We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Fantastic transformation,great food with service to match'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunsforth Public House & Dining

The Dunsforth Public House & Dining
Mary Lane, Lower Dunsforth YO26 9SA, England
01423 320700
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Description: The Dunsforth Public House and Dining is a new venture from Paul Cunliffe (former Head Chef of Harvey Nichols Leeds) and his family. We pride ourselves on top quality locally sourced produce, fantastic wine and excellent service. We offer space to enjoy a drink in our welcoming bar or if the weather is nice why not sit out on our patio? Or sample our a la carte and prix fixe menus in the dining room. We now offer a Classics menu including modern takes on some pub favourites. We also now offer a Fresh bread takeaway service. Place an order before 9pm monday to friday and your bread will be available from 10am the following morning.
york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“'Fantastic transformation,great food with service to match'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had watched the transformation with interest over the previous months,finally its done, lets have a drink. 'Yes come on in' plenty of room all are welcome,great hosts,staff actually like to chat most refreshing.'Must come back for a meal'.
Well we did,it was an exquisite taste experience thoroughly enjoyed the evening,staff are attentive without being a nuisance,fixed price menu very good value,the wine list offers something for all and at reasonable prices.A great addition to the local area,we wish you every success.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    51
    5
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine Dining and Service to Match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having tasted Chef Paul's food, at Harvey Nichols in Leeds, my wife and I were expecting great things from his new venture. We were not disappointed. The Jerusalem artichoke soup we started with was very special and our two vegetarian mains were of a similar high standard. Fabulous desserts finished off a meal that made the journey from Leeds well worth it. Paul and Janine have turned a run down old pub into a welcoming, high quality dining experience, and at just under £50 for the two of us, including wine, we were very happy with the bill. The service was friendly and professional and we will certainly be returning soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Having heard about The Dunsforth from a friend, we visited for an evening meal last week. We live an hour away but we are so glad we made the effort!

We spent £130 on our table of four and this included a round of pre-meal drinks, the most delicious 3 course meal, a fabulous bottle of wine and coffees.

As a vegetarian I felt well catered for. The highlights being a beautiful goats cheese and beetroot starter and an incredibly rich chocolate fondant.

The service was great, just the right mix of informative/attentive and relaxed.

We can't wait to come back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

As we live in a village close by, we took a walk to investigate a new local. We only had a sandwich but it was fab. Staff very accommodating and happy to proved something not on the menu for non meat eaters! It looks a great place and we heard excellent reports from friends who have eaten there. Looking forward to booking our dinner very soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunsforthPhil, Guest Relations Manager at The Dunsforth Public House & Dining, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food with a warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Had a meal here whilst staying in the village, fabulous food and good value on "price fixe " menu. The best roast beef and also made a children's version which was really appreciated.
Gorgeous deserts also. Not classic pub food but a dining experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunsforthPhil, Guest Relations Manager at The Dunsforth Public House & Dining, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi! Glad you enjoyed your visit to the Dunsforth and hope you enjoyed your stay in the village. Drop in and see us next time you come to stay! All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dunsforth Public House & Dining also viewed

Nun Monkton, North Yorkshire
Great Ouseburn, North Yorkshire
 
Marton cum Grafton, North Yorkshire
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Dunsforth Public House & Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dunsforth Public House & Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.