We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous area, very comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone House

Save Saved
You added Stone House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone House
122 Sakonnet Point Road, Little Compton, RI 02837   |  
Hotel amenities
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous area, very comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Stone House is an ideal quiet getaway if you like peaceful beaches and quiet evenings. Our suite had two bedrooms, each with its own bathroom (which was perfect for us and our two teenagers). We loved being able to have a leisurely breakfast (included!), walk to the lovely beach near the hotel (which provides abundant beach chairs and beach towels) and later go downstairs for what turned out to be a really good dinner. The decor is contemporary and not dowdy at all, and the staff were VERY friendly and helpful.

There were certainly elements that I would have changed to make our four night stay a little better: better lighting (we couldn't read in bed at all), a broken door to bathroom made it so we had to rig a handle using a coat hanger, and water pressure was was very weak.

But all in all, we would certainly stay again at this very unique property in this lovely town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    23
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
9
60
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwell
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We love Newport, but if you want to escape the tourists, you MUST stay at the Stone House. My husband and I celebrated our anniversary there this past weekend. Even though we arrived early, they were going to have our room ready in 1/2 after our arrival. Mark gave us a great suggestion for lunch at The Boat House which was fantastic. We went back to the and and took a short walk to an absolutely beautiful beach. The water was warm and the waves were big. We are in our 50's and found ourselves playing and bodysurfing in the water. After the beach, we went to another nice place recommended by Mark, Easy Eddy. The staff and food were excellent. We stayed in the Bailey room which we loved. The property is quiet and relaxing. At night, they had a fire pit with ingredients to make s'mores!!! We will definitely go back. Almost forgot, they supply towels and chairs for the beach! Next time we will bring bikes.
Thank you Anna and the rest of the staff for your hospitality.
Mary & John

Room Tip: We liked the Bailey. Private and on ground level so easy access in and out of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We recently stayed in the lantern room at the StoneHouse and it was amazing! Spiral staircase behind the bed up to a room with 360 degree views! The room had to leather chairs we could relax in while taking in the sunset and listening to our music via the iPod docking station.
Great pastries for breakfast on the go. We dined at the Boathouse nearby and it was fantastic...

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A 2-day stay at The Stone House was meant to be the highlight of a RI trip in Aug/Sept of 2011. It was only natural to expect a flawless experience considering the reviews and publicity. Frankly, there are no positives to mention here. Within a few minutes of arrival and checking into our room, we made contact w/ management and had set our minds to leave as fast as we came. We did end up staying the night for lack of alternative nearby accommodations. In a nutshell: Check-in was less than professional, the room was far from clean (dust, dirt on floor, hair and other debris in bed/bath tub). Overall, it seemed as though the room had not been visited by housekeeping in some time. It had a cold/business-like feel and it is not due to modern aesthetic. The restaurant is another mess all together. The only minutes of enjoyment came from spending time at a nearby beach (cannot recall name, but it’s a bit of a walk). All in all, completely overpriced, grounds poorly maintained, pathetic breakfast, nothing more worthy of mention. We did receive a full refund.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is the first trip advisor review that I have written. Let me start by saying that I am picky. The Carlyle in NYC, the Connaught in London, The Bristol in Paris...and I don't mean I'm over the top picky, I just like true luxury when away from home. The Stone house is just that. Fabulous service from Anna, Stephanie, and Marc. Gorgeous rooms, with great views and beautiful bathrooms. Comfy beds with perfect linens, and a delicious and healthy breakfast! The only thing that might be "missing" is wine and cheese for all of the guests at cocktail hour? It would make the experience so much more cohesive, and special. Fantastic property!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Stone House is a small hotel on a quiet stretch of land near the southern tip of Rhode Island. It offers empty beaches, charming rooms, and great places to just sit. The hotel has an excellent spa and an adequate restaurant. Do not come here for excitement (unless you bring it with you) but do come her if you want to luxuriate in tasteful surroundings between a beautiful seacoast and open farmland. For rainy days Tiverton offers several very interesting shops and galleries and Newport is only about 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Loved this place! Stayed here during my business trip, so didn't get to enjoy much. But would love to go back and spend more time. Amazing place, amazing staff. Amazing cheese platter that I ordered! *:) The room is bigger than my apartment in NY, of course! *:) It's a beautiful place for a romantic getaway and anniversary. I had the best treatments the moment I purchased the room to the day I left the room. Loved looking at the beautiful victorian houses around the area and this beautiful "Stone House." I felt like "Robin Hood" or maybe "Cinderella" is my neighbor next door *:) Must-see place, must-go destination, and must-enjoy the room and scenery. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you check-in late, let them know. They'll provide the great service even the staff is not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House

Address: 122 Sakonnet Point Road, Little Compton, RI 02837
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Little Compton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Little Compton
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Stone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone House Hotel Little Compton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.