We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone House

Save Saved
You added Stone House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stone House
122 Sakonnet Point Road, Little Compton, RI 02837   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We recently stayed in the lantern room at the StoneHouse and it was amazing! Spiral staircase behind the bed up to a room with 360 degree views! The room had to leather chairs we could relax in while taking in the sunset and listening to our music via the iPod docking station.
Great pastries for breakfast on the go. We dined at the Boathouse nearby and it was fantastic...

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    23
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
9
60
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A 2-day stay at The Stone House was meant to be the highlight of a RI trip in Aug/Sept of 2011. It was only natural to expect a flawless experience considering the reviews and publicity. Frankly, there are no positives to mention here. Within a few minutes of arrival and checking into our room, we made contact w/ management and had set our minds to leave as fast as we came. We did end up staying the night for lack of alternative nearby accommodations. In a nutshell: Check-in was less than professional, the room was far from clean (dust, dirt on floor, hair and other debris in bed/bath tub). Overall, it seemed as though the room had not been visited by housekeeping in some time. It had a cold/business-like feel and it is not due to modern aesthetic. The restaurant is another mess all together. The only minutes of enjoyment came from spending time at a nearby beach (cannot recall name, but it’s a bit of a walk). All in all, completely overpriced, grounds poorly maintained, pathetic breakfast, nothing more worthy of mention. We did receive a full refund.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is the first trip advisor review that I have written. Let me start by saying that I am picky. The Carlyle in NYC, the Connaught in London, The Bristol in Paris...and I don't mean I'm over the top picky, I just like true luxury when away from home. The Stone house is just that. Fabulous service from Anna, Stephanie, and Marc. Gorgeous rooms, with great views and beautiful bathrooms. Comfy beds with perfect linens, and a delicious and healthy breakfast! The only thing that might be "missing" is wine and cheese for all of the guests at cocktail hour? It would make the experience so much more cohesive, and special. Fantastic property!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Stone House is a small hotel on a quiet stretch of land near the southern tip of Rhode Island. It offers empty beaches, charming rooms, and great places to just sit. The hotel has an excellent spa and an adequate restaurant. Do not come here for excitement (unless you bring it with you) but do come her if you want to luxuriate in tasteful surroundings between a beautiful seacoast and open farmland. For rainy days Tiverton offers several very interesting shops and galleries and Newport is only about 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Loved this place! Stayed here during my business trip, so didn't get to enjoy much. But would love to go back and spend more time. Amazing place, amazing staff. Amazing cheese platter that I ordered! *:) The room is bigger than my apartment in NY, of course! *:) It's a beautiful place for a romantic getaway and anniversary. I had the best treatments the moment I purchased the room to the day I left the room. Loved looking at the beautiful victorian houses around the area and this beautiful "Stone House." I felt like "Robin Hood" or maybe "Cinderella" is my neighbor next door *:) Must-see place, must-go destination, and must-enjoy the room and scenery. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you check-in late, let them know. They'll provide the great service even the staff is not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent four nights at the Stone House and I have only good things to say about our time there. There's a part of me that doesn't want to say good things because Little Compton is a hidden treasure. I don't want to give the secret away, but I can't deny the Stone House a well deserved positive review.
When we arrived we received a warm welcome from Stephanie and Tonya (hope I've got the right spelling). They gave us information about the inn and the area. From the beginning we found the staff to be attentive and accessible. It really felt like they wanted our stay to be perfect. Can't say enough good things about them.
Our room was lovely. We stayed in the Lantern which is the only room on the top floor. It includes a spiral staircase that goes up to the cupola. It's beautiful...the room and the 360 degree view from the cupola. The room is comfortable with an L shaped couch and a table with two chairs. It has a Keurig machine, sink and little fridge. Definitely check it out on the website. It is also very quiet.
We found breakfast to be just right. Fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, baked goods, quiche.....there was plenty to choose from. There is a little dining room inside the inn, but we would take our breakfast outside and eat at a table on the porch.
One evening we did eat dinner at The Tap Room. We had a very good meal. Caesar salad, clam cakes, shrimp (can't remember how it was prepared, but I liked it)....it was all very good. There aren't many restaurants close by, which was fine for us, so if you aren't up for a drive I recommend dining right at the inn.
It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the beach which is gorgeous. The inn has towels and chairs. The beach wasn't crowded, the water was refreshing, and the view is beautiful.

We enjoyed everything about our stay at the Stone House. My husband and I were celebrating 20 years and we could not have picked a more perfect place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We loved the architecture and the location but it seemed as though something was missing to make this a truly outstanding experience. It was hard to pinpoint, somehow a lack of warmth and cohesive management. We had the feeling that the property was a pet project for an absent owner. While we were there, a photo shoot seemed to take priority over the guests.
The room was gorgeous but it was on the ground floor and felt exposed with all the windows. The grounds and building are beautiful and the walk to the beach is a treat. Unfortunately Rhode Island is having a problem with red seaweed at certain times and that was noticeable.
Breakfast was ok with fruit and yogurt and prosciutto, hard boiled eggs, cereal. There were several choices of baked goods which looked better than they tasted. The quiche might have been good if it had been warm rather than refrigerated. The coffee was good but not hot even though it was in a vacuum thermos.
We didn't eat in the restaurant since it is an underground tap room which opens for dinner only. We read that there is an above ground dining room which is only available for special events so we didn't see it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and expensive in season. The ocean view costs more so it depends on how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House

Address: 122 Sakonnet Point Road, Little Compton, RI 02837
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Little Compton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Little Compton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Stone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone House Hotel Little Compton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.