We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“marathon stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Whale Motel

Save Saved
You added Sea Whale Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Whale Motel
150 Aquidneck Ave., Route 138A, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Middletown
Portland, Maine
1 review
“marathon stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked late for the Newport Marathon and this was the only place we could book a room close to the start/finish line and we weren't sure what we would find. It turned out to be just fine. The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The property is very attractive and well-maintained with a lovely view of Easton Pond. We even loved the two little bunnies who were on the lawn each evening! We appreciated the lawn chairs, especially the ones right outside our door. There were some very good restaurants within walking distance as well as the beach. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I love different places to stay when traveling other than the typical chain motel. While in the area, we decided to stay at the Sea Whale based on the previous reviews. We didn't get there as early as we wanted, so weren't able to enjoy the sunset over the water. It was nice, though, to sit outside and enjoy the calm on a nice evening. The room was large and the bed comfortable. The bath was small but considering the age of the property, very nicely kept. It was also MUCH cheaper than staying in Newport and was only a short drive. We would stay there again if we ever return to the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I don't usually stay in motels but Newport was booked this weekend. Found this motel through tripadvisor. The motel room was very clean which is important. You can tell the owner cares about her property. The walls are a bit thin so we could hear our neighbors easily but turning on the room fan helped with that. The room was expensive but I think Newport overall is just expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narvon Pa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Oh my goodness, we loved everything about this motel from the nice lady that checked us in to the location. We had a room in the back ground level with view of the bay. The place is VERY clean, rooms have everything you need, wifi is great, oh and the towels and sheet smell so good...just like fresh laundry. We could see the sunset over the bay from the window in our room. It is within walking distance of the LOTS of restaurants and the beach. Only a mile from the beginning entrance of the Cliff Walks, which we did...all 3.8 miles, and it kicked our butts..haha. Wish we could have stayed longer. We will probably take another trip to Newport, RI and for sure we will see if the Sea Whale has a room available. Great place for the money....Only thing i wish they would have had was some sort of breakfast, but it's obvious they do not have the facilities for that...too bad, because the rest of this place was so homey and comfortable.

Room Tip: Definitely would ask for room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I'm always skeptical of motels, but this was truly a fantastic place. We stayed here three nights as my husband and I went to the Newport Folk Festival. Hotels in Newport were out of our price range and this was a gem to find! Pride in ownership was demonstrated by little touches like coffeemate for the coffee rather than powdered creamer as well as the bigger aspects such as a very clean and well maintained room. The furnishings, television, refrigerator and microwave were older but well maintained and in working order. The bed was a little uncomfortable but it didn't deter us from the positive experience. Teri, the owner, was available 24-7 if needed and when we did need her she was at the door in minutes and very pleasant and wanting to help! We had a garden room (lower level) which had chairs outside the door to relax in as well as chairs in the finely manicured lawn that overlooked the water (I think it was a giant pond - it was a lovely view). Within walking distance are restaurants, a gas station for snacks, a liquor store, the beach, and the cliff walk. The parking lot seemed to have enough space. We would highly recommend this great value of a motel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we arrived for a four night stay it was clear that the people who run the Sea Whale take real pride in their work. From the pretty and manicured gardens to the truly spotlessly clean rooms we were impressed eithe the care and attention to detail they demonstrated. A great value, 'mom and pop' motel that we'd definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

A group of my friends and I stayed at the Sea Whale Motel this weekend and I can only say positive things about this place. Terri, the owner, was amazing. I booked 3 rooms for Sat night and she let us check in early and had the rooms all ready for us when we arrived at noon. We were able to park our cars there and walked to the beach which was less than 5 minutes away. A few of my friends got a little out of hand and night but she was very understanding and never got mad at us. She gave us great tips and recommendations...things to know while you are in Newport. The back yard was beautiful and a great place to hang out and relax…all for a really good price! I'm really glad I booked this trip at the Sea Whale Motel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Whale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Whale Motel

Address: 150 Aquidneck Ave., Route 138A, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#1 Best Value Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-occupied motel located on Easton's Pond in the Atlantic Beach District of Middletown. Walk to beaches (400 yards to First Beach / Easton's Beach / Newport Beach) and the Rotunda, the Newport Cliff Walk and local dining including Johnny's Atlantic Beach Club ("The ABC"), Flo's Clam Shack, Easton's Point Pub, Atlantic Grille, Aquidneck Pizza, Tickets Sports Bar and many more. Two miles to downtown Newport and mansions. All rooms are non-smoking and have the following amenities: coffee-makers with morning coffee and tea, cable TV with remote, phones with free local calls, microwaves, refrigerators, free high-speed wireless internet access (must have own laptop), blow-dryers, irons and boards, private bath/shower combo, private entrances on both levels. Sorry... no pets or animals allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Sea Whale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Whale Hotel Middletown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Whale Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.