We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phoenomenal View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Beach Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Wave Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Phoenomenal View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I stayed in a suite for a girls getaway weekend. The beds were comfy, the service friendly, and the private entrace jacuzzi perfect. The location was ideal. Its next door to a famous clam shack (highly recommend) and a short jaunt to the cliff walk. The view from the bathroom looked like a painting and the decorations were so comfortable that I took notes for decorating my own home - I've never liked a hotel's decor that much before. I definitely want to return with a romantic holiday with my husband.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    200
    106
    69
    82
See reviews for
228
313
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with two girlfriends and we absolutely adored it. Everything was nautical and just super adorable and the rooms were tastefully decorated in a manner that is modern but still classy. The group of us are interested in birds and we were pretty close to the Norman Bird Sanctuary, which is a wonderful destination for those with an interest in aviary. We were proximate to everything and the weather was just perfect. Our room was darling and had a sleep sofa so it was very comfortable for everyone and we didn't pay a mint. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We picked this hotel for a 20+year reunion of 5 long time girlfriends-coming in from all around the country. We stayed 4 days at the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites in a beautiful corner suite. The suite was large, very clean and convienently located near the jacuzzi and roof deck. The location was perfect for going to the beach, walking to a restaurant for dinner and with a short ride downtown for shopping. One morning we walked up the street to the start of the cliff walk and really enjoyed exploring the trail and the area mansions..
The hotel staff was very pleasant and accomodating. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

I walked into this hotel at midnight on a thursday and had no idea that it would be as nice as it was. The lobby makes a great impression as it is very beachy but also quite fancy. It looks classy and very nice. Even though the front desk staff said it was pretty full, mia found me a room in an area called the annex. When I first saw the stairs up to the room I thought 'no way' but then I looked at our room and it was great! There is a little sitting area and a separate bedroom with a queen bed. The bathroom is pretty fancy but not big. There is a fridge where we put our leftovers from dinner and then later ate them at 2 am!!! Since then, we have been lounging at the pool and going to the rooftop jacuzzi everyday. There is a cute little carnival across the street where we have collected a menagerie of new stuffed friends. The staff could not be more friendly at the bar and everywhere else. We would stay here again in a second.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Having thoroughly researched the hotel on trip advisor before staying it was exactly what I expected. My sister, husband, and I took our parents to newport for a long weekend for their anniversary so we were looking for some type of suite set up to maximize time together. We stayed in a two bedroom two bath suite in the new suites building, and it was great. The bathrooms were both great- excellent showers with excellent pressure! The two king beds were both super comfortable, and my sister said the pull-out sofa was definitely one of the better pull-out sofas she'd experienced. The living room area had a small couch and small table with two chairs- it would have been great if the table had five chairs, but we made do. The little kitchen had a fridge, dishwasher, toaster oven, sink, stove top and microwave- just enough for us to cook one dinner in the room, and eat our breakfasts there each morning. The view from the room was pretty good- yes we did see the parking lot and the road, but we also had an unobstructed view of easton's beach. The rooftop deck on top of the suites addition was great- and we enjoyed using the hot tub on the deck all by ourselves. My husband also used the fitness center and said it wasn't fancy, but it was exactly what he needed and again he was pleased he had it all to himself.

The location of the hotel is not in downtown newport, but it was very convenient to the start of the cliffwalk and a ten minute drive to the mansions.

We had a wonderful visit and would definitely recommend the two king two bath suites in the new building!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flims, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We were walk-in's and were offered a nice double room in the Historic part of the building. Therefore it surprised us even more to get a spacious room with ocean view & jacuzzi. The room was very clean, the bathroom cute but small. We ate in their restaurant that night, also if we came very late the Jamaican bar staff made every effort to serve us well. Dinner was a lot better than we expected and the evening ended up with a nice chat with the owner who is the chef at the same time. All departments were very friendly at all times. Roof top jacuzzi with fireplace was perfect to watch the sundown. We'd come back, rather than going to some overpriced other hotel in Newport ...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

I have to echo the previous criticisms - I just wish I'd visited Trip Adviser before my stay at this hotel! If you know what you're getting, you may still decide to book here. However, the advertising is very deceptive.

We were in the older building, with a so-called ocean view - obstructed view is more accurate, and the busy street below made for a noisy room. The roof-top hot tub is in another building and not at all convenient. And the hotel isn't even in Newport, but Middleton. Their website reads, "Directly overlooking Newport Beach," and the picture is gorgeous. But, it's actually just a stretch of deserted beach, across the street from the hotel, with no shops or restaurants or amenities anywhere near it. Not exactly what comes to mind when I think of the beach in Newport.

Bottom line, the hotel is similar to a Comfort Inn or Holiday Inn Express. Certainly adequate enough, but not in the least bit exceptional. Unfortunately, the hotel pics and write up, I think, suggest it's much more upscale than it really is. Nor did the rate we paid suggest a bargain-brand hotel!

On the plus side, staff members were friendly and accommodating - it just wasn't enough to compensate for all the other disappointing features.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
Dear joiu2367,

Thank you for your review of the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites. We appreciate your feedback on the hotel. We are glad that you found our staff members to be friendly and accommodating.

Due to our location directly across from Newport Beach, it is true that our hotel is not in downtown Newport. Most of our guests prefer our location for its proximity to Cliff Walk, the Newport Mansions, Newport (First) Beach, Second Beach, Purgatory Chasm and many other stunning natural elements. A jogging/walking map of the area is available at our front desk, and it shows many of the features of the area. There are several restaurants directly across from our hotel, as well as our own full-service Ocean Bar & Grille restaurant, which features a delicious breakfast and a seafood inspired lunch and dinner menu with a wide variety of options. The downtown Newport shopping district is a 5 minute drive from the hotel, and our front desk is happy to call a cab for visitors that do not have cars.

We regret the fact that you did not find sufficient amenities at our hotel. However, our hotel does offer a full-service restaurant, a workout room with state-of-the-art equipment, spa facilities with the option for in-room massages by appointment, an indoor pool and hot tub, and a rooftop hot tub and firepit. Our guests can also take advantage of our private beach cabanas at Newport Beach. It is true that the amenities are split between our two buildings, but we feel that these amenities far exceed the available options at a Comfort Inn or Holiday Inn Express.

We genuinely hope that you will join us again at the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Address: One Wave Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.