We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   348 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Middletown
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great stay ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here with family. Hotel was very clean. No problems staying. With dog and staff was very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast a plus. Would recommend it and would return for another stay. Conveniently located near town. About 5 minutes away.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for feedback and taking the time to acknowledge our hotel’s efforts to make your stay an enjoyable one. We strive to make every guest feel like this is their home away from home. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the Newport area and we look forward to having you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    35
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
49
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Only had the chance to stay one night as we were there for a lacrosse tournament. Hotel was spotless. Staff was great. Business center had everything-right down to pens and note paper. Breakfast was a little better than most. Plenty of choices for everyone and staff was quick to replace any empty containers. Room set up was great. Kids loved having their own area with their own tv. They even left a bag of microwave popcorn in the room. Didn't use the kitchen except the fridge but it was well stocked with dishes, pans and utensils. They even had Rubbermaid containers if you needed to store food. Will deffinately use this property again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
It is our pleasure having you and your family stay at our new hotel I am very pleased that you were able to enjoy the spaciousness and all of the ammenities included in our suites. It certainly is wonderful to have the availability of our state of the art business center and free wireless internet throughout the hotel. Our staff takes great pride in the cleanliness of the hotel and complete guest satisfaction and hope your can stay with us again and enjoy our ever changing variety of breakfast options which include various hot items, delicious fresh fruit, a waffle maker with toppings, and assorted bagels, muffins, and Danish. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a gorgeous, brand new hotel (opened in June, 2013) that we used as a stay over prior to taking an early ferry from Quonset Point, RI, to Martha's Vineyard the next morning. (Note: if you plan to take the Vineyard Fast Ferry, it's about 30 minutes from the hotel.). The suite we stayed in appeared as if we were the first ones to stay in it, with beautifully appointed amenities, including two large flat screen TVs, spacious, comfortable living room, bath, and bedroom. The lobby and dining areas were also warm and welcoming; the complimentary breakfast was perfect, and the staff could not have been more accommodating. Can't wait to return to this aesthetically pleasing-to-the-senses respite!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites Newport-Middletown. I was glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your experience with us throughout your stay. It seems like the location of the hotel was perfect for you while visiting the many sights in the area. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the friendly and helpful staff; I will pass-along your compliments to the entire team. We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Clean, New feeling hotel. Friendly Staff and great breakfast! Location was great. Shaw's supermarket close by if you want to get some yogurt or some snack. Hotel also offered a DVD player for the evening since we wanted to stay in and watch a video. Would not hesitate to come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was happy to see that you found Homewood Suites Newport-Middletown to be an excellent value. We look to make all of our guests as comfortable as possible so any additonal items available we will certainly supply to help you. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel was great,had to change reservation and Expedia was no help.Called the Hotel direct and they were great at getting my reservations fixed.Staff was wonderful,hotel was clean and rooms were spacious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! Our management and staff takes pride in all that we do at the brand new Homewood Suites! It is great to hear such wonderful feedback. Our all suites hotel with full kitchens, fitness center, pool, 24 hour business center, and outdoor patio area are wonderful amenities that all of our guests can enjoy. We hope to continue as the hotel of choice the next time you travel to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The rooms are gigantic, modern & clean. Stayed in the Shotgun suite and loved it (but the beds were hard). The free breakfast in the morning was hot and had many options. My only complaint was the shuttle. They have only one shuttle for all four hotels (holds maybe 10-12 people) the shuttle runs from your hotel every 30 minutes however pick up isn't so easy. You need to call and reserve a spot but the spots fill up fast. When we called for pick up they gave us a pickup time 1 1/2 hours from the time we called. Then found out from other guests even if they had reserved spots they weren't able to get on because it was somehow full. Turns out you can take a taxi to downtown cheaper (and easier!) than the shuttle. This was my first time not staying at a hotel on Thames St and I will never do it again. Beautiful hotel but I will not be back. I'd rather pay more and be in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel. We apologize for the incident you experienced while staying at our facility. It is our goal to meet all requests and exceed all expectations of every guest; we share and understand your disappointment in the shuttle service. We also appreciate your honesty in this review as it is comments like these which help us improve. Please contact us directly prior to your next arrival; we look forward to welcoming you back and believe we can make your next visit unforgettable! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your suite as we certainly take pride in being a top choice in the Newport area and maintaining the continuously high customer service that is part of the Homewood culture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Visited Newport, RI, for a few days on business and the place I usually stay was full so I thought I'd try Homewood Suites. What a great surprise! I found out that that it'd only been open for about four months so it was modern, updated, comfortable, and had everything I wanted or needed.

It was a fantastic place to stay on business - the rooms have small kitchen areas that are fully equipped. There is a free breakfast every morning and a manager's evening reception that has free wine, beer, and dinner! Don't expect anything major in terms of food - but it was more than worth it!

Room: The room was spacious with great finishings, furnishings and amenities. It had one king size bed and a very nice bathroom. There was a well done shower (no tub). The room had two large flat screen TVs (one in the sleeping area and one in sitting area).

Food: In addition to the small snack area (really just what you can find in an airport) the morning breakfast had eggs, potatoes, cereal, fruit, yogurt, waffles, coffee, juice, water, etc. The evening "manager's reception" included free wine and/or beer, and light dinner fare. If you don't like that, there is an Applebees across the street and other food places down the street.

Pool: There is moderate size swimming pool available for guests. I didn't try it out.

Exercise area: Standard hotel exercise area with some elliptical trainers, treadmills, etc.

WiFi access: Free for resort guest! Awesome!

Parking: Free for resort guests.

All in all, it was a great place to stay. Everything is new, the staff friendly, and the amenities well done. If you are visiting Newport on business, definitely try the Homewood Suites!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! Our management and staff takes pride in all that we do at the brand new Homewood Suites! It is great to hear such wonderful feedback. Our all suites hotel with full kitchens, fitness center, pool, 24 hour business center, and outdoor patio area are wonderful amenities that all of our guests can enjoy. Our spacious suites offer a remarkable amount of room for both work and relaxation. We hope to continue as the hotel of choice the next time you travel to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI

Address: 348 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comforts of home in charming NewportWelcome to Homewood Suites by Hilton® Newport Middletown, RI. Enjoy the convenient location at the junction of Route 138 and 114 in Middletown, RI. Explore historic downtown Newport on Aquidneck Island, just two miles away, or spend the day relaxing on beautiful local beaches. Our hotel is close to many local companies including Raytheon, Newport Hospital and the Navy Base which incorporates the Naval War College, NUWC, and Officer Candidate School. Discover the wonders of charming Newport including Newport's Cliff Walk, Sachuest Point and the spectacular Newport Mansions. Fort Adams, Newport Yachting Center and the International Tennis Hall of Fame are also nearby.Whether you're staying for a few days or a few weeks, our spacious studio and one-bedroom suites offer all the comforts of home, including separate living and sleeping areas. Prepare meals in the fully-equipped kitchen, keep in touch with WiFi, or simply relax watching TV. Stock your full-size refrigerator with meals and snacks from the 24-hour Suite Shop, or let us lend a hand and do the grocery shopping for you. Start each day with a complimentary hot full breakfast and return in the evenings for dinner and drinks* Monday through Thursday. Catch up with work at the 24-hour business center or take some time out for yourself to enjoy our recreational facilities, including a 24-hour fitness center, heated indoor pool, and putting green.*Subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, RI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.