We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Some TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   936 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842 (Formerly Newport Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Needs Some TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Room ok. Bed comfortable.Room has jacuzzi, microwave and refrig. People at front desk seemed disinterested. Dirt on stair bannisters never cleaned. Breakfast usual powered strambled eggs etc. Has indoor pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualityinn S, Sales Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear Traveler,
I am sorry your stay at the Quality Inn & Suites did not exceed your expectations. We want to create an exceptional guest experience, and I thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to our property. We appreciate all feedback, both good and bad, as this gives us insight on areas to improve on. I will share your comments with our staff to ensure we provide top quality service. Again, I thank you for your feedback, and I do hope we can have another opportunity to host you in the future.
Warm Regards,
Emily Hurlock, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rexburg, Idaho
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The Quality Inn is currently being renovated. We had a large family group and really appreciated the double rooms that were adjoining and the four queen beds. This gave us two bathrooms and a place in the closet area for a porta crib and cot for some little ones. The breakfast was very good: potatoes, scrambled eggs and sausages and waffles and fruit and juices, yogurts, and toast and muffin choices. The large breakfast eating area was also nice. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualityinn S, Sales Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear Roy,
Thank you for taking the time to review us with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to providing you and your family the same enjoyable accommodations and service the next time you are in town!
Warm Regards,
Emily Hurlock, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Hotels in Newport in the summer tend to be costly - gotta get your money while you can! so, we traveled with our two vizslas (dogs)......kind of a semi last minute trip to the tennis hall of fame tournament and we brought both of our mothers......so three rooms, two dogs....when we first arrived on Thursday night the hotel was pretty quiet - which was nice.....we do get some reflex dog barking with a lot of hallway activity......the room we were in did not seem like it had been used in a while....I had to turn the water on to the toilet at the wall valve......my mother-in-law's shower handle kept coming off......the tv was a little frustrating as well - odd to get going and change channels.....the hallways were a little narrow - which is not the best when you have a dog on a leash and a semi-horrified looking guest coming at you.........anyway - if we were to do this again - I think I would VRBO a house with dog option vs try and stay in a hotel my dogs.....so, my fault......the hotel was functional - breakfasts were fine/good (and busy).....they are seemingly in the midst of retrofitting all the rooms - (we were still in older rooms).....if you have business with Naval Undersea Warfare (NUWCDNPT) center - you couldn't get more convenient!....I managed to find a couple of off the beaten track locations to walk my dogs...which was really nice......the hotel was OK - not great - not terrible....it's a big hotel....it is a little hard to see from the road - as it sits back from the street.....

Room Tip: ask for a redone room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualityinn S, Sales Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for commenting on your stay at the Quality Inn & Suites in Middletown, RI. I am happy we were able to host your family for your visit to Newport, but would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the condition of your rooms. We have brought these issues to the attention of our maintenance and housekeeping departments to ensure we get these problems resolved. It is my hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide superior service on your next trip to the area. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you soon!
Kind Regards,
Emily Hurlock, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Here on Vacation. Was impressed with the Cleanliness, the Service of the Staff and the Quality of the Breakfast.
Being a Coffee drinker. I was Very Pleased that ANY time I came to the lobby for Coffee. It was always fresh and hot.
Breakfast - Scrambled Eggs, Sausage, Potatoes, Waffles, Muffins Yogurt and more. The 3 kids had plenty to choose from.

Thank You to the Staff, Management and Owner(s) of this hotel for making our vacation Lil bit better=}

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualityinn S, Sales Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Brian,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Quality Inn & Suites here in Middletown. I am so pleased you enjoyed our accommodations and complimentary breakfast. I will share your comments with our staff regarding their service and hope we will have another chance to host you and your family upon your next visit to the Middletown/Newport area!
Warm Regards,
Emily Hurlock, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 936 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842 (Formerly Newport Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated June 2014. Two-story hotel, 3 miles north of downtown Newport. 1/2 Mile from Naval Academy, Naval Base, NUWC, 3 miles from beach. Hotel amenities include indoor pool, fitness center, business center, free hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi. All rooms have frig/microwave. Deluxe rooms have in-room whirlpools, suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Inn And Whirlpool Hotel Middletown
Newport Hotel And Whirlpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.