We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flametree Tourist Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Flametree Tourist Village to your Saves list
Flametree Tourist Village
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   2955 Shute Harbour Rd, Flametree, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed 2 nights here and loved it! Next to the airport for our Air Whitsunday trip and near enough to the town for food. Very friendly owner, comfy chalet/caravan, nice pool, laundry facility and everything we needed for our stay.
Would highly recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    26
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
19
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryborough, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

One of the best caravan parks we have enjoyed. Friendly staff, excellent facilities and great value. The park is an oasis just out of the heart of Airlie Beach, so very relaxing. Pets welcome which is great. The park is family owned and run, and are always willing to assist travellers with their local knowledge and great tips on tours etc. Highly recommend a visit to Flametree Caravan Park!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Manager at Flametree Tourist Village, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Was great to have you stay Nicole and fantastic that we were able to make it the holiday of a lifetime for you that's what its all about making memories and special moments for people we hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Firstly, the staff were amazing and helpful! The cabin was very clean and the outside areas were very well manicured - it was so enjoyable to sit outside or swim in the pool.

We loved the tranquility of being just outside of town but were so close to anything we needed. Such an awesome location to discover the Whitsundays, it was a holiday of a lifetime!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My partner and I parked our camper on an unpowered site for 2 nights in December 2013. The facilities were good: clean and basic - but all you need. Luckily we had transfers for all our activities, otherwise we may have found travelling into Airlie beach a bit difficult. Excellent wildlife.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very nice place to stay. Wifi is also available. Camp kitchen was excellent, it had a fridge, BBQ, stove and microwave. There is a small pool on site as well. The wildlife is excellent also with the crazy parrots. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Manager at Flametree Tourist Village, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Great to see you were able to experience the wildlife that we have here at the park and enjoyed your stay we hope to see you again if your back our way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This park was the best we stayed at on our trip with regard to facilities, cleanliness, service and pet friendly accommodation. The park is situated within fifty meters of a great pub with excellent meals available, there is also a small block of shops including a supermarket within 100 meters. A
Very short walk down the road is a public park which is an off leash area, ideal to give the dogs a run. The park is quiet, the amenities blocks are the best I have encountered, totally recommend if travelling with dogs or without as this park has a defined dog and non dog area.

Room Tip: Ask for a flat site if you take your caravan, there are some which slope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I booked one night at Flametree as it was advertised as "Pet friendly". However, once my husband had made the payment he was emailed stating that dogs must be tied up outside and under no circumstances are they to enter the cabin. We had recently purchased a $1500 pure bred puppy who is only 8wks old so the possibility of theft of our dog was very concerning for us. Upon our arrival the manager was rather short and reiterated that dogs are to be tied up outside and never to enter the cabin. Once we had settled in, the manager conducted regular 10-15minutely "checks" that dogs were outside- this continued every 10-15minutes until just after midnight and was extremely distracting and of course scared our puppy into barking as he shone a torch right in her eyes each check. Each time I went outside the manager was standing watching the cabins and the dogs- this felt rather intimidating. The cabins are lino flooring and in no way unauitable for pets. "Pet friendly" accommodation generally means pets are allowed inside for security and safety reasons. We noticed there was a high number of cane toads in the area and felt this was a threat to an unattended 8wk old puppy due to their poisonous nature. I was very dissatisfied with our stay and felt the advertising was misleading. Perhaps without pets and regular flashlight checks the stay may be better. Pet unfriendly.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Owner at Flametree Tourist Village, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Once we were aware you had a dog we would have immediately informed you of our dog rules. If this did not suit - you would have been refunded. I would have reminded you politely on your arrival of these rules. I think somehow you may have the wrong Park, as we do not have a manager. We are a family owned Park & I do not do the rounds of the park after closing at 6pm, unless someone advises me that something is amiss. Being self-employed I work 7 days a week & open reception at 7am daily & therefore can assure you that I am in bed hours before midnight.
There are however other parks in town that have the same rules for pets & these parks are managed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flametree Tourist Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flametree Tourist Village

Address: 2955 Shute Harbour Rd, Flametree, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Flametree
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Flametree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flametree Tourist Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flametree Tourist Village nestles in 7 acres of shady tropical foliage next to the Conway National Park. Just minutes in one direction to Shute Harbour, gateway to the 74 islands of the spectacular Whitsundays, and in the other to the tourist centre of Airlie Beach, with its many shops and fine restaurants. We also have a BRAND NEW kids play area only installed last week for the little ones. We also are able to organise all your tour bookings and fun for your stay in Airlie Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Flametree Tourist Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flametree Tourist Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.