We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Newport Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   317 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Brooklyn, United States
1 review
“Best Place in Newport Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My experience at the Hampton Inn in Middleton, RI was by far one of the best I have ever experienced. The staff was more than helpful and everything in the entire hotel was spotless. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown. I am so glad to see that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel. I am happy that our staff, complimentary wifi, breakfast, and spacious rooms at our hotel met your needs. We take pride on how well we maintain a great hotel! Thank you for your positive feedback! I hope you will come back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    136
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
157
141
15
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The staff is exceptional and the property is very well maintained with ideal amenities. I would highly recommend this property to friends and family and would definitely stay there on my next visit to Newport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
I am thrilled to hear that our Hampton Inn has made your standards. Thank you for noticing the pride we take in keeping our rooms in great shape! We make it a point to make sure that our rooms are clean and that our staff is ready to provide great service. I am so happy to hear that you will recommend our Hampton Inn to your family and friends! We stride to make sure all of our guests are 100% satisfied. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is consistently above par in customer service and cleanliness. Efficient and friendly check in and housekeeping staff very courteous during encounters in hallway. Breakfast attendants on Friday morning and Saturday were extremely friendly and asked if we needed any assistance with breakfast options. Hotel itself is very clean and for the number of guests very very quiet at night. Great location to Newport and area attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I am glad the staff went ‘over-the –top” for you. The friendly staff is part of the Hamptonality that Hampton Inns are known for. I will be certain to share your positive comments with our staff. I hope that we can accommodate you on your next trip to Newport. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

When in Newport I love to stay in town but over the years, Newport if out-pricing a whole population of travelers (professionals but not 1%ers). The Hampton is a great choice as it is so close to everything and held up to the reliable Hampton quality. Staff was great, property is up-to-date if not new. It has a very nice lap pool that has plenty of room as well as a fitness room. I found the beds very comfortable and I am picky. All in all, a great stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We are so pleased that you had such a great time! We appreciate your recognition of our staff and efforts to make your stay enjoyable. It is great to hear that you were able to take pleasure in our free hot breakfast, along with the great local restaurants and local attractions that are all minutes away! It would be our pleasure to be of service to you in the near future and we appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a great experience at the Hampton Inn in Mystic Ct. and they recommended the Hampton Inn in Middletown Rhode Island for the next night's stay. My 87year old mother and I were driving to Newport and we were told the Hampton Inn had a shuttle bus that could drive us into Newport for dinner and return us to hotel. This hotel is a few miles outside of Newport but the shuttle bus sounded like a great idea. After checking in and going to our room the front desk called to say they had no more room on the bus for us. No one ever mentioned this was a possibility and now we were several miles from Newport and would have to drive at night. I asked the Manager, Mr. Carl Stoker, to deduct the $20 cab fee from our room since he couldn't accommodate us on the bus. He refused to do this. I think this is very poor management on his part since we then checked out. Hampton Inn lost a good customer and the night's room fee. This hotel manager needs some PR training!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We always strive to ensure all of our guests are completely satisfied and I'm sorry we were unable to live up to our own high standards in this regard. Please give us another chance to wow you! The next time you are in the area, call and ask for the General Manager . I will personally make sure your stay is a fantastic one. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great experience! Fast check-in and check-out. Reasonable price for a nights stay during the busy summer season. Extremely clean hotel and friendly staff. Great location too. No complaints, would most deffinetly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown. As you know, Newport is a great town, and we are in a great location just 2 miles from the Downtown area. You can always count on our Hampton for our 24 hour coffee station, clean comfortable beds, free hot breakfast, and friendly staff. We are pleased to hear that you will return to the Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown in the near future and we look forward to having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Easy access to many highlights of Newport area; shuttle service to harbor/seaside area; friendly staff and nice accommodations. Easy to get to beaches from here, too. Enjoyed seafood at Anthony's - couple of miles away and Awful, Awful just up the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown. I am so glad to see that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel. I am happy that our staff, complimentary wifi, breakfast, and spacious rooms at our hotel met your needs. We take pride on how well we maintain a great hotel! Thank you for your positive feedback! I hope you will come back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown

Address: 317 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Middletown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#3 Family Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites with refrigerator & microwave; 2 miles from Newport attractions, Navy Base and corporate parks; award winning hotel with free hot breakfast bar in a 2 story atrium lobby, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown Hotel Middletown
Hampton Inn And Suites Newport/Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
Middletown Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.