We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel overlooking the water. Amazing modern suites. Small, quaint rooms in main building.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Beach Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Wave Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Suffern, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful Hotel overlooking the water. Amazing modern suites. Small, quaint rooms in main building.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Beautiful hotel overlooking the beach. Free coffee and tea in room. Refrigerator in room. Traditional rooms in the main building are small but quaint and beautiful. The rooms in the suites building are much larger, have a soaking spa tub and a kitchenette. Free Wifi and great direct TV on the flat screen TVs. Beautiful and clean indoor pool. Amazing rooftop hot tub and fire pit overlooking the ocean.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    190
    103
    67
    80
See reviews for
217
300
23
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the older building for 2 nights. We were in town for a wedding and received the block room rate. Service in the hotel is fine - the front desk staff members as well as housekeeping staff were friendly.

First of all, there is only one small, painfully slow elevator in the main building. We took the stairs several times because we didn't want to wait and jam in with several other guests, but the stairs were steep, and we were on the third floor, which was not so convenient.

The room, despite its beautiful waterfront view, was very small. We had two queen size beds in our room, and it was a struggle for two people to move freely about the room. The beds were not firm at all, and the bedding didn't seem as crisp as you would expect of fresh hotel sheets. They were wrinkled, leading me to believe the sheets may not have been changed after the previous guest. The corners of the room were extremely dusty/dirty - housekeeping does not do a good job of vacuuming or dusting. The walls are paper thin. The guests next door came back at 2:30 in the morning, and we could hear their entire conversation. The bathroom was also very small, and the shelves inside were in need of dusting as well.

I would stay elsewhere - we had friends staying at the Comfort or Quality (whichever is across the street), and their room was larger and cleaner than ours.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2010
Thank you for your review of the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites. We appreciate your feedback on the hotel.

Thank you for bringing your experience with the elevator to our attention. We will have our maintenance department look into your concerns.

There are a variety of room types at the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites ranging from 1,300 square foot two-bedroom suites to standard size guest rooms. If your accommodations do not meet your preference, please visit the front desk and we will do our best to try and relocate you to a different room. Our guests generally find our rooms to be very peaceful and quiet. If you are extremely noise sensitive, please inform our reservations staff prior to making your reservation to assist with finding you the perfect guest room accommodation to fit all of your needs.

The rooms in the historic hotel feature new furniture, bedding with imported linens and duvets, 37” flat panel LCD televisions, MP3 players with iPod docking stations, new carpet, wallpaper, draperies, wood blinds, lighting and artwork. All of our rooms receive Direct TV with HD satellite programming. Bathrooms are furnished with white Carrera marble floors, wooden vanities with granite tops, modern lighting, new mirrors, and increased storage space for guest amenities.

We have strict cleaning standards in our hotels. Should you find an issue with your guest room, please notify the front desk so that the issue can be rectified immediately.

Our property now contains a brand new fitness center and spa, an indoor pool and hot tub, a rooftop Jacuzzi and firepit, the Ocean Bar and Grille restaurant, and two renovated meeting/event rooms.

We hope that you will join us again at the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed for two nights over the Veterans’ day holiday. What a great little hotel! We had a room in the historic building. The room was a little on the small size, but considering there was a microwave and a refrigerator in the room we could easily overlook the room size! The bed was comfortable (very important) and the bathroom was very clean (even more important!). In addition the room had a big HDTV with an HD signal (most hotels seem to just have the HD tv with without the HD service). Not only did the TV have an HD signal the DirecTV receive was in the room with the TV, that meant you had the program guide to scroll through, no channel surfing wondering what was on TV, and being a DirecTV customer at home meant all the channel numbers where the same! The staff at the hotel where very friendly and helpful. I wouldn’t hesitate staying there again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

On booking in we were offered a room with 2 queen beds as it was our Silver Wedding we said we just wanted one bed, we were given room 480 with one bed side table and a very small bed to get round to the other side of the bed I had to stand side ways and force one leg through the gap at a time! I dropped the soap in the shower and it was so dark that I had trouble finding the soap. We went to reception to compain and she said we are full I can not give you another room, I asked if the room we had been given was a double room she said no you should have taken the room with the two queens and just slept in one of the beds!!! Newport Beach you should be ashamed you spoilt a special night for us....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites. We appreciate your feedback on the hotel.

There are a variety of room types at the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites. We apologize that we were unable to move you to a different room. However, when our property is full or near full, we are not always able to accommodate requests for a specific room type. Because our hotel is relatively small, we are sometimes unable to accommodate guest requests to switch rooms. We try to accommodate all of our guest requests, however we are not always able to do so.

Our hotel offers many amenities including a full-service restaurant, a workout room with state-of-the-art equipment, spa facilities with the option for in-room massages by appointment, an indoor pool and hot tub, and a rooftop hot tub and firepit. Our guests can also take advantage of our private beach cabanas at Newport Beach. Please visit the front desk for information on our beach cabana rental program.

We hope that you will join us again at the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

If you stay in the suites across the street you will be satisfied as they are newly renovated and nice.

BUT, if you stay in the original hotel on the beach side you will be highly disappointed. the room was small and generally just kind of crappy. They have made some updates to a the room with the tv and some furniture but just not good enough to be called a 2 1/2 star let alone 3 1/2 star hotel. You know what they say about putting lipstick on a pig....

I don't mean to be overly harsh as I love Newport and have stayed in probably 12 different hotels there and all the top hotels. The service at the front desk was polite and as accommodating as she could be but she wasn't going to get us across the street with out a substantial price increase.

Just be aware and call ahead to find out which building you will be staying in and good luck.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites. We appreciate your business and we strive to exceed guest expectations.

There are a variety of room types at the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites. Please contact our reservations department who will be happy to assist in finding the best room accommodations for you. You may also visit our website for a description of the various room types.
We have completely renovated the entire hotel and added an all suites building directly across from the historic hotel.

The rooms in the historic hotel feature new furniture, bedding with imported linens and duvets, 37” flat panel LCD televisions, MP3 players with iPod docking stations, new carpet, wallpaper, draperies, wood blinds, lighting and artwork. All of our rooms receive Direct TV with HD satellite programming. Bathrooms are furnished with white Carrera marble floors, wooden vanities with granite tops, modern lighting, new mirrors, and increased storage space for guest amenities.

The 26 suites in our suites building have water views, experienced through floor-to-ceiling windows and juliet balconies in the living room and master bedroom. Modern kitchens feature granite countertops, upscale stainless steel appliances, wood floors, and washer/dryers. Oversized baths contain walls of glass overlooking the water, floors, tub and shower surrounds finished in rich white Carrera marble, deep soaking whirlpool tubs, and residential wood vanities with granite tops.

Our hotel offers many amenities including a full-service restaurant, a workout room with state-of-the-art equipment, spa facilities with the option for in-room massages by appointment, an indoor pool and hot tub, and a rooftop hot tub and firepit. Our guests can also take advantage of our private beach cabanas at Newport Beach. Please visit the front desk for information on our beach cabana rental program.

We hope that you will join us again at the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy,NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

My sister and I spent 4 days in Newport in November. We stayed in the historic building that has been totally updated. Weather was perfect and no crowds!
Hotel in off-season is a bargain but service was still superior. Front desk people were friendly, helpful and eager to suggest tips on parking, mansion tours, etc.
Room was as promised: Ocean-view, comfy beds,well-appointed and clean.
Restaurant was a pleasant surprise. 3-course dinner specials were a real value and delicious. Service was excellent. Location is very convenient. Cliff Walk access is right down the road, and beach is across the street. Downtown Newport is only a few minutes away.
Only negatives: Busy road,noisy even in November. Wi-Fi through Fusion Hotspot was not reliable.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyork
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

we stayed in the two bedroom suite with full kitchen and washer /dryer. very very clean well kept rooms... fabulous beds...well appointed bathrooms. nice pool and rooftop jacuzzi. we will be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Address: One Wave Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.