We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Middletown / Newport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Middletown / Newport to your Saves list
Travelodge Middletown / Newport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1185 W Main Road, Rt 114 & West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was one of the cheaper hotels in the Newport area yet had a good report and we were not disappointed. We were greeted by a friendly person on the desk and directed to our room.which was fine. the pool was just across from our room and we went in that afternoon.The only complaint was that there was little shade around the pool.
The breakfast the following morning was very acceptable. One very useful thing was that there was a laundret on site which we made use of. It was a little way from the main things in Newport so there was nothing in walking distance but that ws not a real problem.
The test when we have stayed at a hotel is always woul we stay there again if we were coming to area. The answer to that is yes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    129
    60
    24
    13
See reviews for
94
117
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked this hotel/motel for one night using Tripadvisor reviews and price to drive our decision. We were attending a wedding in Newport and simply didn't want to drive all the way home (90 minutes) afterwards but didn't need a full service hotel. When we arrived at the Travelodge, I was surprised and disappointed to see that it was more like a motel with outside entrances to your room and a somewhat dated facade. I thought it might be my first experience where TA did me wrong.

We had booked a king but were upgraded to a King Deluxe (a bit larger and with a sofabed). But when we got to the room at 4 p.m., housekeeping was still cleaning the room. I was still trepidatious but had no other choice as we had paid in full and the wedding was at 6 pm. So we drove around for 30 minutes and returned to a clean, updated room.

I agree with the other reviews. My four star rating is comparing it to other inexpensive rooms in this category. It certainly isn't luxurious, the parking lot is in front of your room and the continental breakfast is a step down from most of the chain hotel continental breakfasts (just two cereals, one kind of milk, bread for toast, bagels, packaged minimuffins and waffles). But for the price in Newport on a summer weekend, you probably can't do better. I felt comfortable sleeping in the room and just wished that the lighting were better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tega Cay
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

After reading good reviews on this property, we booked 3 nights. It's an older facility, but updating has been done and rooms are very large. Clean is a must and we were most satisfied with the cleanliness with the exception of the floor of the shower/bathtub which appeared stained. Possibly resurfacing the tub would solve this issue. The room smelled musty when first opening the door, but the A/C seemed to help. Front desk staff was most helpful and pleasant and offered suggestions for area rest. etc. Location to go into Newport (just a couple mins. by car) is ideal for the price. Breakfast was well stocked, but choices were limited which is typical. All in all, would stay again, and would recommend. Weather was iffy, so did not use the pool, but it looked clean. We opted not to have daily room service, but staff left us extra towels in a bag on our doorknob-very considerate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were happy to see it was clean, quite, everything working and close to newport! The wonderful young lady at the desk (Amy) was very helpful in recommending different attractions. The breakfast had many things to choose from. The staff was right there cleaning and adding anything that was low. The only thing I can say is it could use updating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Middletown / Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Middletown / Newport

Address: 1185 W Main Road, Rt 114 & West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Middletown
#5 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Middletown / Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Middletown / Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Middletown / Newport Hotel Middletown
Travel Lodge Middletown
Middletown Travelodge
Middletown Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Middletown / Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.