We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Newport Beach Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Wave Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Middletown
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were in the "old part" of the hotel in a queen room with beach view. The room was nice but not as pictured in my reservation website. The room is clean and you have enough space. Well located, walking distance from the Cliff Walk. You have to pay for the parking (10$) but the wifi is free and good.
If you want to go to the swimming pool it's in the new building which is a little bit annoying in the winter time.
So for the price it's a good value but if you want to have something more modern do not hesitate and have an upgrade in the suite's building.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    166
    89
    58
    71
See reviews for
199
262
22
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watchung, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This review is very overdue, I stayed here in August 2008, and it was very luxurious. It was like having your own condo on the beach, we stayed in the 2 king, 2 bathroom suite. It came with kitchen and laundry, all the way down to a doorbell. If you want walking distance to the beach with luxury, this is the hotel to stay in. However you need to drive to other attractions, hence the 4 for location

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Checked in at the front desk and headed for the 3rd floor. Passing down several angled halls we found an arrow directing us up a steep staircase Dragging our luggage we proceded up 14 narrow steps. Wife growing weary with each step remarked, "Where is the elevator?" There was none for us seniors(70's) hotwire guests. Down a narrow passage way we found a door which looked very much like a broom closet. No, "voila" our room! On entering it was indeed a broom closet or at least used to be.
On entering the dimly lit room was very small indeed with barely enough space to pass between bed and furniture. A tv planted atop a worn bureau and a bed poorly made or worse recently slept in. A small window looked out at the roof top and a large ugly wall. No scenic view of Easton's Beach here. Only two large ugly domed roof vents belching 31/2 star fumes from the boutuique basement far below. The bath room door beckoned me, but I did not wish to go there. Only thing missing in this room was a wet mop in the corner. Meanwhile, the wife yelled "I'm outa here " and headed for the 14 steps.
Back at the front desk the clerk was not surprised to see us again. "Another room maybe?" Back up on the 3rd floor again the next room was only slightly larger but the view was even worse.Returning to the front desk again the clerk was waiting and ready for the final act of bait and switch, and smiled saying "Would you consider an upgrade?" Baited and switched we paid $$ more for a room we had already paid for and took what we could to save the weekend. Lesson learned: Expect poor treatment and bad rooms from Hotwire and this hotel and no consideration for senior citizens.

Room Tip: Go accross the street or in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We are a family of 4 four. (two children 8 and 9) We stayed in the historic building in a 2 bedroom. The room was perfect size for our family. It was nice to have the restaurant/bar down stairs as well for us. The rooms in the other building are larger and newer (washer and dryer and kitchen) They are more expensive as well. Depending on your needs both buildings are nice. Our girls loved the pool. Very warm!!! Location of hotel is right across the street from the beach. Would we stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in a huge suite for a two-night family getaway. There were two bedrooms (each with a king), two full baths (with huge glassed in showers and one with a whirlpool tub), a kitchen complete with oven/stove/micro/dishwasher/toaster oven, and a living room with flat screen TV. It was a snowy weekend and we enjoyed watching DVD's, playing card games, shopping in downtown Newport, and enjoying the St. Patrick's Day festivities. This hotel is walking distance from Easton's Beach and Cliff Walk. We would never be able to afford it during the summer, but it's definitely worth a stay during the off season.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Room clean and staff was very helpful. Location was right across from the beach and Atlantic Beach Club, great restaurant. Will definitely stay again. Close to Thames Street and Tennis Hall Of Fame, makes for nice walks, as well as cliff walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The suites building is almost too nice. Granite tops, beautiful bathrooms, large suites. This is one of those hotels that needs more accessible electrical outlets in the bedrooms. Otherwise great rooms. Value was great in the winter. But I know I probably wouldn't pay the summer rates.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel
Address: One Wave Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.