We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not right in airline but great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Corner Shute Harbour Road & Erromango Drive, Jubilee Pocket, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not right in airline but great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

You'll need a car to stay here but well worth it as great value. No wireless Internet in room is only negative. Very clean and tidy and quiet. Loads of cockatoo's visited us on the deck. Only stayed one night

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
thanks for the kind words, glad you enjoyed your stay.........being a little out of town works for a lot of people as airlie is a bit of a party town at night and we escape the noise & "excitement" of being in the middle of it all especially all night..............thank you again for staying and taking the time to review us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    55
    11
    12
    4
See reviews for
28
100
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

These motel units cost only $100 per night which is so low as to be inexplicable. Firstly the motel is on the main road, not up the hill like most of the accommodation is at Airlie. The last place you want to be is up that steep hill! But the advertisements for the others talk about great views without explaining that you need to be a mountain goat to walk up to them. And Mango House gives you a lounge room and kitchen too plus a balcony. Great fans and air con. Great TV. Great pool. Great barbecue. And they ban alcohol near the pool to it is quiet too. And terrific management too. Parking too is terrific. . We planned to stay one night but extended for 5. Now this place has been around a few years but everything works and the bed was fantastic for my weak lower back. We thought it was so good we gave the management a box of chocolates on departure in thanks etc. We think we are discerning travelers having experienced the great international hotels but this place has earned it's permanent place in our planning.

Room Tip: Prefer upstairs overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks Eric, Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Re our prices, we also travel a great deal and finding affordable motels of good quality is sometimes not easy, we would rather have full rooms and happy customers than half full with people paying over the top rates..........theory of charge half as many twice as much to make up not our way of doing business........your stay a good example..came for 1 night and stayed 5.
again thanks for the kind words and hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and we were wonderfully surprised by the room and the view from our lounge room and bedroom. We paid $100 a night, which we thought was more than fair. Loved that the kitchenette was well stocked and we had our own washing machine and dryer in the room. Very handy to have the bottle shop and iga right across the road. great service. Could not find fault with our stay and want to return again soon!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hi and thanks for your review, hope to see you next time you have something special to celebrate or just out for a break
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

I am not sure where everyone else was staying when they reviewed this apartment but my so called 4 star studio apartment which cost $145 for the night was dirty, worn and looked nothing like any of the photos on the website. We have travelled extensively throughout Australia and we have often been plesently surprised by how good some of our lower star and cheaper motels are. The Mango House Resort was a huge disappointment. Also not sure why they call it a resort, it really is a motel with a pool and BBQ like thousands of others all over Australia. Our Tree Top studio apartment overlooked the house next doors garden, not exactly what I was expecting by the description. On the plus side it is close to a little shopping centre and a Tavern.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Sorry we let you down................our studios are advertised as street facing and are priced accordingly, not much more expensive than backpacker hostel rates, they are bigger than a motel unit and have a kitchenette and in room laundry.
Cleanliness concern i can't explain as we continually get positive feedback on this area.
the studios are fully booked most of the time as are perfect for overnight and budget minded guests taking advantage of the $80 per night per room rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Mango House, NICE.... Beautifully presented apartment with a very pretty view over the pool and gardens, we had breakfast with a visit from the white cockatoo's, Lucky.. Mango House should be proud of what they have acheived. Brilliant hosts only too happy to help us out with the Whitsundays adventure

Room Tip: No need to choose a room here...All Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for such a nice review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay., and breakfast with the cockies, they just love guests who decide to eat & share with them on the balconies, hope to see you again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights and found it very comfortable and well placed for exploring the area. The owners even arranged a diving trip for us which worked out very well. Highly recommended hotel that we would happily use again on our next trip to Australia.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hi and thank you for your very kind words, guess you are gearing up for the Olympics, I bet London busier than little Airlie Beach is.
See you next time you are passing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I spent 7 months (November to June) staying at Mango House Resort for work. I had 4 - 10 guys staying there and we all had a great time! All were working away from home (half the guys from Tasmania) and Pete and Pam made it feel like home. VERY spacious clean rooms, great pool and BBQ area, walking (or stumbling) distance to and from town. Was great to have our own washing machine and drier. Knock off work, come home, slip into the bordies and singlet, have a swim, walk across the road grab some meat and have a nice BBQ and few beers around the pool..... pretty much everynight. HIGHLY recommend staying here for a relaxed atmosphere and easy going people. Can’t say enough thanks to Pete and Pam, we all had a brilliant time there and I will be back for sure :)

Room Tip: Poolside definately, Much larger rooms and walk strait out to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thanks for the note, i thought you were still here, just joking..........it was an absolute pleasure having you all move in, you all started as customers but soon became great friends, adventures from dodgy mud crabs to shifty pokies bonanza we had it all, take care buddy and keep in touch............by the way, you either forgot your boat or can't decide who actually owns it, either way it is happy sitting here...............take care all of you...pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort

Address: Corner Shute Harbour Road & Erromango Drive, Jubilee Pocket, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Jubilee Pocket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Jubilee Pocket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mango Hotel
Best Western Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.