We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Beach Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Wave Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here as part of our New England tour in September. Our room was spacious and included a separate kitchenette area. It was very clean with lovely furnishings The best feature was direct access to a roof terrace with a hot tub and fire pit which enabled us to sit outside late at night with a lovely view of the lights of Newport.
One thing to be aware of is the system of offering upgraded rooms. We were shown the type of room which we had booked which was quite small and dark and then offered an upgrade at a reduced rate. On speaking to other guests we discovered that this approach had been taken with everyone but the price charged for the upgrade varied enormously.
We would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Their cancellation policy is very restrictive. We tried to cancel 3 days before we were due to go and they charged us $70. This is exorbitant. Other hotels do not require 3 days notice. They would not even allow us to postpone.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cmg38j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in October. What a great place. The rooms were spacious and I LOVED the bathroom. The staff was helpful and polite. It was within walking distance of many restaurants. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 230 ocean view. 2 queen beds. Plenty of room . Great beddings. Beautiful furnishings. The pool was in the building across the street and we had 2 kids with us but not a big deal. A quick walk across. Pool was small but we had it all to ourselves so it was awesome! Free DVD movie rental. Not new movies but it kept the kids happy. Ate breakfast in the hotel. It was OK but it's not really a place for kids. I would definitely come back if they have these specials again. Without kids the next time. $89 and free parking. You can't beat it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerraceSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have gone here for 3 New Years with friends. It's a great location to walk from the hotel, to the bar, for brunch and enjoy. You are always greeted nicely with excellent service.
We get the 2 bedroom with a shared living room and 1 bath. We got a great upgrade to a 2 bath which made it even better. We went to the hot tub with friends and loved it.
We walk to Rusty's for dinner and dancing and enjoy watching the noon polar bear swim. The bars have music New Yrs Day and it's a great place to enjoy.
We will be returning next year again.

Room Tip: We had an oceanview with a living room to have friends over for drinks and appetizers. Best prices i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 721Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great hotel only spent one night for our anniversary but the hotel was gorgeous from the roof deck to the rooms to the indoor pool. The location is so so, we live in Newport so didn't need a prime spot more of a relaxing getaway just out of town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bently231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Arrived on Saturday afternoon, light flurries starting. Hotel Staff was awesome and friendly. Great room with an awesome view of North/First Beach. Very comfortable and warm layout with a mini-Frig/microwave. Good size room and comfortable. Walls are a little thin and noise travels.
Snow is coming down hard and it is starting to look like a Norman Rockwall print. Short ride to downtown for some dinner/cocktails/ and marauding in the snow. Fun and a comfortable, warm, and clean room to return to. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emerybarbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,407 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#13 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Address: One Wave Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing