), then another long wait for actual glass of wine. We only went one of the nights as it seemed more of a burden to them than a nice casual cocktail hour being provided like we've experienced at the other Homewood Suites where we've stayed before. They definitely need improvement there, but we'd plan on just bringing our own wine and food with the full kitchen available next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and the Trip Advisor Community. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, value and guest rooms. Please accept my sincerest apologies for where we fell short of meeting your expectations. I will continue to review our breakfast and dinner outlet service to ensure that we’re providing great cuisine and warm, welcoming service. Rest assured that we will continue to work hard to bring you the service and accommodations that you deserve. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I was here for a few days on business. The room was very very nice, like a small apartment. The staff was very knowledgeable of the area and made outstanding dinning and entertainment recommendations. World class. One negative was the ice maker in the refrigerator was not working. The hotel had a maintenance person there within 5 minutes however he could not fix it until the following day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and our staff service. Thank you for your feedback regarding the ice maker in your room. Please accept my apologies for the ice machine not working. I am happy that maintenance was responsive and able to resolve the issue. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was the second hotel that we stayed at during our trip. This one can't be beat! The value for the price of the room, the quality of the food, the friendliness of the staff - all will make you want to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We are so pleased that you had such a great time! We appreciate your comments regarding our staff friendliness, quality of food and our great value. We know you have a choice when coming to Middletown and we are pleased that you chose to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this establishment. I highly recommend this place. Here are some of the pluses:

1) The rate was quite affordable for a suite.

2) The facility was newly built so everything was clean and impeccable.

3) Breakfast was free.

4) Dinner was provided Mon - Thu.

5) The staff was super friendly hand helpful. After 2 nights of staying in the regular suite, I asked to be transferred to another suite with slightly different floor plan, which had a small hallway separating the sofa (where our kids slept) and the queen bed (where we slept). At first the receptionist had difficulties switching my room on their computer systems. She suggested I talked to the manager in the morning. But I didn't want to wait, because that meant we only stayed in the new room for one night. She finally went ahead and gave me the key without entering it in the computer. I really appreciate that. It shows that she went above and beyond to help a customer.

6) It was close by many beaches, a short drive to Newport.

It's a great deal for the money.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you kindly for your detailed 5-star rating of our property. I appreciate your kind words regarding our customer service and will be sure to share them with our valued staff. Our team prides itself on our clean rooms and friendly service so thank you for acknowleging that. We will continue to offer our great services and accommodations at a phenomenal value. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown RI, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Our family vacation stay was excellent. We wanted an affordable central location from which to enjoy Rhode Island's beaches and historic Newport. The location was perfect. The accommodations were fairly priced and provided more than promised. The complimentary food was very good both morning and evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us. Your comments regarding our location, value and quality of food are truly appreciated. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI

Address: 348 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comforts of home in charming NewportWelcome to Homewood Suites by Hilton® Newport Middletown, RI. Enjoy the convenient location at the junction of Route 138 and 114 in Middletown, RI. Explore historic downtown Newport on Aquidneck Island, just two miles away, or spend the day relaxing on beautiful local beaches. Our hotel is close to many local companies including Raytheon, Newport Hospital and the Navy Base which incorporates the Naval War College, NUWC, and Officer Candidate School. Discover the wonders of charming Newport including Newport's Cliff Walk, Sachuest Point and the spectacular Newport Mansions. Fort Adams, Newport Yachting Center and the International Tennis Hall of Fame are also nearby.Whether you're staying for a few days or a few weeks, our spacious studio and one-bedroom suites offer all the comforts of home, including separate living and sleeping areas. Prepare meals in the fully-equipped kitchen, keep in touch with WiFi, or simply relax watching TV. Stock your full-size refrigerator with meals and snacks from the 24-hour Suite Shop, or let us lend a hand and do the grocery shopping for you. Start each day with a complimentary hot full breakfast and return in the evenings for dinner and drinks* Monday through Thursday. Catch up with work at the 24-hour business center or take some time out for yourself to enjoy our recreational facilities, including a 24-hour fitness center, heated indoor pool, and putting green.*Subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.