We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winterwonderland in Newport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Newport Beach Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 5 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Wave Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Middletown
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Winterwonderland in Newport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Arrived on Saturday afternoon, light flurries starting. Hotel Staff was awesome and friendly. Great room with an awesome view of North/First Beach. Very comfortable and warm layout with a mini-Frig/microwave. Good size room and comfortable. Walls are a little thin and noise travels.
Snow is coming down hard and it is starting to look like a Norman Rockwall print. Short ride to downtown for some dinner/cocktails/ and marauding in the snow. Fun and a comfortable, warm, and clean room to return to. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    166
    89
    58
    71
See reviews for
199
262
22
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrightstown, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our son was home for Christmas and had always wanted to visit Rhode Island.
We chose a one night stay in Newport at the Newport Beach Hotel after reading all the reviews on al the hotels. We arrived at 4pm and the assistant at the front desk was great - although we reserved a 2 bedroom with joint bathroom in the original hotel, we were offered a room in the new suite building across the street. We were given the keys to look at both rooms. We looked at the rooms in the historical hotel and didn't even want to see the suites room. The hotel had so much character, the rooms were just as nice as posted on their site so we decided to stay with the historical hotel. The views of the ocean were great from the rooms and from the hotel bar. We walked around the hotel at night and had a few drinks in the local establishments. All were fun. We also took a long walk on the Cliff Walk which was just down the street from the hotel. We had dinner down town - which was a short drive from the hotel. Loved the Newport Beach Hotel and would love to stay in this hotel again. The rooms were nice, bathroom nice, beds were very comfortable too. Overall experience was awesome.

Room Tip: Reasonal priced hotel and great location near downtown Newport
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old saybrook
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We just returned from our second pre-New Year's Eve stay at the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites. We had a great time. We wanted to just have a quiet time away after the Christmas holidays so we decided to buy food and cook in. The mini kitchen has everything we needed to make great supper and breakfast meals. We had a room with a view of the pond area outside the hotel which was quite nice. We enjoyed relaxing and watching a DVD. The highlight of the evening was our visit to the rooftop hot tub. Yes, it was a chilly night but once we made it into the tub we were quite comfortable. We also very much enjoyed our brisk morning walk on the beach that is just across the street from the hotel.
The only recommendation I have for the hotel staff is to turn the heat up a bit more in the rooms before the guests arrive. Once we had the heat going the whole space was much more enjoyable.
The other recommendation I need to make is to families staying in the hotel. And this comes from a person who has and still does love to travel with her family. Please try to keep your children from running in the halls unsupervised and jumping up and down on the floor until late hours in the evening. The management has no control over this, only you do. There are plenty of ways for children to have fun, e.g., in the indoor pool and hot tub. We all can share and enjoy this lovely hotel together if we all take responsibility for ourselves and respect the rights of others. It is never too early to help your children learn this important lesson.
We plan to return to this hotel again next year. Thanks for a great time away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My friend and I found this hotel on discount from hotwire, and spent a night here for a little girl's night. It's a nice place, but they gave us a room with only one queen bed instead of two doubles or a king, even though the place was basically empty. We stayed in the "hotel" section rather than the suites, so we had to go outside in the snow to get to the pool and hot tub, which was kind of a drag in the winter. There's a roof top hot tub, which I would say was the coolest part of this hotel. Sitting outside in a hot tub during a snow storm was really beautiful! The pool is small, and the hot tub connected to the pool indoors is really dirty, but the roof top one was very nice. The room was comfortable and clean, and the hotel offers nice ocean views. It's also very close to downtown Newport and the mansion tours. I would recommend this place to friends, but only at the discounted rate. I wouldn't pay full price!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "hotel" section rather than the suites, which meant going outside in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnieV1969
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

If this were a European hotel, it may have gotten a star or two more for the room. But the room was the smallest I've ever stayed in, ever. Fine the have fridge and microwave, but you need to climb around it at night getting to the bathroom. The bathroom was a good size and had a glimpse of the ocean. The main room looked out to a eave from the corner of the building that was basically blocking most light into the room. Absolutely disappointed. I was offered to upgrade to a larger king size for additional money (we had already upgraded to the king) or go back down to a larger room with a Queen size bed. We opted to stay but it was a real toss up. I hate this room. Feels claustrophobic. Do yourself a favor and make sure you understand the better reviews are for the newer building across the way and NOT this cubby hole for a room. This is room 479 so avoid it at all costs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here when we visited Newport for my son's graduation from Navy Officer Candidate School. The corner suite gave us a comfortable and private place to sit and visit, play cards, watch television and relax in the home-like environment my son missed so much during training. The staff were very accomodating about providing an extra dinette chair and dishes for use during our stay. Our visit was at the end of November and everything was quiet and peaceful. The views were beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The staff was friendly and the amenities were great. We stayed in the new building. The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The bathroom was larger than what we expected, and the living room was designed well (not huge, but organized well). Although we didn't use the pool or rooftop deck, both looked great. The building is also walking distance from a pretty decent beach, and a five minute drive to Newport. The only knock on the place is that the restaurant wasn't terrific, however there are about a half dozen good places to eat within a couple blocks. Overall, I couldn't ask for anything else with regard to the room and building, the neighborhood was quiet and right on the water, and it's close to everything I wanted/needed. You're also getting a great deal since they aren't charging "Newport" rates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel
Address: One Wave Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.