We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Newport Beach Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Wave Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Middletown
St Pete, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Spent 2 nights at the Newport Inn. Check-in was easy. We were given a room on the 3rd floor in the old building. You take the elevator to the 3rd floor then walk up a fairly long flights of stairs. The room was very small but looked newly remodeled well decorated. Large HD television, fridge and microwave. Extremely small bathroom with only a shower and small sink. It was even hard to brush your teeth without half of you hanging out the window. Two windows but no view. We asked for a different room but were informed they were full and no other rooms were available.

The first night went well. Very quiet and a comfortable bed. We left the next morning for some sight seeing. When we returned to the room, it had been cleaned but somebody had rifled through our things. The closet door was opened and our suitcases had been opened and a book was taken. We reported this to the front desk but were told there was no management on sight and we were offered a free continental breakfast.

The second night was not as quiet as the first. All night long we could hear people running up and down the hall and the emergency door by our room was repeatedly opened and allowed to slam shut.

All things considered I don't believe I would stay here again. This was our first trip to Newport. There are several other hotels in Newport and we will most likely try a different one on our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    173
    96
    62
    76
See reviews for
205
273
22
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Obsessed with the Warrior books as they are, I brought my kids to see Erin Hunter when she spoke in Newport. I found this hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and then calling to see which of several hotels would give me the best deal. This hotel had 2 bedroom suites- perfect for a mom traveling alone with two little ones. I was not expecting the hotel to be so fancy or such a great place for kids. The website looks very romantic. There was a huge pool with a large TV that the kids loved. The guy who works in the restaurant could not have been friendlier and was great with my kids. They have good strong coffee. I would love to come back with my husband in the warmer months.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

We really like the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites. Our room was very large with a king bed and a little table to sit and have breakfast (I prefer to eat in the room). The cleaning staff did a great job and everything was spotless each day when we came back. The bathroom had plenty of room for toiletries and the hotel was able to give my husband a replacement toothbrush since he had forgotten his. Everything in the hotel seems brand new. Very nice gym.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH seacoast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

I was looking for a romantic escape to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. This was the perfect place for us. We were able to walk to a variety of restaurants, businesses and beach. We had a beautiful view of Newport's cliff walk and the magnificent mansions right outside our window. We stayed in the historic building overlooking the beach and ocean and had breathtaking views. The room was large, beautifully appointed and so comfortable. The restaurant in house served wonderful meals and the service was great. I am looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

I just returned from a romantic weekend here with my husband. We had a beautiful 2 bedroom "ocean view" suite. The room had 3 big screen TVs, a well appointed kitchen, and 2 large marble bathrooms. We loved the room. Our "ocean view" however was of the hotel parking lot with a tiny corner view of the ocean which is across a busy street.
We were also on the 2nd floor which is right above the parking lot and the garage. If you are going to stay here, I would request a room on the 3rd or 4th floors. Also, the ocean view is not really worth the extra money unless you are on the top floors.
The rooms are great, location is right across the street from 1st beach and a 5 minute drive to downtown Newport.
We would definitely go back-just dont expect a "stunning" view!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Checked into the hotel for a bday weekend getaway. Staff was nice.

We got a suite on the 2nd floor in the new building facing the pond. The hotel is a bit far from the beach to have a good view if you are not on the top floor but our view was fine.

Amenities:Nice pool/hot tub room with all windows and a nice flat screen. Gym with massage room (i got a wonderful massage). Roof has hot tub (but closed in the winter so im not sure why they advertise it on the winter getaways), and firepit (which was nice even in the cold). Breakfast was tasty and movies can be rented free at the desk. The suite was very spacious (huge bathroom, huge living room, full kitchen and washer/dryer! Both rooms have good sized flat screens.

Cons: As this is on the beach it is a 5 minutes drive to Downtown Newport. In the winter there isn't much to do or eat in the area but parking in downtown is also easy in the winter. Tub wasn't really that big and the stopper didn't work so I couldn't take the luxurious bath I had been planning on, thankfully we got the pool/hot tub to ourselves between waves of children (it was school vaca week).

Overall, we had a very nice stay. The suites were great and the bed was amazing and we will definitely come back in the warmer months to enjoy the amenities to their fullest.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

There is simply nothing bad to say about this hotel. I have stayed here for 4 days. The staff is very helpful, especially with all the storm warnings and shifting travel plans because of that. The rooms are beautiful. I stayed in a large one bedroom suite with a huge marble bathroom that had a water view. Importantly in this weather, I was able to control the temperature of the room with a wall switch. There was a washer and dryer in the room and detergent available from the vending machine. There is also an indoor pool and spa. I was able to get a cup of coffee and run on the brand new treadmill every morning. That's about all I can ask for.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Address: One Wave Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.