We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice quiet place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Corner Shute Harbour Road & Erromango Drive, Jubilee Pocket, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good value, nice quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a couple of nights here before our yacht charter. It's out of town, but that's not a bad thing. The local bus service stops just outside and connects you with the town centre and supermarkets. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the pool was a welcome relief in the afternoon.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write about us and glad you had a nice time........hope to see you again one day...................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    58
    12
    13
    4
See reviews for
31
104
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel is fairly far from Airlie Beach, so it isn't particularly convenient if you don't have a car.

Despite what is available on the internet, there are some services near by. Across the road is a small grocery store, and since the room we were in had a small kitchenette, this is what we opted for. There is also a pub across the road, which our taxi driver said provided decent food.

The room does look a bit dated, but it was clean and comfortable with all of the amenities that you could need including laundry, the kitchenette and toiletries.

There is a pool in the courtyard, but we didn't actually try it.

I think it is good value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thanks Jay and very pleased we got most things right for you and yes our rates are pretty competitive in a tourist destination that Airlie is..........we try to cater for all.........take care and thanks again for taking the time to write.................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This resort was the find of our holiday. Clean and well presented decided to stay another two days on our way back home. Peter in the office was very helpful. Enjoyed our breakfasts over looking the pool. Pool was large, clean and surrounded by beautiful kept gardens. Quiet, BBQ available but we went across the road to the Jubilee Tavern and had a 10% discount on some very enjoyable meals Very good value for money. Will return when travelling through the area again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a second floor one bedroom unit over looking the pool. Good size with a very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thanks ONMOVE whoever you are and glad to be of help in making your time here enjoyable.......if you come again book as onmove and i will know who you are.....now back to the cricket.........................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Bit out of town but a really Nice and quiët spot. Friendly staff!!! Beautifull rooms! Good price! We Will come back if we are coming back to Australia! Nice swimming pool! There is also on the other Side of the road a supermarkten and bottleshop for groceries!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you and great that you enjoyed your stay here..........interesting with reviews I am either "good santa or bad santa" when referred to by past guests..............I have a simple philosophy..........if you are happy & smiling and looking to have an enjoyable stay I will do anything for you but if you are miserable & sour then do us both a favour and stay elsewhere.........life is too short ............thanks again for staying and writing about us and see you again one day hopefully..........................pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Very basic hotel I thought Best Western hotel were a bit more up to date than this. It was reasonably clean and much cleaner and tidier than the reception which was like a junk shop including the bloke behind the desk. As this was pre booked for us as part of our month long tour of the Gold Coast we stuck it out for the two arranged nights. If I was looking for accommodation I would have done a U turn at the reception. One to be avoided, on the plus side the pool area was neat and tidy.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Well Tom we ticked all the wrong boxes for you............better luck hopefully for the rest of your travels.............Pete the scruffy receptionist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We had an end unit with a kitchen. Arrived and got straight into the pool which was fine. Gardens were nice but the kitchenette was a bit grubby (utensils and work surfaces were dirty and required cleaning before use). Not a major issue but was a shame to see. The property is away from the main resort but we had a car so no problem, it's also just opposite a supermarket. The lido was excellent in the town. Peter provided straight talking advice on day trips; we only had one day and instead of recommending an expensive excursion, he advised on an all together better option to Daydream Island.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
HI and thanks for writing and very sorry if kitchen wasn't up to our normal standards, have spoken to the cleaners to avoid it happening again..........................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Got upgraded without asking, but found this option, meant there was no maid service, only found that out by sign on bathroom wall, nothing mentioned by Peter at the front desk, or on the website, we assume the upgrade got them out of maid service (reading other reviews it seems they do it all the time). Found a smelly toilet, and stagnant water smell in the dishwasher. Had already paid in advance through a internet deal. Did not find Peter the owner as helpful as others had said, Advice about Cedar Creek falls wasn't accurate or positive. I expect courteous language, I don't expect a conversation with expletives in it, even if the customer talks that way you don't join them, but I didn't use those words, but got them in conversations. I don't believe the prices for rooms advertised are ever charged, was expecting better, much better, but it really wasn't.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms for non smokers, we were up stairs with a smoker below, the smoke would rise, str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Have already responded to this but a new version keeps appearing from this guest each time i do.....this list of complaints different than the previous one so i look forward to further episodes from this person whoever that may be.................anonymous is a wonderful thing for some i presume.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort

Address: Corner Shute Harbour Road & Erromango Drive, Jubilee Pocket, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Jubilee Pocket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Jubilee Pocket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mango Hotel
Best Western Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.