We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Commons Lunch

Commons Lunch
South of Commons Rd., Little Compton, RI 02837
401/635-4388
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Harrison, Arkansas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Located across the street from a beautiful church with a white steeple and nearly next door to a neat general store, this small cash-only restaurant offers really good food. The bowl of chowder was excellent, although it could have been a little warmer, and we loved the fritters. My wife had a huge sandwich, which was easily enough for two. Nice stop before driving back down the road for some wine tasting. Fun afternoon and road trip from the Boston area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    10
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loudonville, New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went for breakfast and all four of us thought it was great Portion size was plentiful. Everthing was fresh and well prepared. Service was quick and to the point - not much conversation.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I lived in Little Compton for several years. This is a great place that all the locals hang out but also for vacation travelers. The atmosphere is very peaceful and homey, the food is good. My favorite meal to have here is breakfast, Johnny cakes and bacon. I live in Colorado now but whenever I go back home for a visit I so here for a meal. My family still owns a Christmas tree farm in town.
Maciel Tree Farm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Expected more for a Restaurant on the Coast.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I love seafood! Love lobster, clams and fried fish. I ordered the clam plate. Since it is a town on the coast with hundreds of fresh fish markets within a few miles I expected that the clams would be local caught, local bought. Especially since the cost of the plate was $16.99. The clams were cooked well but right away my taste buds told me that the clams came from a gallon can of shucked clams. Very disappointing!!! They were OK but not the quality one should expect from a restaurant that is in a town on the ocean. My french fries were limp and not cooked through. The Cole slaw was terrible! you can tell it was not fresh and not home made. It came from a gallon bucket purchase through Sysco. We sat near the door which goes to the deck. Every time someone opened the door it would SLAM shut. This SLAMMING went on throughout our entire lunch. I have PTSD and every time the door SLAMMED I wanted to hit the deck. The deck outside is nice and the Atmosphere is great.Talking to other customers they informed me that they do make a killer breakfast. I will go back to try that out but I will never eat lunch or dinner ther.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesburg, fl
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for lunch. Good service, pleasant staff. The clam chowder was excellent with many large clams. Also had a grilled veggie pocket, very tasty. Good prices.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commons Lunch also viewed

Little Compton, RI
Little Compton, RI
 
Little Compton, RI
Little Compton, RI
 

Been to Commons Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commons Lunch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.