We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Middletown!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The French Confection

The French Confection
72 East Main Road, Middletown, RI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 88 Restaurants in Middletown
Cuisines: American, French
Restaurant details
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A gem in Middletown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I love, love, love this cafe! The chef/owner is French, from a family of French bakers. The pastries and cakes are fabulous! The best sandwich on the menu is the lobster salad on a freshly-baked croissant. They don't prepare the salad in the advance - each one is made fresh to order, and they offer several different options for the salad - plain mayo, a dijon-based sauce, or just a little mayo and Old Bay seasoning. That's my favorite. The lobster is chunky and fresh, and the Old Bay really brings out the flavor. Paired with an Orangina and followed by an authentic pain aux raisins, I feel like I'm in a bakery in France instead of Middletown!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We discovered this little gem during our vacation in Middletown/Newport. The three of us each got something different and shared them. Everything we got was delicious. In fact, we went back the next day, and once again everything we got was scrumptious.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Pastries Small Quiche slices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had lunch here last week. The four cheese quiche was good but a very small portion. Also had a piece of pecan pie which was delicious. My friend had some type of cake which he said was good but really sweet.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Le Petite pastries - Le Scrumptious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The pastries were delicate and tasted soo good. We each tried something different and we were all very happy, I had this tart with thinly sliced apples and puff pastry and someone else had a danish shape one with raisins and a tasy cream on it, to die for. you can eat in or take it out but either way stop here when in Newport.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Pastries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Worth going out of your way to visit. I tried more quality baked goods than I should have and the "Pain Aux Raisins" was fantastic...great with a cup of their coffee. Plus, the prices were reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Confection also viewed

 

Been to The French Confection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Confection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.