We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't go here and don't use hotels.com” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Newport Beach Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Wave Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Middletown
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“don't go here and don't use hotels.com”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Their cancellation policy is very restrictive. We tried to cancel 3 days before we were due to go and they charged us $70. This is exorbitant. Other hotels do not require 3 days notice. They would not even allow us to postpone.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    173
    96
    63
    77
See reviews for
207
274
22
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in October. What a great place. The rooms were spacious and I LOVED the bathroom. The staff was helpful and polite. It was within walking distance of many restaurants. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed in room 230 ocean view. 2 queen beds. Plenty of room . Great beddings. Beautiful furnishings. The pool was in the building across the street and we had 2 kids with us but not a big deal. A quick walk across. Pool was small but we had it all to ourselves so it was awesome! Free DVD movie rental. Not new movies but it kept the kids happy. Ate breakfast in the hotel. It was OK but it's not really a place for kids. I would definitely come back if they have these specials again. Without kids the next time. $89 and free parking. You can't beat it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have gone here for 3 New Years with friends. It's a great location to walk from the hotel, to the bar, for brunch and enjoy. You are always greeted nicely with excellent service.
We get the 2 bedroom with a shared living room and 1 bath. We got a great upgrade to a 2 bath which made it even better. We went to the hot tub with friends and loved it.
We walk to Rusty's for dinner and dancing and enjoy watching the noon polar bear swim. The bars have music New Yrs Day and it's a great place to enjoy.
We will be returning next year again.

Room Tip: We had an oceanview with a living room to have friends over for drinks and appetizers. Best prices i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great hotel only spent one night for our anniversary but the hotel was gorgeous from the roof deck to the rooms to the indoor pool. The location is so so, we live in Newport so didn't need a prime spot more of a relaxing getaway just out of town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Arrived on Saturday afternoon, light flurries starting. Hotel Staff was awesome and friendly. Great room with an awesome view of North/First Beach. Very comfortable and warm layout with a mini-Frig/microwave. Good size room and comfortable. Walls are a little thin and noise travels.
Snow is coming down hard and it is starting to look like a Norman Rockwall print. Short ride to downtown for some dinner/cocktails/ and marauding in the snow. Fun and a comfortable, warm, and clean room to return to. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightstown, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our son was home for Christmas and had always wanted to visit Rhode Island.
We chose a one night stay in Newport at the Newport Beach Hotel after reading all the reviews on al the hotels. We arrived at 4pm and the assistant at the front desk was great - although we reserved a 2 bedroom with joint bathroom in the original hotel, we were offered a room in the new suite building across the street. We were given the keys to look at both rooms. We looked at the rooms in the historical hotel and didn't even want to see the suites room. The hotel had so much character, the rooms were just as nice as posted on their site so we decided to stay with the historical hotel. The views of the ocean were great from the rooms and from the hotel bar. We walked around the hotel at night and had a few drinks in the local establishments. All were fun. We also took a long walk on the Cliff Walk which was just down the street from the hotel. We had dinner down town - which was a short drive from the hotel. Loved the Newport Beach Hotel and would love to stay in this hotel again. The rooms were nice, bathroom nice, beds were very comfortable too. Overall experience was awesome.

Room Tip: Reasonal priced hotel and great location near downtown Newport
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Address: One Wave Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.