We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you want to be near the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Beach Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Wave Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great hotel if you want to be near the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I've visited Newport Beach Hotel and suites two years in a row for 4th of July. The newer renovated building has beautiful rooms. The bathrooms are luxurious and most have water views. We got a 2 bedroom suite this year, and there were three couples, plenty of space. The girls at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is also a hop away from Atlantic Beach Club and Easton beach, the hot spots for the 4th of July. If the main part of your visit is for the manions and shops and restaurants of Thames, you may be better off at a hotel closer to that area, but we were fine with taking a cheap cab down to the bars. It was very nice to wake up and just walk across the street to get on the beach and cliff walk.

My only real complaint is that you have to pay for parking. When rooms are over $700 a night, to add on another $12/day/car for parking is just plain rude. Especially since the lot was never full. Despite the parking, I will probably look to return next year!

Room Tip: Def stay in the renovated building- if a family or multiple couples spring for the suites, well wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    193
    103
    67
    81
See reviews for
220
302
24
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the older building and it was hideous. When I think historical hotel I assume it would be grand. This was just an old dump. Our shower did not drain. The ice maker shook the floor. The restaurant held minimal hours. Traffic to get in and out on the main road was atrocious. The area in general was not at all what we expected. Overall, this place was worth around $30 per night not $300 per night. Keep looking and DO NOT stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I don't usually like hotels, but I am so glad we stayed at the Newport Beach Hotel. We stayed in the rooftop suite (two bedrooms) and it was beautiful and brand new. The living room and kitchen area are spacious, with room for three bar stools at the counter and a large dining table. The master bathroom has a huge tub with a water view and a very large and elegant shower. The smaller bedroom opens onto a private patio. The room was decorated in beachy shades of blue, green and yellow with lots of dark wood. We used and enjoyed the rooftop hot tub, which was large and had a gorgeous view. We actually watched the sun set from the hot tub. The indoor pool is a bit small, but pretty and very clean.

The location of the hotel is excellent, directly across from Easton Beach, with fabulous water views in every direction. We are looking for an excuse to return to Newport so we can return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

we stayed in the old building which is a bit dated but all clean and tidy and it does have a bit of an oldey worldey atmosphere we arrived just after midday and were able to check in, staff friendly and polite . our room seemed tad cramped with a large kinsize bed taking up most of the room also had all usual things ie fridge tv coffee maker etc and a microwave, the bathrroom was as big as the room with bath shower etc all clean and tidy. we were at the back of the building overlooking lake but only had a small window, didnt use pool or hot tub but again looked clean and tidy. hotel is just across the road from beach but is about a 40min walk to Newport but there are a few resturants locally. Had to pay for car parking which i wasnt expecting but other than that no problems

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Even though the hotel is not in downtown Newport, it is in a great location. Directly across the street from "First" beach so you don't have to pay for parking. They supply the towels for the beach. The new building is secure where you must have a key to get in. Parking is easy with some covered and some not but I never had any trouble finding a spot. There is an indoor pool and hot tub and an outdoor hot tub on the roof. The new building is across the street from the front desk, restaurant and historic building but its not horrible and a quick walk.
I work in a hotel, so I am probably biased and more picky than the average guest. With that said...here are my goods and bads.
The good: Full kitchen including utensils, plates, cookware, dishwasher, stove, oven and fridge. We were given an upgrade to a corner suite when we arrived and it was the size of our New York apartments! King sized beds and Juliette balconies. Marble bathrooms. Powerful shower heads. Flat screen TVs with DirecTv. Complimentary wifi. Starbucks coffee in the restaurant and rooms. Washer and dryer in suite. Safes in the closets. Views of the beach.
The bad (needs work): the iHome clock radios are not able to be seen at night. You can't tell what time it is! Even though the drapes have blackout curtains, they don't "blackout" the bright sun at 5:30am in the summer. My sheets had a stain on them when I arrived but I called and had them changed prior to sleeping on them. The bathroom counter was not cleaned for the entire 3 days we were here. Washcloths were used, taken from the room and not replenished with new cloths. One of the overhead lights was burned out the entire time. When we arrived, there were a few flies in the rooms. I opened up the doors and guided them out but didn't get one or two. The pillows are down feather and not very comfortable. The beds are hard which are fine with me but my aunt didn't like them. The kitchen doesn't have any paper products like napkins or paper towels so spills have to be cleaned up with bath towels. The guest services books were never re-stacked each day and left scattered on the coffee table.
Even though there are things that may need some attention, I would confidently say I would stay here again on my next trip to Newport.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis, md
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We came here for a June wedding. Stayed here two nights. Location is across from the beach in Middleton (outside of Newport). Room was OK but dated and we paid mucho dineros! Bathroom was maybe 20-30 years old, minor upgrades over the years, felt cheap. Clean, though. Depends on the room, I think. We were on the second floor, #228. Waterfront but tiny window. I think #226 was a suite. It was being cleaned as we checked out (so we peeked in) and it was large with a spectacular view. Other rooms such as our son's were tiny (#223?).

Staff was friendly and helpful. An ATM on first floor. Fridge in room where we kept water. We didn't use other facilities. Restaurant was cozy (in the bar) and we went here for breakfast one day. Nice waterview. Not so great omelet and tasteless greasy potatoes.

Room Tip: Ask for large waterfront suite when you check in. You might just be upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Address: One Wave Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.