We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Third Beach

Third Beach
Third Beach Road, Middletown, RI 02842
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 27 things to do in Middletown
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Calm waters and a wide sandy area make this a favorite spot for families with children.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was one of the most quiet and beautiful beaches I have seen while in Rhode Island. The waters are very calm--altho still a bit cold but its one of the places I would recommend if your not really into the crowds. When we arrived, there were about three people there. It was really amazing. There's also a nice collection of seashells.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were here in October so I really don't know what it's like during the summer. There was only our family plus two other families that came and went during our several hour stay. Our young daughter wanted to dig for buried treasure, since she had read that Rhode Island has much undiscovered treasure from pirate ships of many years ago. She did not find any buried treasure, but we did find some of the best sea shells we've seen at any beach.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Solitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Third Beach is a beach (originally a Navy beach) nothing more but for many that's all they want. Great for kids, relatively calm and safe. No activities other than what you bring yourself.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“NOT IMPRESSED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

They charged $10 to park. The water was blood red from the algae. Small beach. No bathrooms. No beach huts with food. Just a ice cream truck. I am wondering where the money is going to if they don't have any conveniences for the patrons.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful quiet beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

A beautiful quiet beach. Great for small children - no waves and a protected swimming area. It's my wife's favorite beach.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Third Beach also viewed

 

Been to Third Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Third Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.